Darlene Foster's Blog

A Winner and a 5 Day Challenge

Posted on: June 14, 2015

We have a winner of my bi-lingual book Pig on Trial/Cerdito a juicio. Congratulations Tess from How the Cookie Crumbles   Tess is a great supporter of other authors and does some amazing writing herself. You should see what she can do with only 100 words! Check out her blog site, you will not be disappointed. Tess, your book will be in the mail soon.

I have been nominated for a 5 day challenge by a blogging friend, Judith from I choose how I will spend the rest of my life.  Check out Judith´s blog to learn about her interesting life down under where she is growing younger each day. Thank´s Judith for the nomination

The Five Day Challenge is: Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.

Here is my first photo.

EPSON scanner image

My best year in school was grade three. That was the year I had Miss Roll as my teacher. She was wonderful and made a huge difference in my life. She made learning fun. I wrote about her before here:  https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/a-special-teacher/

At the end of the year she took a picture of the class. Behind us is the mural we painted as a group on a huge piece of brown paper. One lucky classmate got to hold the class pet, a budgie named Chico, in his cage . (Chico is Spanish for boy; we learned about Mexico that year.) As young women, we were taught to stand tall with ankles together and hands clasped in front of us for pictures. I took picture taking seriously and did what I was told.

If you are wondering which one I am, take note of the pedal pushers and matching sweater. I still dress like that. Some things never change!

I would like to nominate Marian from Plain and Fancy You will love her blog. Among other things, she shares awesome pictures and stories of growing up in a Mennonite family from Pennsylvania.

Have fun with this Marian!

 

28 Responses to "A Winner and a 5 Day Challenge"

Congratulations to Tess, and what a wonderful photo. I like the sound of that challenge, I wonder if I would be up to it. I’m going to check it out.

I´ll nominate you tomorrow. It would be perfect for you!

Thank you very much. I might not be able to do it five days in a row but perhaps I could bend the rules a tad.

I´m sure you can bend the rules a bit.

Congratulations Tess. I could pick you out immediately. You were cute. I remember loving third grade and my teacher Mrs. Peterson. Those were good years. But, I can tell I must have been a decade older than you because we had to wear dresses and skirts to school. No pants, let alone pedal pushers. As a senior we could wear skorts at the end of the school year 🙂

The high school girls had to wear dresses but it was Ok to wear pants and pedal pushers in elementary school. By the time I got to high school the rules had changed so I was never made to wear a dress to school. Thank heaven for good grade three teachers!

Congratulations to the winner. Well done, Tess! 🙂

Thanks so much, Darlene. I feel so lucky to get picked. I hardly ever win anything. As well, thanks for your generous shout out. Watch me blush. You are my favorite person today. 😀 ❤
Love the class picture. That mural looks fabulous for third graders. What ever happened to it afterwards. ❤ ❤

Glad you liked the picture. I believe the teacher took it home with her. It was her first year of teaching. Not sure if she would still have it. She sent me this picture though many years later. In my earlier post, I explain how I tracked her down and thanked her.

I believe I read that post but am not sure. How about a link? ~{~_*}~~

BTW, Dora the Explorer was a favorite in our house, well watched and the kids learned Spanish words. 😀

I missed the Dora the Explorer phase. So great the kids learned Spanish words from the show. ❤

The cartoons were really popular when both my granddaughters were little. 🙂

Congratulations to the winner! I need to hop across to read what she has written.

Shakti

[…] reading a post by fellow blogger, Darlene, about a 5 Day photo challenge, I felt inspired to have a shot at […]

I remember the pants being called pedal pushers–and I got so I didn’t like that length at all. Now I have several pairs of “capris.” I love that picture of you.

My wardrobe is filled with capris now. Everything old is new again.

Lovely photo Darlene, you were such a cute kid!

Congrats to Tess ..well deserved I’m sure . Spotted you in an instant , you ve hardly changed a bit he he he ! Love Marian blog and now you’ve given me a few more to get my teeth into . Love my own but haven’t a clue where to start .
Cherryx

Thanks Chel! Glad you liked Marian´s blog too.

Great memories there Darlene. Enjoy the challenge. Going over to Marian’s blog to see what she is about.

It seems so long ago and yet, just yesterday. Good memories for sure. Thanks again for choosing me for the challenge.

Cool! But, just one question – What are pedal pushers? 🙂

Ha! Ha! Ask your mom, or grandmother. (Pedal pushers are pants that went just past your knees so they wouldn´t get caught in your bicycle spokes. The modern version are called capris) Glad you thought this old picture was cool!

Ahh! Now I understand! (and a great idea behind them! 😀 )

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,621 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

