Darlene Foster's Blog

Renaissance Woman – Inka Piegsa-Quischotte

Posted on: February 18, 2016

I was fortunate indeed to have been introduced to Inka Piegsa-Quischotte by a fellow Canadian travel writer, Ruth Kozak. Inka became my very first new friend when I moved to Spain a little over a year ago. She is an incredibly talented individual, is well travelled, has lived in a number of countries and can speak several languages. You must check out her blog  Glamourgrannytravels for interesting and informative travel articles on unique places and events you may not have heard about.

I was very pleased when she agreed to be featured as a guest on my blog.

Inka

My first BFF in Spain.

Interview with Inka Piegsa-Quischotte

Tell us a little about yourself.

Born in Germany, I went to University in Bonn, Freiburg and Berlin, but started out in Basel/Switzerland, reading international law. I spend the first 30 years of my life as an international attorney, running my own law firm in London, England and Marbella, Spain.

During the course of my first professional life, I travelled the world, seeing absolutely nothing. From airport to hotel to offices and back. I have been to the most exotic places and never had a chance to savour the culture, the sights and the ‘real’ people.

One day, I just woke up and decided: enough is enough. I still want to travel but now I want to really SEE things. So, I sold my firm, my house, bought a small apartment in Turkey just to have a pied a terre and started to do what I really wanted to do.

It helped that I have no family which makes me totally independent and that I had a few bucks stashed away.

When I didn’t have to write briefs, I have always written short stories and the odd poem, so I decided to share my travel experiences with like minded people and started the glamourgranny.

As the title indicates, I like to travel the world in some style and comfort. Back packing is not for me, but I’m perfectly able to adapt to circumstances.

  1. You are a well-travelled person. Can you tell us the places you have been to. 

Many years ago I went on my first big trip: six months by car from Algeria to Ivory Coast and then across the continent to Kenya and Tanzania, then down to South Africa. That’s when the travel bug bit and I have been to all counties in Europe except Scandinavia. I have also been to New York and Miami, Turkey, Jordan, Oman, Dubai, Hong Kong Sharja, Russia and Lebanon. I love Arabic culture and return to the Middle East as often as I can.

  1. What is your favourite place and why?

I have two: Istanbul and New York. What both have in common is the absolute limitless possibility to discover new aspects and sights. They are also big cities and I’m a city person as opposed to a country girl.

  1. Tell us about the books you have written.

I have written two novels and two guidebooks. One is a guide to Galicia and the other a literary guide to Istanbul following the footsteps of three authors. My novels are just entertainment. I started out writing short stories and the odd poem and only later turned to travel writing. But, human nature holds great fascination and it’s just fun to invent characters and let them loose in my imagination.

  1. Do you have any plans to write another book? 

Yes and that’s a more serious and complex enterprise. It’s a historic novel about Roxelana, the wife of Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent, title Queen of Intrigue. The book requires a lot of research to make it historically authentic, something I haven’t got around to yet, but am working on it.

  1. I love the name of your blog, The Glamour Granny. How did you come up with that clever name?

Thanks for calling it clever. My blog is meant for female travellers, solo travellers, baby boomers and those who love style and comfort. I had to come up with a name encompassing all the above and in a flash of inspiration, the glamourgranny was born

  1. What inspires you?

Books, images, other people’s travel tales. I see something that fascinates me…I have to go and see for myself.

  1. Can you tell my readers how you manage to keep that spirit of adventure?

Easy. I’m born with it. I cannot imagine to stay in one place forever, that’s why I change countries to live in every two or three years. Any time longer and I get restless.

Forever young!

Forever young!

Blog http://www.glamourgrannytravels.com/

Twitter https://twitter.com/lilygogo

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/inka.piegsaquischotte?fref=ts

Books by Inka  Piegsa-Quischotte

product_thumbnail

City of the Green Eyed Beauty A delightful literary guide to Istanbul

41ExIEUCnuL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

Sweet Revenge

Thank you so much Inka for sharing a bit about yourself with my readers, and a huge thank you for your friendship.

32 Responses to "Renaissance Woman – Inka Piegsa-Quischotte"

I like that she took charge of her life! Bravo!

I like that too. It is what makes her so special.

Darlene, dear friend. I can’t thank you enough for this lovely portrait. Love, love, love the moniker Renaissance woman. In fact, next to antiquity that’s my favorite part of history.

I am pleased you liked the title as I thought you would. You are indeed a Renaissance woman – one who is skilled in many fields!

What a well-lived life! And still living it!

Yes, still going strong.

What an exciting and inspiring writer and traveler. It’s wonderful to meet you. I love your verve Inka Piegsa-Quischotte! 😀 An excellent interview.

Thanks. Inka is inspiring!!

YOU are welcome, Darlene. ❤

It sounds like you hit the jackpot in finding a wonderful friend in Glamour Granny, who like you is blossoming in an encore career.

When I get to my laptop, I want to check out her links. Thank you both!

Thanks Marion. I was so lucky to have met Inka. We have had some great conversations and good fun together.

How lucky you are to have such a wonderful friend! She sounds like someone I would like to know.

It is great to have Inka as a friend as we have so much in common.

Inka sounds like a great BFF to have and what interestingly life she’s had. I will check out her blog .

Inka is a very interesting person with great stories to share. You will like her blog.

What a fantastic and interesting life! I love the idea of country hopping, as I too get itchy feet if I stay anywhere too long.

I thought you would relate to that idea. Thanks for sharing the post.

I love the attitude ‘enough is enough. I have to travel’. Sounds like you have made a wonderful and fascinating friend Darlene.

Doesn’t that sound like an Albertan saying, “enough is enough”. I ‘m sure I heard my mom say that many times. I love meeting folks like Inka – and you!!

Oh yes I have been known to say that myself from time to time Darlene. The feeling about meeting folks like yourself is mutual. What a bonus this blogging has delivered. 🙂

Thank you, Darlene, for introducing Inka to us. She is an inspiration to everyone who wants to travel.

We all need people like Inka in our lives to inspire us!

It’s great knowing and learning about Inka. It must be the fantasy of many women ~ to sell our business, pack up and travel to places that fascinate us. Yet not many of us do it. Well done and keep travelling, Inka!

It is a huge leap to do it. That´s why it´s good to read about and meet women who have done it.

Thanks for introducing us to Inka, Darlene. Fascinating woman with a fascinating life. I’m so impressed, just reading your comments about your new BFF. Lucky you! But we all also know, lucky Inka.
Now I’m traveling off to her blog. 🙂

Thanks so much for your kind words. You will enjoy her blog.

What a fascinating lady Inka is. I will be very happy to while away a few hours (probably days!) reading her blog posts. Thank you for the introduction Darlene.

She is one cool woman. Enjoy her posts!

Miss Piegsa-Quischotte sounds like a very interesting person! 😀

She is very interesting and a good friend to have.

Thanks for sharing your friend with us.

You are welcome. I love meeting interesting people like Inka and telling the world about them.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,638 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

