Darlene Foster's Blog

Guest post: Photographs for Inspiration

Posted on: November 6, 2015

I am featured today on the wonderful blogsite Mother Daughter Book Reviews where I discuss how my photographs inspire my writing.

How Photographs Can Inspire Ideas

by Darlene Foster

As a writer of children’s books, I am often asked where I get ideas for my stories. I’m inspired by my travels for the most part and eager to share what I have seen and learned with my young readers. I start with a place, somewhere interesting, and include an adventure or a mystery for my main character, Amanda, to solve. Although I have the main idea, I often get stuck while putting the story together.

Read more of the article here

AmandaBooks

15 Responses to "Guest post: Photographs for Inspiration"

I’ve never really looked at photographs in that way, how interesting.

Not only are they are wonderful memory but I tend to use them for story ideas!

Thanks for sharing. You should have lots of books-to-be-written stirring in your brain after your vacation. 🙂

More than you can imagine. Never enough time to write them all!!

Darlene I so enjoyed seeing the photos next to your books! Travel provides inspiration in so many ways!

I can´t imagine a life without travel.

I like all the pictures you chose (especially the goat) and can well imagine how Gaudi inspired you.

Gaudi inspires everyone! Glad you liked the pictures I chose.

Great article about how you come up with story ideas during your travels. Your picture are also great reminders and always tell a story.

I seem to view everything with the potential for a story. I would forget many of my ideas if I didn´t take pictures to view later.

I believe that for a true artist or a writer, inspiration can come from just about anywhere! 🙂

Thanks Fatima! My husband is often amused at the odd things I take pictures of.

You should see what my husband’s photography students take pictures of: walls, tiles, wires, etc, etc. DH himself is fascinated with flotsam and jetsam, the messier the better!

It sounds like a good article! I’ll check it out! 🙂

Thanks.It may give you some ideas.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,013 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

