Darlene Foster's Blog

The Miracle of Mosta

Posted on: April 24, 2017

We took the bus to Mosta, a market town in the middle of Malta. In the centre of Mosta sits a fabulous domed cathedral built in the mid-1800s. It is an amazing piece of architecture inside and out, featuring the third largest unsupported church dome in Europe. Dedicated to the Assumption of Our Lady, it replaced a much smaller church that had been on the site since 1619. The Mosta Rotunda is also the site of a miracle.

The Mosta Rotunda

Inside the church

The dome

During WWII, on April 9, 1942, while over 400 parishioners worshipped inside, a 200 kg German bomb hit the church, pierced the dome and landed in the aisle. It did not hit a single person and it did not explode! It rolled to the base of the pulpit and stopped. The military bomb disposal team removed it, defused it and threw it into the sea. A miracle indeed. A replica of the bomb can be viewed in the sacristy.

It gave me goosebumps to see this. My husband pointed out where the bomb entered the dome as the coloration where it was repaired is slightly different.

Ornate vestments from the past.

Statue of Our Lady

The statue of the Assumption of Our Lady, 1868

The church contains a lot of artwork and important icons. The Feast of the Assumption of Saint Mary is celebrated in August where some of the statues are taken out and paraded around town.

The font containing holy water.

Visiting this church proved to be a moving experience for me, providing proof that miracles do happen. Hubby later treated me to lunch overlooking the magnificent Mosta Rotunda. It was definitely worth a visit, one I won’t forget.

65 Responses to "The Miracle of Mosta"

Miracles do happen, that’s for sure, whether of a religious nature or otherwise. That looks like a very impressive church and the type of place we enjoy visiting.

Have you been to Elche yet? There you will find the big celebration for Our Lady of Asunción on 14th August, when they do an actual play of the Ascension and it sounds like something you might enjoy seeing. I took a day out to Elche on my visit to Alicante 11 years ago and I truly loved it. Should you be tempted to go, I highly recommend a visit to El Huerto del Cura (The Priest’s Orchard): simply fabulous. Thanks for sharing, Darlene. 👍

Yes, you don’t have to be religious to believe in miracles! Elche isn’t that far from us but we haven’t spent much time there. I will be in Canada this year on August 14 but will keep it in mind for the next year. Thanks for the great suggestion.

Great photos, I like that they kept the bomb. That’s a cool story.

It is an amazing story, isn’t it!

Fabulous building, the unsupported Dome is an amazing piece of engineering, like the one I have seen in Florence. Glad the bomb did not explode. Malta has some amazing architecture, would love to visit it one day 🙂

You would just love it in Malta. I too am so glad the church was saved from destruction and the people in it were unharmed. I can only imagine what it must have been like for the folks worshipping that morning.

What an incredible story! A miracle, indeed. Thanks for the post.

I’m glad you enjoyed the post. It is quite an incredible story and amazing to see.

It could have been a very different story. The angels were certainly looking after all those people on that day. Another lovely post Darlene, I always enjoy your photographs. Hugs Barbara

As I stood in the church, that is exactly what I thought. Malta was hit hard during the war and was called the most bombed country on earth at one point. The Maltese are a hardy bunch though and weathered the storm. Glad you enjoyed the photographs. I always feel they never quite do justice to the beautiful churches.

Malta certainly received a pounding in the war. Some great photographs there, Darlene. Thank you.

Thanks for visiting my blog, Joy. Glad you enjoyed the photos.

What great photos, and interesting history too Darlene. Looks like a great place.

It was such an amazing place. Very different with so much history. So glad we decided to spend a week in Malta and visit Mosta.

Wow that was an amazing miracle. I love how miracles come to us – big and small-if we only look out for them. Of course this one in this church you couldn’t miss! Thanks for bringing us all here virtually. Gorgeous photos and a beautiful history.

I am pleased you enjoyed the history and pictures. I agree miracles happen every day if we look for them. This was a big one!

Huge. But sometimes the small miracles end up having just as big an impact (or in that church’s case, no impact at all, thank god!! 🙂

I love the pics! How I’d love to see worlds like this! The miracle would make the visit even more special, but the gorgeous church! The crosses — the architecture. Amazing, my friend. I’m glad you got to spend time there.

I´m glad I could share this with you. I have seen some amazing churches but this one was very special because of the miracle.

Wonderful church…and an astounding miracle!

Something you don´t see every day!

Wow, that is some story! It gave me chills to think how lucky the congregation was. Beautiful cathedral. Beautiful photos!

It certainly gave me chills to stand in the church and imagine how the congregation felt as the bomb came through the roof and fell to the floor. The cathedral is very beautiful.

The pattern on the inside of the dome is mesmerizing.
Thank you for sharing.

Thanks, Adam. I found it mesmerizing as I stood under the dome.

