Darlene Foster's Blog

Much to be Thankful For

Posted on: October 11, 2016

It’s Thanksgiving in Canada and I have so much to be thankful for. My family, my friends, my health and a wonderful place to live, to name a few. I am also extremely thankful to everyone who has supported my writing endeavours.

It has been ten days since Amanda on the Danube has been released and things have been going great! I was pleased to see an article about the book in The Delta Optimist.

A new adventure for Amanda

Children’s author, inspired by her own travels, adds fifth entry to novel series

DAVE WILLIS / DELTA OPTIMIST

OCTOBER 7, 2016 12:00 AM

dscn5962

Children’s author Darlene Foster has added another entry to her travel adventure series.

Amanda on the Danube: The Sounds of Music follows the 12-year-old main character on an adventure with her best friend Leah aboard an elegant riverboat along Europe’s second-longest river.

“It is a fast-paced, fun and intriguing story with some European history tucked in,” says Foster, who has a book launch event scheduled for next month at Albany Books in Tsawwassen.

The title marks the fifth entry into this series and Foster says she thinks it’s the best one yet.

Read more here

Amanda on the Danube is also the book of the week on Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore

Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – Book of the Week – Amanda on the Danube – The Sounds of Music by Darlene Foster

Today my chosen book is another adventure for Amanda, an ordinary Canadian teenager, who has travelled the world from Arabia to Alberta via Spain and England. Author Darlene Foster now crafts a new adventure as Amanda finds herself on the Danube helping a homeless young musician.

9781771681025

Read more here and add a comment if you wish. Sally’s blog site is chock full of interesting and  inspiring information. She is an amazing person and  does so much to promote us struggling authors. You may want to follow her blog, you won’t be sorry.

I am so thankful I met Sally through the wonderful world of blogging.

What are you thankful for?

33 Responses to "Much to be Thankful For"

Great to showcase the latest Amanda adventure Darlene and you are both very welcome any time. hugs

Hugs back, Sally. You are so busy moving into your new house, but you still take time to promote other writers! Amanda and I appreciate it. ❤

Mandated coffee and meal breaks Darlene!! xx

Happy Thanksgiving Darlene and many congratulations on all the interest in your new book.

Thanks, Barbara. I am going back to Canada to do some promoting next month.

Congratulations on the new book. I’ve only ever read one of Amanda’s books as I have no younger friends to whom this will appeal. As you know, teenage girls are just too hip to read YA fiction.
Anyway, what am I grateful for? So many things, firstly, just being alive following my recent adventure, friends, family, a comfortable home and fantastic memories of a life well lived and of the two men who helped this.
Enjoy your lovely new lifestyle and also enjoy your trip home to Canada net month,

Thanks, Judith! You are so right, teenage girls would not be interested in a middle-grade book. You are a great example of a person filled with gratitude. It is uplifting to know you.

I am thankful for your blog, for your enthusiastic spirit, and for you, Darlene! Happy thanksgiving to you, a Canadian in Spain.

Thanks for your kind words, Marian. So thankful fate had our paths cross.

Happy Thanksgiving, Darlene and MORE power to ya! 😀

Hope you had a fab Thanksgiving, Tess. Thanks for your friendship.

You are welcome and the same back at you! It was a fabulous Thanksgiving. Did you celebrate in Spain too?

Not really. It isn´t a holiday anywhere else but in Canada. I did, however, reflect on how much I had to be thankful for and sent messages to my family in Canada.

Happy Thanksgiving Darlene and congrats on the reception of your book!!

Thanks and back at you, Kirt.

Happy Thanksgiving to you, my friend, and congratulations on penning such a well received Book! You have worked hard and perhaps now you can reap a little of the benefits.

Thanks for recognizing the amount of work that goes into a publication, Claudia. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

Way to go! Wll done, Darlene. Enjoy Thanksgiving day in peace and love. 💗

Wonderful to see so much success and great reviews early on Darlene! Many congrats and you continue to inspire me as to one really can make dreams come true.

Thanks, Sue! It helps that I have so much support and encouragement from so many!

Happy Thanksgiving, Darlene. I didn’t realise Canadians celebrated it in October. I’m grateful for all the things you listed, and I often think how lucky I am to live in a safe and stable country, particularly when I see footage of places like Aleppo in Syria. It’s hard to imagine how hard life must be for people there at the moment, and I very much hope that one day soon they can be thankful for peace.

Yes, thanksgiving in Canada is always the second Monday of October. Makes so much more sense as we don’t have two big meals a month apart. Of course, we should be thankful all year round. I too feel for the people of Syria and wish this horrible war would come to an end. A big Hello to your dear parents!

Happy thanksgiving Darlene . You lovely book is on my book list
Cherryx

Thanks, Cherry. Enjoy!

Congratulations! I will add this to my list, looks wonderful!

Great! I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

Happy belated Thanksgiving, Darlene! I love the new covers and have added this to my list, too. I’m grateful for my parents and nieces, always, and for my work, and for friends who walk alongside me in our creative paths.

Nice to hear from you, Claudine and I love your list of things to be grateful for. Thanks for adding my book to your list!

Happy (late) Thanksgiving! Can’t wait to read the new Amanda!

And I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! Thanks for the Thanksgiving wishes.

I just know this is another wonderful book!

Awe! Thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,621 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

