Darlene Foster's Blog

Pig on Trial

Posted on: May 31, 2015

These past six months have been quite crazy. Moving to another country is not for the faint of heart. There is so much to learn. Since travelling around for the first month, we have lived in three different places. It feels good to be in a more permanent place now. It goes without saying that my writing has taken a back seat. I´ve been working on the fifth book in the Amanda series, but it has been slow going.

However, I was fortunate to be introduced to Pablo Solares Acebal, from Ediciones Camelot, by Mary Barr, a fellow writer from Canada.  Pablo agreed to translate and publish my story, Pig on Trial, as a bi-lingual book called Cerdito a juicio. I am very pleased with the final result.

IMG_0037

The book is written in English on one page and Spanish on the opposite page.

DSCN1424

The Blurb:

What is Sebastian to do? The family pig, Frederick, is on trial and Sebastian can’t seem to do anything to save him from this injustice. He is, after all, only a child. Children and adults can read this exciting medieval tale in both English and Spanish. A great way for individuals to learn English or Spanish by reading the story in both languages, at the same time.

Don´t you just love the cover!

Portada

It is now available on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Cerdito-juicio-Spanish-Edition-Darlene/dp/8494369008

Please check it out.

I´m currently offering a give-away to one of my blog readers. All you need to do is make a comment and on June 12 I will pick one commenter of this blog post to receive a free copy of Cerdito a juicio.

So I haven´t been totally idle, lazing away in the sun as you thought. (well maybe a little)

 

71 Responses to "Pig on Trial"

A wonderful concept Darlene. Congratulations!

Thanks Chris! Hope all is well with you folks.

All goes well here. Busy days and soon leaving for the UK. I’m inspired by your relocation adventure to Spain and wish you nothing but happiness. Such good news re your dual language publication. Best Always. Chris

Just think how you’ll set steam to your keyboard once everything is done!
Love the cover a.n.d. how fantastic about the translation. A marvelous idea. ❤ 😀

I am so hoping I´ll be able to get much more writing done. I got more writing in when I was working full time!

That saying holds true, “If you want to get something done, give it to a busy person.”
I accomplished a lot more when I worked full time too. Since I retired, I’m still busy but don’t accomplish as much.
When the dust settles, you’ll get there again. ❤ ❤ ❤

Thanks for those words of encouragement Tess. ❤

Darlene I think it is amazing that in the midst of an international move you manage to publish a bilingual book! Congrats to you!

That was sheer luck. I had written the story a couple of years ago and had been looking for a publisher. Thanks!

No proverbial grass grows under your feet, Darlene. I love the pig book cover and the bilingual version. Why kids could learn a second language using this book.

I heartily agree with Sue above. Fantastic!

I am hoping that this book will help kids learn another language. Glad you like the cover!

Moving to another country is alway challenging, good on you!!

Thanks for visiting my blog!

I don’t know how you managed to achieve that on top of everything else but it looks great and I think it’s a brilliant idea having the two languages on facing pages. Congratulations!

So pleased you like the idea. I was very lucky to have this fall into place. Thanks!

I do love the cover Darlene, that little pink pig is just gorgeous.

So pleased you like the cover. I love that little pig too and think the kids will as well. Thanks!

How wonderful! And just think: if you take Spanish lessons, in a couple of years’ time you’ll be able to do the translations yourself!!! I hope to be around to give you a hand by then. Best of luck with your new endeavour 🙂

I´m not sure if I will ever be that good in Spanish to do my own translations but maybe with your help, you never know! Thanks for the good wishes.

This is great news, Darlene. You move to another country and the magic just goes on.
blessings ~ maxi

Awe, thanks Maxi! You are so encouraging.

Reblogged this on Pablo Solares Acebal and commented:
Congratulations Darlene! My pleasure. 🙂

Thanks for doing such an awesome job of translating and publishing my book Pablo! Thanks also for the reblog.

Wow. What a great idea. Have there been books published like this before? You know, English on one side and another language on the other page?

The wheels are turning in my mind. I’ve wanted to publish a children’s picture book for some time–I have several written–but haven’t got to them yet. I would love to do an English and Spanish book.

Oh, and that’s a neat idea: a pig gets arrested. And I would have to agree with the others: you moved to the other side of the world (almost) and still manage to write and publish a book. Yeah!

I’ll share, so others can read about this wonderful story and neat idea.

Thank you so much for reblogging. I´m sure there are more books that are bi-lingual but I haven´t seen many. I´m sure you could do this too Diane. Animals did get arrested and put on trial in medieval times. When I read about it I thought, kids would enjoy reading a story about that. Like you, I am always thinking about what would make a good story. I wrote the story a couple of years ago, just hadn´t got it published yet. This worked out well.

Animals actually go arrested in medieval times? Wow. The courts must not have been busy enough arresting peasants for being poor. Now I have to research this further.

