Darlene Foster's Blog

Letter to my Teenage Self

Posted on: February 21, 2017

Today I am a guest on Krysten Lindsay Wagner’s blog. How many times have we said, “If only we knew then what we know now.” Krysten is featuring letters by authors to our younger selves and here is mine.

 Letter to my Younger Self by Darlene Foster 

Dear Darlene
The future is yours, no need to be afraid. Everything will work out, don’t waste time worrying. Things won’t always go as planned but it will be an awesome life. – See more at: http://www.krystenlindsay.com/blog/letter-to-my-younger-self-by-darlene-foster#sthash.xvz655Iv.dpuf

1535418_10152225323856255_570187519_n

I found this graphic on Facebook and don´t know who to credit, but it is so true.

Pop over to Krysten´s blog to read my letter to thirteen year old me.

What would you tell your teenage self if you could?

 

34 Responses to "Letter to my Teenage Self"

Love the diagram…it is so true……

It is, isn´t it. I used something like this in my goal setting workshops

I’ve seen this graphic before, but chuckle every time.

What I’d tell my teenage self? Someday you will be fancy!

Of course. That is perfect! The thing is, your teenage self may not have believed you.

I would tell my 13-y-o self to throw away those silly teen romances. Real, true love is completely different, but so much better! 🙂

That is a good one. But perhaps we need the silly teen romances to recognize the real thing later on. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Like you Darlene I think I would tell myself not to worry so much. Love the diagram. That is going to stick with me!

WE do tend to worry too much as teenagers, missing some of the gun. Good thing some of us relive our youth later in life!

It’s so true. Life takes so many detours and worrying only adds to the stress. Of course, that’s really easy to say.

Yes, it´s easy to say now that we know better. Or do we???

It’s so true–but I’m not even sure I’d listen to myself back then—ha ha
jodie
http://www.jtouchofstyle.com
#seniorsalon

I agree, I probably wouldn´t have listened to myself either! Thanks for popping in!

I would tell my 13-year-old self to ignore the bullies and remember that everything is temporary. I met one of my tormentors again at age 18 when we ended up working in the same office, we became firm and lasting friends.

Great advice! Things do change, don´t they? It is also good not to hold a grudge.

So very true! But we get back up right? 🙂

Of course we do!!

🙂
By chance, is your children’s book Pig on Trial available in English? Thank you!

It is a bi-lingual book, in English and Spanish. One page is in English, the opposite page is in Spanish. So you can read the story in either language!

I’m popping over to the other blog, but I love love love the diagram. That’s it, exactly. 😲

I used to draw something like this on the board when I taught goal setting to job seekers so I was delighted to find it.

Jumped over from the Senior Salon and was surprised to find a reblog. How generous of you. I just read a similar post that caught my eye as well – 10 things I would tell my younger self – so now that I have said thanks, I’ll jump again to read the letter.
xx,
mgh
(Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
“It takes a village to educate a world!”

Thanks for the visit. Hope you liked the letter. I could have used it all those years ago.

You’re most welcome – and I did.
xx.
mgh

Darlene, wouldn’t it have been wonderful to know that the future would be a good place to live and the journey there, although scary at times, would be worth it? Thanks for posting at the Salon.

It would have been nice to know all would be OK but I guess not knowing is part of the journey! Thanks for commenting. Love the Salon.

That’s a great graphic. I like the bit in your letter about the twists and turns making life interesting, very true. I would tell my teenage self to be confident about being herself without feeling she has to conform to what others think she should be. I’d also tell her that hard work pays off and laziness will only result in a sense of dissatisfaction. I’m not sure she’d listen to me, mind you. 🙂

Great advice. So many young folks, myself included, were too busy trying to fit in. I am not sure my younger self would have listened either.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,956 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