Cathedral rotundas fascinate me, especially those with an oculus, which looks to me like they seeing-eye of God. I remember seeing the one at St. Peter’s in Rome. Majestic! Thanks you for being our eyes and ears in Malta, Darlene.

I believe the rotunda in Mosta was patterned after the one in Rome. The oculus is fascinating. Glad you are enjoying my trip to Malta!

I have goosebumps just reading about the bomb Darlene. Can you imagine being in the church that day? I imagine if anyone attending didn’t have a strong faith prior they certainly did following. An astonishing story.

I am sure you are right. The Maltese are quite religious. 360 churches on a relatively small island must be proof. I can’t imagine being there when it happened. Apparently, there are still folks around who were there. I would have loved to have met one and heard their version.

Oh yes wouldn’t have that been amazing to hear the story first hand?

What an incredible church…love the architecture and what an incredible story about the bomb….speaking of miracles…he works in mysterious ways!!

It was an incredible experience for me to see first hand where this miracle took place. I thought you would like this post, Kirt.

What a beautiful church! Thank you for sharing this incredible story of the miracle with us, Darlene. I would love to see it one day. Blessings to you. 🤗

I do hope you have an opportunity to see this amazing place one day. Happy to share it with my readers.

What an amazing place, and that’s quite a story about the bomb. You can be completely transported in wonderful churches like this so I’m not surprised you found it a moving experience. What a great view from the restaurant, too.

It was truly amazing! The view from the restaurant was perfect and I forgot to mention that the lunch was very good. I forget to take pictures of the food!

It can be difficult when you’re hungry. 🙂

Wow, that’s some fascinating history Darlene. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

You are so welcome. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Pleasure Darlene 🙂

Darlene, I love it that they have a replica of the bomb. It gives what could be a tall tale credibility. We spent a month in Malta and really enjoyed it, but somehow missed Mosta. The bus rides through the countryside were wonderful. ~James

We enjoyed the countryside as well. The bus took us through Mosta on the way to Valetta and I noticed the church so we made sure we returned to have a look inside. So glad we did. I would love to spend a month there. Where did you stay? We stayed in Qwara.

Darlene, we enjoyed our time in Malta, but learned a lifetime travel lesson. We had been in Amsterdam for 3 months and there was a small travel shop close to our apartment. We spotted a cheap, all-inclusive package holiday advertised on a billboard there, and we decided to go for it. We stayed across the bay from Valetta in a noisy, touristy, hotel without AC! So from that day to this, we never, ever book package holidays and we plan all our own travel arrangements. ~James

We spent one night in St. Georges Bay in Valletta. It was very noisy. We found out later it was the party area of town and it was St. Patrick’s Day weekend! We had a place reserved in Qwara but it wasn’t available until the second night of our holiday. We try to plan our own holidays as well and still have made a few mistakes. Oh well, it gives us something to laugh about later.

Beautiful cathedral and what a story! That’s the first time I heard about the bomb. Can you imagine what the people felt when they saw the bomb and what could’ve happened to them? Fascinating.

I had heard the story once before and was amazed to find the church it happened in. I can’t even imagine what it would have been like to have been there. No wonder they consider it a miracle.

I visited the church a few years ago. It is such a beauty and I am glad of the miracle. Malta is such an interesting island. I would love to return.

Malta is a fascinating place to visit. I am sure you felt the same way as I did when you visited the church in Mosta. Thanks for the comment.

Yes. It is an amazing place. I saw the sunrise at mnajdra at the spring equinox when I last visited. The whole island is quite special.

That would have been awesome to see!

Inspiring story and lovely photos of a beautiful church and historic building. Found your blog through #senior salon.

Thanks for stopping by my blog. Glad you enjoyed the post!

Beautiful post with gorgeous photos – what an experience that must have been. Thank you so much for sharing. I so wish I had been with you on this trip in reality and not just in my mind and on my computer.
xx,
mgh
(Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
“It takes a village to transform a world!”

Glad you could join me, even if in your mind and on your computer!

Thank you. I had a great time. 🙂
xx,
mgh

What a beautiful church. I can’t even imagine being in that church the day the bomb fell. Now there is something to test your faith. Thanks for sharing the photos and the story.

I can´t imagine being there, either. We can be thankful we have not had to experience the horrors of being bombed. If only the whole world could say that.

There are a lot of stories about that bomb. One version of this event states that when a bomb disposal squad opened the device it was found to be filled with sand instead of explosives and contained a note saying “greetings from Plzeň” from the workers at Škoda Works in the German-occupied Czechoslovakia who had allegedly sabotaged its production.

What a great story! Thanks for sharing it Andrew. No one mentioned it in Malta but I had heard of workers sabotaging bombs in the occupied factories so it is feasible. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Wow! Amazing architecture. So glad that device didn’t destroy it.

I was awestruck. So glad no lives were lost that fateful day and that the building still stands. So many sad stories from WWII, it is good to hear something positive.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,955 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

