Darlene Foster's Blog

Interview with Canadian Author, Suzanne de Montigny

Posted on: July 1, 2016

Today, July 1, is Canada Day, celebrating 149 years since Canada became a country. It is fitting that I welcome Suzanne de Montigny , a Canadian writer, as a guest on my blog.

s02

Suzanne de Montigny wrote her first unicorn story at the age of twelve.  Several years later, she discovered it in an old box in the basement, thus reigniting her love affair with unicorns. Suzanne taught music in Vancouver for many years where she learned she could spin a good tale that kept kids and teachers begging for more. She took up writing in earnest nine years ago and has never looked back.  She lives in Burnaby, B.C. with the loves of her life – her husband, two boys, and Buddy the dog.

Tell us about yourself and your books.

Well, I’ve just had a new book released entitled A Town Bewitched. Here’s the blurb:

It’s tough for Kira, growing up in the small town of Hope as a child prodigy in classical violin, especially when her dad just died. And to make matters worse, Kate McDonough, the red-haired fiddler appears out of nowhere and bewitches the town with her mysterious Celtic music. Even Uncle Jack succumbs to her charms, forgetting his promise to look after Kira’s family. But when someone begins vandalizing the town leaving dead and gutted birds as a calling card, Kira knows without a doubt who’s behind it.

deMontigny-ATownBewitched-blog

I also have a series called Shadow of the Unicorn. In the first one, The Legacy, a herd of unicorns barely survive the coming of an asteroid only to be exploited when the humans arrive. It takes place 12,000 years ago. In the second one, The Deception; sixty years later, the unicorns live hidden in the woods, controlled by a corrupt Great Stallion who invents a false god to control them and how they find the truth of their legacy. And I’m just finishing off the third of the series. It’s called The Revenge and it’s about a gifted unicorn who is born with something really wrong with him. Because he’s bullied, he turns his gift on the herd and no one can stop him.

Montigny-ShadowOfTheUnicorm-Legacy-PRINTCOVER-5x7-304pgs

When did you decide to become a writer? why?

I never had the intention of becoming a writer. It’s just something that happened to me along the way. I loved writing as a child and wrote my first novella at 12. Then, after my father died, when I was in my forties, I developed a need to write and never looked back.

What inspires your stories?

A Town Bewitched came from our experience attending a fiddling camp when my oldest son was nine. When we came back, we were absolutely on fire for fiddling. And I thought, “Suppose what happened to us happened to an entire town, except there was something really wrong with the fiddler.” I laughed it off at first thinking it was a really dumb idea, but it wouldn’t let me go. Finally, I had to write it. Glad I did because it won first prize in the Dante Rossetti competition for Best Coming of Age Novel.

Shadow of the Unicorn came from the novella I wrote when I was twelve. I intended it as an exercise just to learn how to write. Never did I dream it would actually be published and do as well as it has.

Why did you decide to write for children?

I was an elementary music teacher for twenty years. My favourite grades were grades 5 – 7, so it was only natural I’d write for that age group.

What did you read as a child?

I really loved anything by Lucy Maude Montgomery. And I loved books about dogs and horses.

Another Lucy Maude Montgomery fan!

What have you read lately that impressed you? Why?

Harry Potter. It was just so good I couldn’t stop reading it. I’d be reading it while cooking, while talking to my son’s doctor during an appointment, in bed, everywhere.

If you could have dinner with any author, who would you choose and what would you ask him or her?

JK Rowling, of course. I’m not sure what I’d ask her. I think I would just enjoying chatting with her.

Are you a plotter or a panster?

Definitely a pantser. It causes me no end of trouble because my characters take over and start doing all sorts of things I never wanted them to and I can’t stop them.

Great to meet another panster!

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block and how do you deal with it?

Never. I have a bazillion ideas. I just wish I could write faster.

What are you working on now?

I’ve just finished the third of the unicorn series, Shadow of the Unicorn: The Revenge and am about to start a historical romance about a young woman who immigrates to Canada to marry a French-Canadian after WWI.

Sounds great. I love stories about WWI. You are a very diverse writer.

Any advice to other authors?

Write what you feel.

Sound advice! Thanks so much Suzanne for being a guest on my blog. We look forward to more exciting books from you.

You can find Suzanne’s books here

Amazon

Kobo

Chapters Indigo

Barnes & Noble

Montigny-ShadowOfTheUnicorm-Deception-PRINTCOVER-525x8-260pgs

Happy Canada Day! Celebrate by buying a book written by a Canadian author.canadaday3

46 Responses to "Interview with Canadian Author, Suzanne de Montigny"

Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
July 1st is Canada Day and Darlene Foster is getting in first with her celebrations and an interview with author Suzanne de Montigny. Love unicorns.. then head over and read this interview.

Thanks for reblogging Sally!

Really enjoyed reading this conversation Darlene. Suzanne sounds lovely!

Thanks, Dean. She is a wonderful writer and a great person.

I love that a love of something as a child can carry through to a lifetime of writing. Thank you for the introduction Darlene!

It is cool how those things can stick with you through a lifetime!

Childhood dreams don’t necessarily end, eh?

Happy Canada Day to all of my Canadian readers, and to you especially, Darlene and Suzanne. Thank you for introducing me to a new author.

Thank you for the good wishes! Always good to read about another author.

Congrats to Suzanne and best wishes from another Canadian.

Thanks for visiting my blog, Cynthia. Enjoy Canada day!

Yay, us Canadians on Canada Day!

Fabulous interview. Superb cover. Intriguing story. 😀

Thanks! Happy Canada Day!!

Hello Suzanne, Happy Canada Day! I enjoyed getting to know you.

Thanks for stopping by.

Great interview Darlene. Must alert my grandchildren about Suzanne’s books!

Thanks, Irene. Love to spread the word about other authors.

How very kind of you, Irene!

[…] Source: Interview with Canadian Author, Suzanne de Montigny | Darlene Foster’s Blog […]

Thanks for the reblog Christoph!

Thanks everyone for dropping on by

Thanks for taking the time to answer the questions and be a guest on my blog.

Happy Canada day and best of luck! ♥

Thanks! Enjoy the day!!

So wonderful to meet Suzanne through your blog post, Darlene. I love her advice to writers: WRITE WHAT YOU FEEL. Yeeeessss!!! I love her passion and her imagination. Wonderful.
P.S. Beautiful cover, too.

I thought that was such great advice too. Glad you enjoyed meeting her.

Happy Canada Day to you both.

Thanks. Even though I’m actually in London right now.

I enjoyed the interview with Suzanne. Both books sounds very intriguing. I was a musician and I love unicorn stories, too. She hooked me with both themes. I always enjoy hearing the inspiration behind the book — especially the plot! Excellent interview.

Thanks Patricia. Glad I was able to introduce you to Suzanne.

A great interview. Music and unicorns, what a wonderful combination.

Who doesn’t love unicorns and music!! Great themes.

Nice interview! And what a beautiful cover. I’ll be keeping an eye out for the unicorn series for sure! From another Lucy Maud Montgomery fan. 🙂

Thanks, Marcia. The Unicorn books are excellent.

Wow! such a beautiful cover. Thanks for introducing us to another Canadian author, Darlene. Great interview.

Congratulations, Suzanne, on the release f your new book! Wishing you all the best. 😀

Thanks, Laura. Canadians need to promote Canadians!!

I like the idea of her books! 🙂

Unicorn lovers will love them!!

[…] Suzanne de Montigny, another author, who I featured here on my […]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,041 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

