Darlene Foster's Blog

Guest Author Sally Cronin

Posted on: November 25, 2015

It is my pleasure to welcome Sally Cronin as my special guest. Sally has a daily blog covering a variety of subjects close to her heart including writing, health and music, which is apply called Smorgasbord – Variety is the Spice of Life. Sally is a generous person who shares blog posts and promotes other writers. Please check out her site and say Hello. Her Christmas grotto has some wonderful gift ideas.

DSC_0869 a

Without further ado, here is the lovely and talented Sally Cronin!

Thank you Darlene for offering me the opportunity to talk about my new book and also some background on my life and those that have influenced me.

1. You have had a very interesting life Sally. Can you tell my readers a bit about yourself.

My father was in the Royal Navy and we travelled with him whenever it was possible to do so. This meant a disruptive but fascinating childhood living in Ceylon which of course is now Sri Lanka, Malta and South Africa. By the time I was fourteen I had been to seven different schools and enjoyed some amazing experiences.

After school I trained as a dental nurse but then moved through a number of industries including hospitality, retail, advertising, telecommunications and radio and television broadcasting. I have always been interested in health and nutrition so trained as a nutritional therapist nearly twenty years ago and I have worked with clients in Ireland and the UK. My own weight issues led to my first book which in turn led to forming Moyhill publishing in 2004. Since then I have not stopped writing and hope that will continue until I drop. It is one of the few jobs that you do not have an age or physical limit.

Since David and I married in 1980 we have lived in the United States, Ireland, Belgium, UK and of course currently in Spain. That has added a wonderful richness to our life and as a writer I treasure all of it.

2. Tell us about your latest book.

My latest book is Tales from the Garden. Fairy stories for all ages from five to ninety-five with the usual fairy princesses, monsters, magic and romance. As it has 80 illustrations I hope it will appeal to children and those that like to read a good bedtime story.

Tales From the Garden small- Cover

3. What inspired you to write this book?

We will be leaving our home for the last 16 years here in Spain once the house is sold. The garden is large and has several small areas that are mostly hidden from view. We inherited several large stone statues that we uncovered when cutting back hedges and bushes. Most are very heavy and there is no way that we can take them with us unfortunately and I decided to write stories around them. I now have a book that contains happy memories that I can take with me wherever I go.

From Sally´s garden

From Sally´s garden

4. You have written other books, perhaps you could tell us something about them.

My first book in 2001, Size Matters, was my story of how I became morbidly obese at over 330lbs and my journey as I studied the human body and nutrition and designed a programme to lose 150lbs. This led to a family health manual, Just Food for Health which was also the name of my diet advisory service that I opened in Ireland and then in the UK. I have always written short stories and this resulted in Flights of Fancy and other fiction including two novels, Just an Odd Job Girl and Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story. I have gone back to health in two other books including a health manual for men and an anti-aging book, Turning Back the Clock.

5. What sort of books do you read?

I love to escape into the books I am reading and tend towards thrillers, epic novels that span centuries and adventure. I also enjoy reading non-fiction; usually science and health.

6. What are some of your all time favourite books?

I love all of Wilbur Smith’s books but in particular the sagas of the Courtney family that take you through the challenges of settlers as they explored deep into Africa. Jean M. Auel has written an amazing series Earth’s Children with six stunning books set around 25,000 years ago. The series follows the life of a girl called Ayla from childhood through to motherhood and is captivating. I had my DNA tested in one of the genetic ancestry programmes when they first began and discovered that I was related to a woman whose bones were found in a cave in Southern France 20,000 years ago. This began a fascination with that era and those that inhabited the dangerous environment.

7. Who has influenced you the most in your life?

That is difficult because there are so many people and events that have impacted on the way that I feel, live and write. From my first teacher, Mrs Miller who slipped me more advanced books to read to my husband David who believes that everyone should have the freedom to be the best they can. I have had some great role models and mentors in my various careers and personal life and I am grateful for every one of them.

8. What is your idea of a successful life?

My perception of success has changed over the years. When I was younger of course, there were a few things that needed to be ticked off the list including money, status, nice house, car etc. I was quite prepared to work for them and over the years most were achieved. However, by that time I realised that in fact there were other much more important goals in life including health, great relationships, good friends and a constant access to new ideas and experiences. I feel incredibly successful and it has nothing to do with material wealth but down to simple pleasures that we can all enjoy if we choose to.

9. Anything else you would like to tell the readers.

First and foremost I am a reader and I would be devastated if I did not have access to books in any format. I am so grateful for anyone who picks up one of my books and enjoys reading the story. I hope that readers understand how vital and appreciated they are. Without them what would be the point of writing? Also avid readers are potentially the top writers of tomorrow and I encourage everyone to get their stories written on a blog, novel, short story or poetry collection. It is an excellent way to get your voice heard.

10. Where can we find your books?

I have my own bookstore which is accessed through any of the individual book sites. The latest book Tales from the Garden can be found on http://moyhill.com/tales/ and because it is my own store the Ebook is discounted by 50%.

