Darlene Foster's Blog

Day 3 of the Five Day Challenge

Posted on: June 16, 2015

Here is my picture for Day 3 of the 5 day challenge.

The Five Day Challenge is: Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.

scan0002

 Darlene in the Desert

This is a picture of me in the desert of the United Arab Emirates. I visited a friend, a few years ago, who was working there at the time. I had such an amazing experience. When I returned home, I knew I had to write about it.  Six months later, I started a story about a twelve year old girl who travels to the UAE and has an adventure. This story eventually became Amanda in Arabia – The Perfume Flask, my first published novel. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. In my case it turned out to be fifteen thousand words. Like me, Amanda has done more travelling since.

Now I would like to nominate Fatima Saysell at Welcome to My World  to do the 5 day challenge. Fatima was born and raised in Spain, lives in England and travels to France for holidays whenever she can. Hop on over to her blog where she shares great pictures and writes about her wonderful camping trips to France.

I am having fun with this challenge, hope you are enjoying the short daily posts.

24 Responses to "Day 3 of the Five Day Challenge"

I love this, Darlene! It’s a great picture of you, and my gosh, look at the background that’s showing you off! I think it’s fascinating – and inspiring – how this picture helped you take off with your first book.

I refer back to my pictures whenever I am writing an Amanda travel adventure. I find them a great inspiration. The Arabian desert was incredible and I will never forget it. I also saw the sunset in the desert!

I love how you transform your walking upon the earth into a book upon the shelf. Super!

I love how you worded this comment! Thanks Marian.

And Amanda continues her travels around the world. When is she coming to New Zealand?

It is on the list. The big move has drained our travel resources for now but eventually we will start traveling again.

This is a fun challenge. I like Judith’s question!

And I like that your photos were worth 15,000 words!

Thanks Patti. It is a fun challenge and you did a great job of it!

What a lovely story Darlene and photo you look as free as a bird . Thank you for introducing me to another fellow blogger …I’ll just skip over to her…I will never get anything done this morning lol
Cherryx

I´m glad you are meeting some of my blogger friends!

That’s a great choice of picture, with the connection to the first Amanda novel. I’m enjoying this challenge too, thanks for introducing me to it. 🙂

Glad you liked my choice. I have so many pictures and ideas it´s hard to decide. 😀

I can imagine. I think we should do this challenge again some time, just for fun.

Wonderful photo! Even more impressive to think that it inspired you to write a children’s novel. Good on you!
I’ll have to look through my hundreds of photos and decide which would tell a good story. 😉

You will do a great job of this! Have fun.

Just chosen my first picture. Had to go into archive external drive!

You look m.a.r.v.e.l.o.u.s. Thanks for the backstory. Amazing! Nice tan too. 😀

Thanks for the kind words!

I love the picture of you in the desert. I love how your travels turn into books about Amanda. Must admit, you got me around line 14 and the word visit.

I am pleased I have been able to use my travels as background for my books. I get to relive those holidays over and over through Amanda.

That’s a great background! 😀

I just love the desert!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,017 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

