Darlene Foster's Blog

Celebrating Carnival with Children

Posted on: February 15, 2016

Carnival is celebrated around the world at this time of the year. It is considered the last time to have a big party before the period of lent. You don´t have to be in New Orleans or Rio de Janeiro to take part in a colourful Carnival parade with brilliant costumes and warm smiles. Carnival is very popular here in Spain and last year we enjoyed a parade and celebration at the local mall. I wrote about it here.   https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/carnival-time/

Everyone gets involved in Carnival festivities, including the schools. All week the students go to school wearing specified items of clothing each day, like mismatched socks, inside out clothing, a hairpiece etc.

12714153_819940034818803_539845892_n

Mismatched socks day

This year we witnessed the Carnival parade at the local elementary school our young friend attends. The children, teachers and parents went all out with the costumes and festivities. The theme was different cultures with students dressed as various foods and historic figures from around the world. Our young friend was part of the Egyptian group and played her part well. It was fun to watch everyone get into the spirit and enjoy themselves. There were  more parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and friends, watching and taking  pictures, than participants. After the parade, the children were treated to hot chocolate and pastries, then spent the rest of the school day making crafts. I would have loved to attend that school!

here come the Egyptians

Here come the Egyptians

DSCN3658

And the Vikings!

And the scary Vikings!

Spaghetti and meatballs anyone?

Spaghetti and meatballs anyone?

or my favourite, paella

or a Spanish favourite, paella

DSCN3656

The drummers provide the right music and add to the atmosphere

 

My favourite Cleopatra!

My favourite Cleopatra!

A fun Carnival for all!

Happy Valentine´s Day and Happy Chinese New Year!! It is all happening at once this year.

29 Responses to "Celebrating Carnival with Children"

Sounds exciting and colorful and musical, Darlene.
By the way, I hear there’s a store in Florida which sells singular socks. You buy a second one to compliment the pattern or color. I love it when my grand kids wear mis-matched socks. I’ve done it a time or two because who can see, right? Gave me a rush that day. 😀 😀 😀

How clever, singular socks. I could use some of those as my washing machine seems to eat them. ❤

That was my thinking exactly when I hear about the singular socks. Solves a world-wide problem. 😀 😀 😀

Very interesting post! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks so much for visiting my blog. So pleased you found this post interesting.

That I did, m’lady. 🙂

I just love all of the festivals in Spain. Interesting post. Great socks!

I love all these festivals as well. So much fun!

You live in such a happy place. And children boost the happiness quotient by a long shot!

Children are so important to the Spanish folks. They are not spoiled with things, but are very much loved. It makes it a very happy place.

What fantastic costumes and your young friend looks amazing! I love it when all generations meet up to celebrate something special. It looks like you all had a whale of a time! Happy Valentine’s Day to you all. 💗

The costumes were incredible and made mostly out of garbage bags and things you would find around the house! Very clever.

What a great idea! I used to do that for my son when we celebrated World Book Day in school and dressed him up as Captain Hook and Dumbledore on different occasions!

Hi Darlene,
I am so pleased you came to see me in our little Carnaval Parade. Mummy and me knew you would enjoy it.
Love and kisses from Cleopatra (Ana-Lucia) xxx

Thanks for visiting my blog! So pleased you asked us to watch your parade. It made my day! The mismatched socks are a huge hit here n the blog. Besos XO

I love the idea of mismatched socks and Carnival looks fun and colorful. And warm! It’s way below freezing here in New England. 🙂

We have been enjoying mild weather. It was 23 C or 73 F here yesterday. The mismatched socks are great!!

Spaghetti and meatballs stole my heart!

Their costumes are really cute, especially the spaghetti and meatballs!

The spaghetti and meatballs were my favourite!

What fun! Loves the costumes and would so enjoy seeing this in person.

You would love it. You can´t help getting right into the spirit of it all!

Looks great fun …those socks are legendary 😆
Cherryx

Attending this makes one feel like a kid again!

Everything was a treat, Darlene. Still, it was the spaghetti and meatball that really gave me a giggle.
blessings ~ maxi

I agree. They were the cutest and they were the little ones too! Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,013 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