My books are available on Amazon and the quickest route is through my author page.
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sally-Georgina-Cronin/e/B003B7O0T6
Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/author/sallycroninbooks

Thank you very much Darlene for featuring my here today… I always love an opportunity to talk about myself and my books.
Social Media Links
Blog: smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com
http://uk.linkedin.com/in/sallycronin1
https://twitter.com/sgc58
https://www.facebook.com/sally.cronin
https://www.facebook.com/sallygeorginacronin
https://plus.google.com/+SallyCronin/about

Thank you, Sally for making an appearance on my blog site. All the best for your exciting new book.

90 Responses to "Guest Author Sally Cronin"

Sally is fascinating. I especially enjoyed reading about her ideas of a successful life. I think we all go through those stages, begin to detach and focus on what really is meaningful — and we don’t receive a paycheck for it.

I agree, her ideas of a successful life are right on.

Thanks Patricia and Darlene for the kind words.

Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
Thanks to Darlene for helping us learn more about the lovely and generous Sally 👍😃

Thanks Chris for sharing.. I was going to say my life is an open book but it is more like a digital one these days. hugs

It was really fun to read more about you Sally! Do you know where you’re going to live next? I hope your relocation goes smoothly and it’s not as traumatic as whenever we move! Every time it happens we swear we’ll never do it again! Best wishes

Thanks Deanie..we are heading back to Ireland which is my husband’s home…specifically to Waterford area, near the sea and handy for the ferry back to the UK to see my family. It also has a smidgen more sunshine than other parts of Ireland!!

Thanks for visiting my blog Deanie. I find moving traumatic too!

Sally is always so happy to feature and promote others. that it so nice for her to have the chance to talk about her brilliant new book. She is one amazing lady, 🙂

Reblogged this on newauthoronline and commented:
A fascinating interview with the ever kind and helpful Sally Cronin. Kevin

Reblogged this on Barrow Blogs: and commented:
Lovely interview, thank you ladies. And, since I’m under ninety five, have, have bought the book. Looking forward to the read,Sally.Jx

Thanks Judith…perhaps I should have amended to 105… I might have cut myself off from a big slice of the market…XXS

Thanks for reblogging this Judith!

Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
There is something very special about being interviewed by another writer and my thanks to Darlene Foster for featuring me. Very grateful for the kindness.

It was wonderful to have you as a guest on my blog. Thanks for reblogging and responding to the comments.

Lovely to meet all you friends too Darlene and thank you again for inviting me. hugs

Another Wilbur Smith fan! We have a lot in common having lived in South Africa and Spain. Sad to hear you are leaving here it’s a great country to live in.

Spain has been a wonderful experience but being in Ireland puts us closer to both our families there and in the UK. I think we will be back for some of the winter months!! hugs

Thanks for commenting on my blog!

Wonderful interview. Although I’ve followed Sally’s blog for a wee while and enjoy her Memories are made of This series it’s lovely to read more about her – she is a truly generous and supportive blogger and, dare I say, friend.

Thank you Mary and youi better be saying friend….relationships are just as real online as they are in person…often all that is missing is the face to face cup of coffee or glass of wine.. hugs

Yes, Mary, Sally is a good friend to all of us. I also love her Memories are made of this series.

What a wonderful outlook for a successful life. Thank you for the introduction Darlene!

Thanks Sue and for dropping by.. good to meet you.

I´m pleased you enjoyed reading about Sally.

Thank you, Darlene, for introducing us to a fellow writer. I enjoyed this interview and learning more about Sally!

Sally is amazing and I love to introduce my readers to other writers.

I have only recently “met” Sally online but have already been impressed with her friendliness, kindness, and generosity.

You picked the PERFECT person to interview. Sally is a gem.

Thank you Noelle.. very happy to be a lapis or opal.. my favourites. hugs.

I was very happy to interview Sally. Love her answers!

Reblogged this on The Life & Times of Zoe the Fabulous Feline and commented:
Loved this interview, thanks, Darlene…Sally, you have led an amazing life. Thanks for sharing a small slice of your pie with us!

Thanks Zoe and as I only have one life unlike yourself with nine… I am trying to pack in as much as possible.. hugs.

Thanks for reblogging. WE need to get the word out about Sally!

Thank you sharing more about the incredibly talented and special Sally G Cronin! She is a wonderful person and I consider her a dear friend!

Thank you Janice.. and the feeling is reciprocated delightedly.. hugs

Thanks for visiting my blog about your dear friend!

Lovely interview, Darlene. Sally is a sweetheart in addition to a wonderful writer. I enjoyed learning a few things I didn’t know 🙂 Happy holidays and hugs.

Thank you Diana and I will have to start inventing things soon.. Happy holidays to you too.. hugs

Thanks, glad you enjoyed the interview. Visit any time!

What a wonderful looking garden, and an inspiring life story.