Reblogged this on Diane Tibert and commented:
Darlene Foster has just released a book, one that is very different that what we’re used to seeing. Check it out on her blog and leave a comment for a chance to win a copy.

I absolutely love it! What a great concept and what a perfect cover illustration. Thanks for sharing your fabulous work once again. I know that you are such skilled author and so many will love this book!

Thanks so much Beth Ann for taking time out of your busy busy schedule and commenting with those kind words.

Congratulations on the release, Darlene. That’s a very adorable cover! Poor Frederick and Sebastian though …

So pleased you like the cover Claudine.

It is good to know that just because writing might have to take a backseat to life, it will finally make its way to the top again. Congratulations on your new release! It just goes to show you can’t keep a good writer down!!…Jane

I guess no matter what I´m doing, writing is always there. Thanks for visiting my blog Jane.

I love books in two languages – so good for learners 🙂

It is a good idea. I´m pleased it worked out this way.

Congratulations, Darlene! This is a marvellous idea for your pig book. I’ve seen colouring books in two languages but few picture books – at least in bookstores around here – that I’ve noticed. Perhaps they’re more likely to be in English and French.
I wish you success with this feat. 😊

Thanks Lynn for the good wishes. ❤

What a fabulous thing for young readers to have exposure to two languages!

Congratulations and I love the cover!

Thanks for visiting Liz and for the kind words.

Even though you say you aren’t writing much you are busy with books and I admire you, Darlene! 🙂 This book sounds darling and I can’t wait to read it. What a great collaboration you have going there.

Spanish is so important these days especially now. So your book will be a valuable addition to any library. 🙂

I wrote the story a couple of years ago, I just needed to polish it and find a publisher. I didn´t plan to have it translated initially but It all worked out so well. Spanish is a language used in many parts of the world including the USA so I do hope it will be a helpful book as well as entertaining. Thanks for your kind words Clare.

That is one hell of a piggy picture. What a great idea Spanish on one page and English on the other . I hope you do really well with it .
In the last eight months we moved to another country…but that was only from Britain to Wales ,and believe me it’s been tough for us , for you it must have been a nightmare. Hopefully , like us now you have settled , it more like the dream you had in mind .
Keep on dreaming up new books never give up writing.
Cherryxxxx

Any move is tough. It is amazing how we rely on things familiar and when they are not there, well it is hard. We are starting to feel more settled but a few more hoops to go through. So pleased you like the cover and the idea. ❤

Congratulations on the new book, great concept & the cover is very cute. You have accomplished a lot in a short time, at one point planning it all with a cast on your leg. I was impressed from the first day I met you at BCATW.
Wishing you well and if you choose us we will read your story to our first grand baby boy due October 25th. xo Kathryn

A first grandbaby, How exciting! You will love being grandparents and what cool grandparents he will get. Thanks for the congrats. You have both always been so encouraging. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. ❤ ❤ ❤

This sounds awesome! I would like to win! 😀

Thanks and Good Luck! 😀

Wow, I didn’t know you published a picture book?? Or is it an early reader? How wonderful to find someone to translate it into Spanish. Now you’re international. Bi-lingual books are very important now in the U.S. I am happy you took the plunge. The books looks adorable. You are just full of good news lately.

Thanks Patricia. It isn´t a picture book but more an early reader. It works well for an English (or Spanish) as a Second Language book. The subject matter would appeal to many ages and both genders. I´m so pleased you like the idea and the cover. One day I will try my hand at a picture book.

Congrats, Darlene! This looks fabulous!!!

Thanks so much! It means a lot that you like it. All the best. ❤

Congratulations, Darlene! I’m thrilled for you. It must be a double thrill to have it translated in Spanish. 🙂 So cool! And yes, the cover is most excellent!

So pleased you like the cover Laura! It is cool to have a book in Spanish as well as English. Thanks for visiting!! ❤

You deserve to laze in the sun! Are those tiles, or paintings of sunflowers behind you in the first photo? So colorful and happy.

Thanks Patti. They are painted tiles and came with the place! I do love them.

They’re so pretty.

It sure is hard when real life gets in the way of our writing. Good on you!

Darn that real life! Thanks for stopping by.

No, you certainly haven’t been idly soaking up sunshine, Darlene. Way to go! Congratulations.

What a beautiful looking book Darlene. Congrats with this. I wish your book had been available two years ago when I travelled to South America. I so love learning new languages. Your new place looks lovely.

We are happy in our new place. I hope my book will help all ages learn a new language. It is a fun little story from the middle ages (when they did put animals on trial!)

I like the 2 languages side by side idea. Good luck with the writing, making a new life here in Europe and I love the garden pics of St. Francis of Assissi.

Thanks for stopping by my blog Dave and for the good wishes.

You’re welcome. I enjoyed my stop and will repeat again as often as I can.

How clever you are Darlene and how clever to find another author willing to help with the translation and the cover. Best wishes for your new life. 🙂

Thanks Judith. Not sure if I was clever or just plain lucky!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,132 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

