Darlene Foster's Blog

Guest author: Darlene Foster – Ten Truths About Critique Groups and Why Writers Need Them

Posted on: March 10, 2017

Today I am a guest on Sue Vincent’s blog where I talk about the value of critique groups.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

book-1014197__480Never underestimate the importance of a good critique group.  Without one, a writer may simply flounder in a sea of words and ideas. A critique group can make the difference between a mediocre story and an excellent piece of writing worthy of publication. Without the support of groups I’ve belonged to over the years, I would not have six books and several short stories published.

If you are wondering if you should join a critique group, here are ten things about critique groups you should know.

  1. Not all critique groups are created equal. You may have to try out a few to find one that works for you. The members need not write in the same genre as you, in fact it helps if there is a variety of writing being critiqued.
  2. Park your ego at the door. Although it is nice to hear what the members like about your…

View original post 969 more words

18 Responses to "Guest author: Darlene Foster – Ten Truths About Critique Groups and Why Writers Need Them"

Thank you so much for coming over today, Darlene…and you are welcome to come back any time 🙂

I am pleased to be on your blog. Thanks for all you do for other writers!

Pulling together makes a lot of difference 🙂

I think you’re very brave, I doubt I’d ever have the guts to join a critique group but your 10 points all seem very sensible and I can see why they would work. Indeed, your own experience is proof that they do. Good post.

Thanks Lorna. The support and valuable assistance are priceless. The first time I attended a critique group I was nervous but they were all so kind and helpful, I was never afraid again.

I commented over on Sue’s site. EXCELLENT post!!!

Darlene these sound like great suggestions and so valuable to get that feedback. I’m afraid I would be challenged to hear the critiques but know how helpful it would be.

It is hard at first but then you soon realize it is tremendously helpful.

I’ll comment over at Sue Vincent’s site. Very valuable tips.

Thanks for your comment!!

Hi Darlene, I left a comment over at Sue’s Barbara

I saw your comment, thanks!!

Jumped over from the Senior Salon
~~~~~~~~~~~
I follow Sue (and my guest-blogging Shih Tzu TinkerToy follows Ani), yet I would have missed this post had you not shared it this week. I’ll leave a comment there once I’ve read the entire article.
xx,
mgh
(Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
“It takes a village to educate a world!”

That is why sharing on a number of sites works so well. Glad you found it. I love the Senior Salon! Thanks for your comment on Sue’s site. Hope you find or create a critique group that works for you.

Thanks, Darlene. I, too, really appreciate the invite to the Senior Salon, which is why I always link there to posts I share, with the use of the little couch graphic to draw attention, and let folks know how I found their post.
xx,
mgh

Thank you so much for sharing this at the Salon. It is filled with very valuable information.

You are so welcome. I hope it may be of use to other writers.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,145 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

