Darlene Foster's Blog

#ExcerptWeek – Amanda in New Mexico-Ghosts in the Wind by Darlene Foster

Posted on: August 3, 2017

I am a guest on Marcia Meara’s blog with an excerpt from Amanda in New Mexico – Ghosts in the Wind. Hop on over and see what Amanda is up to in New Mexico.

The Write Stuff

Here is an excerpt from the sixth book in the Amanda Travels series, Amanda in New Mexico – Ghosts in the Wind soon to be released.

9781771681209

Amanda stood in front of a door the map showed as the Santos Display Room.

“What’s in here?”

Along with Caleb and a couple of other students, she entered the dimly lit room containing glass cabinets filled with pictures and statues of various saints. A sign explained how the families in Spanish America always kept a shrine to a saint in their homes. The shrine often held Milagros, tiny silver shapes attached to statues of the saints. There were legs for people who couldn’t walk, eyes for those who had bad eyesight and animal figures to wish a farmer a productive year with his flock. Amanda was fascinated as she peered carefully through the glass at the small objects stuck on the figures.

She…

View original post 377 more words

18 Responses to "#ExcerptWeek – Amanda in New Mexico-Ghosts in the Wind by Darlene Foster"

That was a great excerpt to choose, it got me wanting to know what happened next.

Glad it had that effect. Thanks, Lorna. You have been such an awesome supporter of my Amanda Travels books.

Oh my! Gripping excerpt! Like Lorna, I want to know how this adventure unfolds for Amanda!

I made this one a bit scarier and I like how it turned out.

Darlene, the excerpt definitely has me wanting to read more!! I wish I had had books like this as a kid featuring a heroine who gets to travel and go on adventures. What a great role model for young girls!

Peta

Thanks! I would have liked books like this as well when I was a kid. Perhaps that’s why I write them!!

So excited for you. All the best with Amanda’s new adventures.

Thanks, Fatima! Amanda needs to go to France too.

Definitely! She might like getting lost in one of those Troglodyte caves in the Dordogne. A chance to travel through time too!!!

I like the sound of that!!

Darlene, how long does it usually take for you to write a whole book? Do you write every day? The Amanda adventures are great, I am now curious for what she will be up to next?

It usually takes me around a year to write a book. Yes, I write a bit every day. I am currently working on Amanda in Holland. It will be interesting to see what she gets up to while she’s there.

Hi Darlene, I’m writing to my Canadian friend in Vancouver. Would you give me details of where you’ll be and when on your visit. Hopefully, she’ll pop along and see you. Thanks. x Joy

Hi, Joy! I´ll be at Chapters on Granville and Broadway in Vancouver, September 9th from 12 noon to 3 pm. I would love to see your friend.

I’m an ex-New Mexican – after reading your post I want to read the book. Thanks!

Darlene I love it! Forget the target audience this adult would love to read it. I love the way you weave history into your suspenseful writing. Wonderful to watch your success!

Thanks! It is folks like you who have supported and encouraged me along the way, that have made a difference. I am so looking forward to seeing you in Calgary. ❤

My pleasure Darlene. As I have often said it has been inspiring to watch you make your dreams come true. It will be great fun to finally meet in person! Xo

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,017 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

