Darlene Foster's Blog

Carnival Time

Posted on: March 3, 2015

DSCN1021Carnival is celebrated in many parts of the world and is very popular here in Spain. We didn´t take in any large Carnival celebrations but attended  a small one in our local outdoor mall called La Zenia Boulevard. Once again the local people went all out with the costumes. Here are a few pictures to share with you.

Getting ready for the parade

Getting ready for the parade

DSCN1019

DSCN1032

DSCN1035

DSCN1040 (2)

DSCN1026

Children are always a part of every parade

 

After the parade we were entertained by a lively stage performance.

DSCN1067

 

DSCN1075

DSCN1077

Have you been to any Carnival parades?

35 Responses to "Carnival Time"

No carnival parades unfortunately. But you are certainly settling into your new life. 🙂

Trying to take in all the local festivities we can!

Life is celebrated more there than in North American cultures.
You’re having too good of a time and I am so j.e.a.l.o.u.s. 😀 😀
Thanks for sharing. The pictures are awesome.

The Spanish do like to celebrate. Very positive people. Glad you enjoyed the pictures.

I DID, I did! Thank you. ❤

What an interesting new life for you. Two recent carnivals — I love the photos. You must really be having fun exploring.

We are enjoying the culture and having fun exploring.

Those are incredible costumes! It reminds me of Mardi Gras. I also liked that the curvy women weren’t afraid to flaunt their bodies. So unlike the U.S. which prefers women to be emaciated.

Nancy

It is somewhat related to Mardi Gras. Curvy women are admired here. (as they should be)

There is always so much color and brilliance in the photos you display. The rods and cones in the eyes of people in this part of the world must be dancing for joy. Yes, like the previous reader, the scenes remind me of Mardi Gras.

Thanks for sending us such tantalizing photos, Darlene.

Mardi Gras is the most famous Carnival of all. The colours are so captivating in all of these events. So pleased you are enjoying the pictures. 🙂

Darlene if this is a small celebration I can only imagine what large looks like! Beautiful colors and costumes.

This was a mini carnival parade. Perhaps next year we will see a larger one. This was great though! 🙂

We just had a large carnival (we call it ‘Chingay Parade’) over here this past weekend. It’s wonderful seeing how the performers are all dressed up, made up, and abuzzed, even the little ones.

It´s great you had a carnival as well. I love the little ones!

I have never been to one. There always seems to be something going on or being celebrated there. Makes great material to share on your blog! Thanks for sharing with us.

I am never without material, which is great!!

The costumes are beautiful Darlene, so colourful. I went to a couple of carnivals last year, but none this year as yet. I’m really enjoying your photos thank you for sharing them.

I am so impressed with the costumes. Glad you are enjoying the photos. It is fun to share.

They really go to town on the dressing up, don’t they? It’s most impressive. I’ve never been to anything like this, carnivals are not something Scotland goes in for, perhaps because people would freeze in costumes like those.

Scotland has other cool traditions though. I love to see everyone dressed in their tartans and a man in a kilt is always a welcome sight.

The costumes just sing and fizzle out of the screen . I don’t think it’s just about the Spanish and their spectacular carnivals , and they are spectacular , I think it’s about YOU seeking them out Darlene . There is so much out there to enjoy, you have to just open your front door and seek .
So enjoy your blog… a peep into a different world .
Cherryx

Thanks so much for those kind words. I do enjoy seeking out unique events (at least unique to me) I am so pleased you enjoy my blog. 🙂

Amazing outfits and beautiful pictures. 🙂

Thanks. I just love the outfits too! They love colour here!!

Beautiful pics Darlene. We have just had the Chinese New year festival here.

That´s great. Nice to see it is celebrated around the world. Glad you enjoyed the pictures.

That looks rather cool! 😀

It was very cool. The kids looked like they were having fun. Wouldn’t you love one of those Napoleonic hats! 🙂

Boy, you really DO know me! 😉

What stunning costumes, Darlene! I love seeing the photos you post. You must be having the time of your life!

Having a great time!! Glad you liked the pictures Laura.

Mummer’s Parades at New Years in Philadelphia but not Carnival. One thing I know, your photos look WARM!!!
NIce.

Thanks for stopping by Ruth. It is nice and warm here but cools off in the evenings. Glad you liked the pictures. I am not a professional photographer like you but I like to share what I have seen. 🙂

[…] Carnival is celebrated around the world at this time of the year. It is considered the last time to have a big party before the period of lent. You don´t have to be in New Orleans or Rio de Janeiro to take part in a colourful Carnival parade with brilliant costumes and warm smiles. Carnival is very popular here in Spain and last year we enjoyed a parade and celebration at the local mall. I wrote about it here.   https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/carnival-time/ […]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,956 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

