Darlene Foster's Blog

Tiptoeing Through the Tulips at Keukenhof

Posted on: May 3, 2016

I love tulips. They are by far my favourite flower. So you can imagine my delight when we arrived at Keukenhof, the famous tulip gardens in Holland. Greeted by a sea of tulips in the brightest colours imaginable, I was like a child at a candy store. Covering 32 hectares, over 7 million tulips, daffodils and other spring flowers are on display amongst well kept shrubs, trees and blossoms. Interesting sculptures and works of art are displayed throughout the gardens. I climbed to the top of a traditional windmill, or molen, to get an amazing view of the surrounding tulip fields. For all you flower lovers, here is a bit of what I saw during my unforgettable visit. The pictures do not do it justice so you need to go yourself one day! And if you have been there, perhaps this will bring back fond memories.

tulips

 

DSCN4287 (2)

DSCN4288

DSCN4298

DSCN4299

DSCN4326

DSCN4311

DSCN4323

DSCN4294 (2)

DSCN4333

Traditionally dressed young women add to the colour and flavour

DSCN4302

Art among the flowers

DSCN4304 (2)

Keukenhof, means “kitchen garden” in Dutch. The site goes back to the 15th century when fruits, vegetables and herbs were grown in this location. In the 19th century it became a castle garden. This world famous attraction has been a permanent exhibition of spring-flowering bulbs since 1949 and is open 8 weeks of every year. I am so glad we planned our visit to coincide with the flowers in bloom. Another dream come true!

“I love tulips better than any other spring flower; they are the embodiment of alert cheerfulness and tidy grace, and next to a hyacinth look like a wholesome, freshly tubbed young girl beside a stout lady whose every movement weighs down the air with patchouli. Their faint, delicate scent is refinement itself; and is there anything in the world more charming than the sprightly way they hold up their little faces to the sun. I have heard them called bold and flaunting, but to me they seem modest grace itself, only always on the alert to enjoy life as much as they can and not be afraid of looking the sun or anything else above them in the face.”
Elizabeth von Arnim, Elizabeth and Her German Garden

47 Responses to "Tiptoeing Through the Tulips at Keukenhof"

Beautiful pictures Darlene. I love springtime flowers, its the best time of the year. Hope you enjoyed your holiday.

Living in Spain I feel like I am always on holiday. But it was good to see another part of Europe, one I have wanted to visit for a long time. Springtime flowers just make you feel good, don´t they.

Beautiful, simply beautiful!!! I love tulips as well and just recently saw a bunch at The Biltmore but those pale in caparison to these. What a lovely trip through the tulips—-and I didn’t tiptoe!

Somehow I knew you would enjoy these pictures. I´m sure the tulips at the Biltmore where wonderful as well.

These are stunning! How long do they stay like this? What a magical place!

If it is not hot, tulips can stay like this for a long time. It is quite cool in Holland so the gardens are open for 8 weeks every year. I think we came at the perfect time. It is truly magical.

Simply fabulous, Darlene! I am glad you timed it so well! Thanks for sharing.

It was such a pleasant surprise!!

I can’t imagine a place so colorful. Your trip amazes me!

The colours stay with you forever!!

That looks incredible, I’d love to take my mum to see them. You couldn’t have gone at a better time by the looks of things, and if tulips are your favourite flowers you must have been in heaven.

Your mom would so love it!! Mid to late April seems to be a very good time to visit. Yes, I was in heaven!

Hello Darlene, Terry and I visited and fell in love with Keukenhof a few years ago and would really like to go back. In the meantime, your lovely photographs have reminded us of that happy time. We’ve also been enjoying your photos on Facebook, thank you. x

I am so pleased these photos brought back happy memories for you. It is truly a magical place that should, be visited at least once. You are welcome!

Darlene I love your photos, in particular the one of you holding a pretty tulip. I have been to Holand few times and yet never in the spring and have not seen the tulips in bloom, such a shame. After seeing your pictures I will have to add that to my bucket list😀

Glad you enjoyed the photos. I hope you make it there in the spring to see this for yourself!

