Darlene Foster's Blog

Following my Dream, guest post

Posted on: August 21, 2015

Today I have the pleasure of being a guest on Jan Moore´s blog, Work on Your Own Terms, where I talk about my decision to move to Spain.

Following the Dream, by Darlene Foster

I met Darlene on Gabriola Island when she was visiting her daughter, just before she and her husband moved from Canada to Spain. I’ll let Darlene tell you about her new lifestyle in her own words. Her travels inspire the children’s books she writes. See how happy they look in Spain. She just might convince you to follow your own dreams.

DSCN0134

“I’ve got to follow that dream wherever that dream may lead.” Elvis Presley

“Why Spain?” was the question asked of me often when I made the decision to move to another country. “Why not?” was often my answer.

I could have said, because of the warm, sunny weather, the fabulous Mediterranean food, the medieval markets, the rich history, the castles, the fiestas, the warm and friendly locals, the laid back life style etc. The truth is, I wasn´t really sure. I just knew I wanted to try living in another country, preferably a warm country.

Click here to read the rest of the article:   http://workonyourownterms.com/followingthedream/

FIferrydock

16 Responses to "Following my Dream, guest post"

I took a huge leap 48 years ago when I married my one true love – he “fancy” and me a plain Mennonite. We have taken many leaps since then, but one we have not take is to scale back to a slower pace. I admire that one of the reasons for your decision to move to Spain was to feed your creativity while moving to a slower drum beat.

You are both wise and brave.

Thanks for the wise and brave compliment. I am not always so sure about that. The slower pace is refreshing, I must admit.

Darlene your move has definitely inspired me. As much as I love travel I’m not sure I could be open to a permanent move. I applaud your open minded spirit!

Thanks Sue. My dad always said, “nothing ventured, nothing gained”. So I thought I would give it a try. Many of my friends have bought property in Mexico or the southern states to live 6 months of the year. My brother has a place in Thailand and in Edmonton. You never know!

I enjoyed that post, thank you. It’s interesting to see how setting goals all those years ago helped you to focus on what you wanted down the line. The way you describe the pace of life in Spain sounds wonderfully refreshing, like a permanent holiday. I’m sure it can be challenging at times when things happen slowly but, as you say, the key is probably getting into the right mindset and going with the flow. It certainly seems to have been a very positive move for you. Your bravery in following your dreams has paid off. 🙂

It does feel like a permanent holiday and after working for so many years, it is nice.

What a leap you took Darlene and by the smiles on your faces it’s paid off .😃
I followed my dream and I am living it . I always wanted to live by the sea. My husband said it couldn’t be done , for some unknown reason , but I proved him wrong . He always says I am away with the fairies …I actually quite like the company of fairies 😃 especially whilst walking on the beach .
Cherryx

It can be done and you and I have proved it!! Fairies can be good company and walking on the beach is good for the soul.

I think we Americans have their priorities backwards. I would love to live in a country where the pace was slower and life full of meaning. Beautiful post!

I do believe many North Americans are so busy making a living, they have no time to live. I was as guilty as anyone on that point. It is refreshing to live in a slower pace and savour the moments. It helps to be retired of course.

And there you are living your life to the fullest. Keep it up, Darlene! 🙂

Hello Darlene, it must be difficult to slow down, and I’m sure there are things you miss, but you really are living the dream. Barbara x

Yes, I am, and appreciate it more each day. Thanks Barbara.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,039 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

