Darlene Foster's Blog

Family, Friends, Food and Fun

Posted on: December 23, 2016

I barely get over my jet lag and it’s time to get ready for Christmas! I keep thinking about the wonderful time I had with friends and family back in Canada and I feel happy all over again. So I thought I would share some of my memories.

In between promoting my book, I managed to meet up with many friends in three different cities. They fed me well, gave me places to stay,  and were a joy to spend time with. Here are a few pictures.

dscn6558

Homemade pizza waiting for me at a friend’s after a busy schedule in Vancouver. Do I purposefully pick friends who are good cooks?

15202640_10153990587351434_271568993294530832_n

Workmates from Medicine Hat, many years ago. So glad we have kept in touch.

15219492_10154329473989023_6073609567337263102_n-1

A group of friends from elementary school days

dscn6443

Good friends from BC

dscn6526

A friend I worked with in Vancouver who made high tea for me!

dscn6519

dscn6696

A dear friend from my first job in Medicine Hat who provided me with a comfy place to stay, fed me well and was great to relax with after a busy day.

dscn6817-2

My good friend and travel buddy who drove me all over Calgary in the snow, gave me a warm place to stay and also fed me well.

I am truly blessed when it comes to friends.

Precious time was spent with family too.

dscn6429-2

Spent three fun filled days with my daughter. We got to babysit a puppy too.

dscn6544-2

Cousins from Vancouver Island who made the trip over to the mainland to have lunch with me.

dscn6580

My aunt and best pal from Arizona, with a cousin from Calgary.

My Aunt, who is my age, came all the way from Arizona to support me and my book tour. How special is that?

dscn6741

My great-aunt and great-uncle in Calgary.

dscn6578

Visiting Santa with  second great-granddaughter

dscn6638

Visiting first great- granddaughter at her school. Almost as tall as me!!

dscn6702

My youngest grandson, not so little anymore!

My oldest grandson, all grown up but still my buddy. Treated me to a sushi meal.

My oldest grandson, all grown up but still my buddy. He treated me to sushi.

I spent a good amount of time with my dear mom. We made her an early birthday/Christmas party as she will turn 88 on Christmas day. She was delighted to have all of her siblings there, even her sister from Arizona.

dscn6664-2

dscn6663

Mom with all of her remaining siblings

dscn6677

Five generations, mom, me, my son,  grandaughter and great grandaughter

It was a wonderful time as you can see. Full of family, friends, fun and food. This is what makes life worth living!!

I hope you are all ready for the Holiday Season. Make sure you enjoy fun, food, family and friends!

23 Responses to "Family, Friends, Food and Fun"

It looks like you had a wonderful time, Darlene! How fortunate that you have so many friends who can also cook. 😉 Merry Christmas and I hope 2017 brings you much success. 🙂

Thanks for the good wishes, Laura. I wish you all the best in 2017 as well. Can´t wait to see the new book.

love your photos Darlene! it was a special visit for me too ❤

It was so very good to see you. Thanks for coming to my presentation at the library as well. It meant a lot to me.

How nice to have been able to visit with so many of your friends and family on your tour.

It made it very busy but it was worth it. Have a wonderful Christmas!!

How wonderful Darlene, you are truly blessed with so many great friends and a loving family. Enjoy the holidays and have the best New Year. xx

I really am lucky. Have a super Christmas!!

Darlene that Amanda and her adventures have enriched your whole life in travels and tours and friends!

Yes, I guess I owe her a lot!!

Lots of happy memories there, I’m sure. It looks as if you really made the most of your trip, and how lovely to see your mom looking well and happy. I hope you had a good Christmas and enjoy seeing in the new year when it comes.

Thanks so much Lorna. It was great to spend time with mom and see her doing so well. Wishing you a wonderful New Year as well

Oh my gosh, Darlene, this is so much fun to ‘watch’! What a fabulous group of friends you have, and then an incredible family to visit also. Your mom – she looks amazing! I can’t believe you have great grandchildren. Did I read that right???!! You started young, my friend, and still have many years to enjoy friends and family, and to write all those great books. You inspire me. Your blogging friend, Pam

Thanks for those kind words, Pam. We all started out young in my family which is why we have 5 generations alive right now. I have been blessed with such a great family and terrific friends. I do hope to have more books in me to share with the world. So glad to have you as a blogging friend!

Wow, what a trip, Darlene! So glad you shared it 🙂 Your family look wonderful and you look WAY too young/good to have GREAT grandchildren lol And your mom looks a LOT like my grandmother (she passed back in ’98).

P.S. I want some of that food!

It was an awesome trip. Thanks for the compliment. The food was so good, I dream about it. I am very lucky to have such great family and friends!!

So many friends – you’re obviously good at keeping in touch! Happy and healthy 2017 to you and yours in sunny Spain!

I am lucky to have such great friends who want to keep in touch with me. All the best in 2017 for you as well Jan.

Darlene you packed in a great deal on your trip. I’m so sorry it didn’t work for us to connect this time but I very much hope we can another time. The five generation photo is such a treasure. I don’t think that happens too often. Lovely to see.

Five generations together at the same time, is considered good luck in some cultures. It was a busy but satisfying trip. Hope we can connect next time. I did manage to stop in at a Calgary Library and show them my books. I see they are now available in the system. Personal contact works!

How wonderful group of family and friends! I wish you also Happy New Year and many great new posts and happy readers for your books! Bye. Kamila

Thanks so much Kamila!! Happy New Year to you and your family as well.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,013 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