How incredible is this. I would love to go there….thanks for sharing…love the pictures!!

You would just love the colours Kirt and would get great ideas for paintings!! You may even got some from my pictures.

That is so beautiful! I can not imagine being up close smelling them and being surrounded by all that color!

It was an incredible experience, one I will never forget.

Darlene these are absolutely stunning photos. I will say my fave is the one of you. Radiating happiness.

Awe, thanks so much Sue. I was delighted and it was a surprise as we hadn´t planned on visiting. A friend took us there.

Too divine! My jaw dropped. Though I’ve whacked it back up again it fell down again. Heaven. I can’t stand the beauty–it’s overwhelming. WOW. Thank you for sharing, Darlene. ❤ ❤ o_O

I am pleased to hear this was a jaw dropping read for you. The beauty was overwhelming in person too. ❤

I can almost imagine how overwhelming being there in person might be. Wow.

Yay on another dream fulfilled! I love a sea of flowers, especially when different-coloured blooms are planted together. Would love to have a small garden when I have my cottage house by the sea (yep, me dreaming again, and you bet I’ll be working my butt off to make this happen).

Dreams do come true! Sometimes it takes awhile but they do. Glad you enjoyed the flowers.

These photos take my breath away. About 15 Aprils ago my guy and I had a few days in Amsterdam on our way to pick up our daughter (in Florence for a college year). Anyway, I so wanted to see the tulips – my favorite flower also. It POURED the 2 days we had in Holland, so we never got to tiptoe through the tulips.
After seeing this, I think we’ve found another reason to visit Holland in April…

I do hope you get to revisit Holland in April or May and get some sunshine. I realize we were very lucky with the weather.

Cheerfulness and tidy grace sum up the essence of tulips for me. These photos are breathtaking – truly!

Tulips do spread cheer! So pleased you enjoyed the photos.

Ah, Darlene, this was a much needed fix of colorful, vibrant tulips! We had a sudden snow last weekend, so our tulips are still tightly closed, but with the warmth and sunshine predicted tomorrow and next week, we should have some wonderful color!

Sorry to hear about snow so late in the season. Hope the tulips survived. This happened occasionally in Alberta and would kill the poor tulips. Wishing for much sunshine for you soon.

Wow, such beautiful vivid colors!

They were even more amazing on person. Glad you liked them!

What a fantastic place to see flowers – they are so bright and cheerful. Great pictures Darlene!

I thought you would like these as you enjoy flowers! It is the perfect place to see amazing flowers.

Darlene, we lived in Amsterdam for 3 months, and luckily, we managed to be there for spring in Keukenhof. Your post and photos are a great reminder of our visit. It’s really hard to describe to people that have never visited. BTW, you may have noticed that things have been quiet at Gallivance lately. Terri blew here knee out and had to have a total knee replacement surgery recently, so as you can imagine, her recovery and care have kept us both pretty busy. She’s progressing well, but it’s slow going. We haven’t forgotten about our friends and look forward to things getting back to normal. In the meantime, thanks for continuing to follow along. ~James

Thanks for taking the time to comment here. I’m glad the post brought back some good memories for you. Thanks also for the update. Please give Terri a hug and I hope she will be back on her feet soon. I recall when I broke my ankle three years ago how it totally disrupted out lives for about six months. These things are never welcome but even worse for travellers as we don’t like to sit still! XO

Over seven million tulips! I can not even imagine…

You would love it!!

WoW, we were so close… 🙂 Great place and I also like your set of photos! Bye. Kamila

We were! You inspired me to go when we were in Holland. Thanks!!

Thank you, really pleased! K

Beautiful post and amazing photos. Was there last year and loved being between all the colourful flowers. Have written about it on the blog so have a read.

Thanks for stopping in and commenting. Send me the link to your tulip post.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,143 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

