Darlene Foster's Blog

A Vacation From Retirement

Posted on: November 3, 2015

I´ve been away! Yes, I took a vacation from retirement. Hubby and I went on a Mediterranean cruise and saw some amazing sights. We started with a day in Barcelona seeing the sites with good friends from Canada who happened to be there on a holiday. From there we boarded the fabulous ship, Fantasia. Our ports of call were, Marseilles in France (with a side trip to Aix-en-Provence), Genoa, Naples (with a side trip to Pompei) and Messina in Italy, and Valletta in Malta. A quick night time stop in Palma de Mallorca and back to Barcelona. Except for Barcelona, I had never been to any of these places before. It was incredible! I will write more about the individual stops, but for now here is a taste of what we saw.

Park Guell in Barcelona

Park Guell, Barcelona

Barcelona

Park Guell, Barcelona

Aix-en-provence, France

Aix-en-provence, France

Aix-en-provence, France

Aix-en-provence, France

 

Genoa, Italy

Genoa, Italy

Genoa, Italy

Genoa, Italy

 

Pompei, Italy

Pompei, Italy

Pompei, Italy

Pompei, Italy

 

Messina, Italy

Messina, Italy

Messina, Italy

Messina, Italy

 

Malta

Malta

Malta

Malta

 

Palma de Mallorca

Palma de Mallorca

 

Dinner on Fantasia

Dinner on Fantasia

We moved to Spain to be able to see more of Europe and so we did. It was another dream come true!!

 

44 Responses to "A Vacation From Retirement"

Ohhhh what spectacular pictures!! You looked like you had a fabulous time making memories 😀

It was a trip to remember! Glad you like the pictures.

Isn’t Europe marvellous? Lucky you. Looks like you are having a wonderful time.

We had so much fun exploring new places, Places we had only read about before!

Your pictures give me the traveling bug!

There is so much to see in this world of ours! I collected tons of writing ideas too.

Beautiful–looks like you had a wonderful time!

It was beautiful and so much history!!

I love that — taking a vacation from retirement! I’m so happy you had such a wonderful time. And, your pictures are breathtaking. Puts mine to shame. Would love to take the cruise you took!

You would love this cruise. We have been on quite a few cruises and enjoyed them all. It is a great way to see new places and sights.

I would. And, only have to unpack once on your floating hotel. I posted a couple of photos on my FB last night. Never got a picture of the ship because it was always docked and too large for my camera.

I saw your pictures. They looked great. It´s hard to get a picture of the boat.

I’ve never been to Spain, but your post revived many lovely memories of our trip to Italy beginning in Rome and touching the high points of Florence, Venice, Tuscany, Pompeii, and finally the lush Amalfi Coast, ending up in Positano. What a travelogue you have here, Darlene!

This was my first time in Italy and I can see why you loved it so much. We will be back!

well you 2 look like you had a marvelous time! So glad we were able to have a day with you at the park. We continued to explore and made it to Dali’s pad and went on to Mon Serat as well as walking our selves to a standstill. Glad to be home with the critters and have hit the boards running. So take care and keep in touch and I will send some of the photos!

We really enjoyed the day with you folks. So pleased the rest of the holiday went well for you. Let us know when you will be in Europe next. XO

I enjoyed your posts on Facebook during the trip Darlene. I too would think that being located in Europe would provide so many travel opportunities. A vacation from retirement. Ahhh bliss!

I still have to pinch myself to be sure I´m not dreaming. After working for over 40 years, this is bliss!!

That’s wonderful Darlene! So happy for you. 🙂

Some amazing sights! You two look great, you must have needed a break from retirement. 🙂

Thanks Patti. We feel like we are on vacation everyday!!

What an incredible selection of places to visit. I’m looking forward to more details and information about the ship (in that last picture it looks fabulous).

We chose this cruise because of the ports of call. All places we wanted to see. The ship was gorgeous and I will do a blog about it soon.

You visit the most gorgeous places, Darlene. You guys look great and lol, taking a vacation from retirement~!

We love places that are full of history and culture. We also tend to seek out the uniqueness of the places we visit. Glad you enjoyed it.

That really looks like a wonderful trip and I look forward to reading all about it in more detail. Beautiful pictures and how lovely to see you still wearing t- shirts this time if year!!! 🙂

It was so wonderful. We had one rainy day but the sun came out later on. It was always quite mild and actually hot in Malta. We are still in T-shirts in Spain. Love this weather.

Darlene, I just thought: “Oh, a friend told me a story about a city called Messina!” 😀 It was you! Haha! How lovely to get to know of your stories even without knowing you. Thanks for the images.
Paige

LOL! It was in Messina I couldn´t find the church I was standing in front of. Blogging friends count.

I was waiting for this. What a fabulous trip this must have been.Seeing your pics was a trip down memory lane, the only place I haven’t been to is Malta.

It was so wonderful. Just what we needed. Thanks for stopping by my blog!!

That looks like some holiday . The world is to be seen …enjoy .
Cherryx

Living in Spain puts us so much closer to places we have always dreamed of visiting!

It looks like the perfect trip Darlene. I will look forward to seeing more of your pictures. I like the idea of taking a holiday from retirement – I must try that.

It was a very good time away. You must try a holiday fro retirement one day!!

You are the second couple I know to have taken a cruise in this area. From your photos, I can see that you had a wonderful time…that’s great!

It was absolutely wonderful!

Really some amazing cities you stopped by. Park Guell in Barcelona is a favourite of mine, we have been there several times:)

It was my first time to park Gruell and all the stops. I love first!!

I’d love to visit Europe some time!

I really hope you have an opportunity to do so as you would just love it! Glad you are enjoying Europe through my pictures for now.

Darlene, this sounds like the perfect cruise of the Med, and you certainly hit all the highlights. Living in Europe makes this sort of trip so much more affordable. How did you like Malta? We spent a month there a few years ago, which provided lots of opportunities for exploring the area thoroughly. Pompei is also one of my favs in the Med. ~James

Paul and I both really liked Malta and want to go back. We only had a morning to wander around Valletta and I had to go into the church of St. John which could not be viewed quickly. One of the reasons we relocated to Spain is the close proximity to places like this.

[…] believe it has been a year since we went on our wonderful Mediterranean cruise. I wrote about it here, here, here and here. I realize I had not written a post on our favourite stop, the historic […]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,313 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

