Darlene Foster's Blog

First School Visit in Spain

Posted on: January 12, 2016


A couple of weeks before Christmas, my Spanish publisher, Pablo Solares Acebal, arranged a school visit in Villaviciosa, a small village in the province of Asturias, in Northern Spain. This was my first school visit in Spain and it was a remarkable experience. I read from my bi-lingual book, Pig on Trial/Cerdito a juicio to the grade one and two classes. The children and teachers had limited English skills, so I read the English side of the book and Pablo read the Spanish equivalent. The children greeted me with enthusiasm and loved the story. They asked great questions and were eager to learn about my life in Canada. The book is a medieval tale set in rural Europe which the kids enjoyed as Villaviciosa is in a very rural part of Spain. The best dairy products come from Asturias. Since some of the children live on farms they were delighted to know that I grew up on a farm in Canada. One young man introduced himself and informed me he was from New York and could speak English very well.

DSCN3060 (2)

With publisher Pablo Solares Acebal of Endiciones Camelot

224882_1017529151642285_926502969072990413_n

Sharing the reading in English and Spanish

DSCN1424

I was given a tour of the elementary school, Colegio Publico Maliayo by the Head Mistress (or Principal as we would call her in Canada). The students were learning about the Olympics and had created displays of various countries that have hosted the Olympics over the years. They were proud to show me the display of the Montreal Olympics in Canada. Don´t you just love those beavers!

DSCN3050

DSCN3051

The school was laid out very similar to Canadian elementary schools. I was pleased to see there was a well stocked library. Cerdito a juicio is now in it as well.

DSCN3056

I was treated very well by the friendly staff and students at this school. The students were a delight. There was much cheering and clapping from them when I said muchos gracias and wished them Felize Navidad. They made me feel like a rock star! I am now on their website http://cpmaliayovillaviciosa.jimdo.com/

I really appreciate Pablo Solares for arranging this great opportunity.

Since we were in the area, hubby and I decided to explore. I´ll tell you about our time in Asturias in the next post.

I hope your new year has started out well!

Pictures taken by myself and Daniel Solares

33 Responses to "First School Visit in Spain"

That’s terrific news! Well done and best of luck with book. 👏👏👏

Thanks so much for sharing this with your followers!! I really appreciate it.

What a wonderful school visit about your new bi-lingual book. Will have to get a copy! Good for you!

Thanks Patricia! It was a wonderful time. On Amazon it is listed as a Spanish book but it is in both languages in the same book.

What a fabulous experience Darlene. you did a wonderful job describing the reading and I could feel the children’s excitement. Perhaps there will be more school readings in the future?

Thanks Sue. I am hoping to arrange more school readings here in Spain now that I know what to expect.

Well done, I imagine it was interesting to compare a Spanish school with the Canadian equivalent. I’m not surprised the children enjoyed your visit, it’s a great wee story about the pig, and nice to think of your book being in their library. Looking forward to your post about exploring Asturias.

It was most interesting. Thanks for your kind comments on the book. Asturias was lovely as you shall soon see. 😀

Happy New Year, Darlene.
Your experience sounds delightful, but of course, anytime there are children involved, it’s a wonderful time all around.
I look forwards to your upcoming post(s) about your exploration of Asturias. 😀 😀

Thanks Tess. It was so great to be around the children at that time too as I miss my grandchildren at Christmastime.

I know what you mean. If it wasn’t for my granddaughters, I wouldn’t even bother with a tree. Children make Christmas. ❤

Sound like an amazing visit and a lovely encounter with the kids! 🙂

It was quite amazing! Thanks for popping in.

Looks like such a fabulous visit. How fun!! Wishing you all the best with your book. What level is it? I’d love to purchase a copy for our elementary school library. Or for a Spanish class. Maybe both!!

Thanks so much. It is for ages 8 – 12 approximately. I hope your students enjoy it. Let me know.

Well done!

Thank you so much! Thanks for the retweets!!

That sounds like an awesome time! 🙂

It was fun! You would love these kids.

Darlene, this is wonderful. What a great experience for you and the kids.

And I do love those beavers. They look beautiful.

I must say I got a bit emotional when I saw the beavers. I won´t forget this experience!

Sounds like a lovely and exciting event, and you, as always, have such a bright smile, Darlene. 🙂

Thanks so much Claudine!!

What an exciting time and a very memorable experience for you, Darlene. Congratulations!
I’m tweeting about this.

It was a wonderful experience, one I won´t forget. Thanks for tweeting!

Sounds like a very successful event. I’ll have to check into your book–looks good! Any chance it will come out in hardcover or library editions?

Thanks Marcia. We have no plans to bring it out in hard cover at this time. I hope you enjoy it. I would love to hear your thoughts.

Oh Darlene, this is SO cool! Looks as though everyone had a great time. I’m so glad you had such a fun visit. 😀

I am so glad it all worked out well too. I hope to do a few more this year if possible. I miss the school visits I did in Canada.

OH wow! that is so great, Darlene!! Congrats!!

I love school visits and you are so lucky to have the support of your publisher both in arranging the visit and for being the translator.

Hope you have many more school visits!
🙂

It was a great experience and made all the better with the support of Pablo. I hope this is the first of many.

What a great way of connecting with the children. To write children’s stories must be very rewarding. I have not read any of your books, but I am intrigued by Amanda in England and will get it to read it soon😀

Thanks Gilda! It was a great way to connect with the kids. I hope you enjoy Amanda’s adventures in England. I had fun writing it.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,621 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