Thank you and yes I will miss this garden but looking forward to the next.. I need one for the next in the series.

I love Sally´s garden. Thought you would enjoy this interview!

Reblogged this on Barb Caffrey's Blog and commented:
Sally Cronin is a wonderful person with a generous spirit — and she’s also a highly entertaining author with a new book out. Check out this interview she did at Darlene Foster’s blog, and get to know more about her — and her new book, TALES FROM THE GARDEN!

Thank you very much for sharing Barb and really appreciate the help with the launch.. hugs

You’re welcome. I’m glad to help get the word out.

Thank you so much, Darlene, for interviewing Sally. I made sure to reblog this — I had intended to do something to let my readers know that Sally’s newest book is out, and I saw your interview and figured, “That’s it!”

Sally, it’s always great to read more about you. As I said, you’re a generous and giving person and you’re also a highly entertaining author (in the best possible sense)…what more could anyone ask for?

Thanks for reblogging Barb. A great way to spread the word about Sally and her wonderful book.

You’re most welcome. I told Sally earlier this week I’d be glad to let people know about her new book, so I’m especially glad you wrote this. 😀

Thanks again Barb for the kind words too.. I love that you enjoy my writing that is just what we all want to hear.. hugs

*hugs* back. I think it’s wonderful. I can’t wait to get TALES FROM THE GARDEN myself (next payday, here it comes!)

Great interview! I love the idea behind Tales from the Garden and have just downloaded a copy.

Thanks and enjoy the book.

Thank you Annabelle and hope you enjoy as much as I enjoyed writing.. I guess we never lose that inner child.. hugs

Reblogged this on jemsbooks and commented:
Sally G. Cronin is one amazing and beautiful lady! I am honored to call her a dear friend! She is the essence of all that is good in this world! Love you, Sally!
Check out this fascinating interview on Darlene Foster’s Blog and please check out her incredible books!

Thanks for reblogging.

Thanks for featuring Sally. I love her and now I am following you.

Thanks for following me. Seems like we all love Sally!

Thanks Linda.. I am really a wicked witch living in a cave with bats and frogs and do my shopping on a broomstick!! love you too.

Oh a witch! Even better. I am loving your book. Will review and do post as soon as I finish. Look forward to having you do guest post for me or anything I can to help you promote your book!

Thank you Linda and so pleased you are enjoying.. I will be working on your guest post in the next couple of days as they are all individual for each person. love and hugs Sally

I thoroughly enjoyed this interview with Sally, and definitely want to look at her books….I particularly like the concept of writing stories about the stone sculptures found in the garden…..Thank you so much…Janet.

Thanks for visiting Janet. We can all visit Sally´s garden through her book.

Thank you Janet and I really had so much fun writing the stories.

You are most welcome…I look forward to reading your books. Janet:)

Thank you Janet and I am about to put up a special offering to create stories around one or two other people’s gardens and statues personalised for them to keep.

What a beautiful idea….one of these days I will post pictures of the cottage garden I nurtured in Wales. Thank you so much Janet:)

Look forward to it Janet.. I loved my hydrangeas in my cottage and those that grew wild on the hills in Wales.

An illuminating interview with a fascinating personality. I cannot recall how we crossed paths, Sally, but you’re inspiring. Love the cover of this latest book and think this book is a genius idea. You get to take it with you in a way. 🙂 😀 ❤ And share with your readers, too.

Thanks Tess.. as always you know exactly what to say to make me feel good. If it were not for you and others who have been so supportive of the blog over the last two years I might not have stuck to it. So you are the inspiring one. love and hugs.

You are most kind and thoughtful as always, Sally, but we can agree it’s a two-way street. I thank you too. ❤ ❤ ❤

I was trying to remember how I met Sally and I do believe it was through you. So thank you so much Tess. The book is a very clever idea!

I love how the years and memories of time spent in this house is now ‘portable’.
Through me? I don’t recall but it was a good thing, right? ❤ ❤

A very good thing!! ❤

Wonderful see Sally highlighted as the feature. She’s always so busy featuring others. 🙂

Thanks Debby and I have a great deal of fun in the process.. I get to meet people like you from all over the world.. XX

Fascinating business this is! 🙂

Yes, it was her turn to be featured! Thanks for visiting my blog. 😀

Nice to meet you Sally Cronin! Sounds like you’ve met many accomplishments in your life. Writing a book certainly is difficult. The statues are lovely, someone else will get to enjoy them. 🙂

Thank you and yes I am sure that they will continue to guard the garden and be loved by generations to come. I am taking away some of the smaller ones to populate our new garden in Ireland and hope to find an old tree with a leprechaun kingdom beneath it.

People like Sally are so inspiring aren´t they. Pleased you enjoyed the post!

I very much enjoyed reading about Sally and her new book. Thank you for the introduction Darlene. Thank you also for the kind wishes left on my blog. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas. I will look forward to catching up with again in 2016.

I knew you would enjoy reading about Sally. Enjoy your holidays!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,936 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

