Darlene Foster's Blog

How Did I Do?

Posted on: December 30, 2014

Most of you are aware that I am a big believer in setting goals and always set some at the beginning of each year. Now that 2014 is nearing an end, I need to check how I did. A blogging friend of mine, Beth Stillborn said we should go into 2015 building on the successes of 2014 and I like that idea.

My 2014 goals and the results:

1. Finish Amanda in Alberta -The Writing on the Stone for publication early spring by writing diligently and completing three chapters a month.

I am pleased to report I completed Amanda in Alberta – The Writing on The Stone,  launched July 2014

2. Get rid of unnecessary belongings, prepare the apartment for sale, sell the apartment.

I got rid of more than one third of my belongings, put some things in storage and packed the rest to ship to Spain. This was a tremendous amount of work. We have not yet sold the apartment.

3. Start new writing projects: a picture book, travel articles, another Amanda adventure.

I have written four chapters of  book 5, Amanda on the Danube – The Sounds of Music, have a publisher interested in a picture book and have written more travel articles. I am pleased with this result.

4. Cut back working hours some more, possibly retiring.

I cut back my hours from 5 days a week to four days a week, then to two and a half days a week. I retired on September 26 and was given a fabulous send off. Another goal met but I do miss my job and the wonderful folks I worked with.

5. Take an extended vacation to Spain or move to Spain by the end of the year.

We moved to Spain November 1, 2014!! (I still can´t believe it!)

6. Attend my grandson’s graduation in Alberta.

I did see my grandson in Alberta. He didn’t quite graduate but is working hard to get the credits he needs. We celebrated anyway!

7. Spend quality time with friends and family.

Pleased to say I spent some excellent quality time with friends and family this year.

8. Plan a few small holidays and/or getaways.

I went back home to Alberta three times and had some great get-aways with special people. More about this in another post.

9. Continue going to yoga on a more regular basis.

I did go to yoga fairly regularly but could have done more. Need to find a yoga studio in Spain once we are settled.

10. Pay attention to the signs the universe is sending.

Still working on this one.

I am very happy with how I met most of my goals this past year. Not everything works out as planned of course but you will never reach a goal if you don´t have one.

Next post will be my goals for 2015, built on the successes of this past year.

 

DSCN0222

“Without leaps of imagination, or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all, is a form of planning.”

-Gloria Steinem

Do you set goals at the beginning of the year? How did you do with your goals from last year? Perhaps they went a totally different direction, that´s OK too. The nice thing about goals is they can be adjusted.

26 Responses to "How Did I Do?"

I’m glad that your goals include more than just writing projects which I think leads to a more balanced life.

Number 2 stood out for me, getting rid of 1/3 of your stuff. – wow! I would like to get rid of 1/8 after more than 30 years in the same house. My writing goal? Complete the first draft of my memoir in 6 months. More power to us both!

It was hard work to get rid of things but I realized after, that we just have too many things. I feel lighter now. Best of luck with your writing goals. I know you have a lot of great material.

I love this, Darlene. Please let me know if you ever come to the UK. Spain is not very far away from here in the scheme of things. You have achieved all you set out to do I wouldn’t know where to begin my list, as I never come up for air!

I have friends in the UK and hubby has family there so I´m sure we will be over for a visit. I´ll let you know and maybe we can meet for a cup of tea. You always accomplish so much, I don´t know how you do it! Happy New Year!

What an amazing year you have had Darlene. Wishing you all the very best in your new adventures in 2015!

Thanks Sue!! Look forward to seeing what you are up to in 2015!

That was a great summary to your year! I’ve been working on my 2014 goals and summary off and on all day. I hope to get a post done before the year ends! Very little went as planned, but it was still a good year.

Happy New Year!

Nancy

Thanks Nancy. Many times that happens but it still all works out for the best. You have a grandbaby coming and that is always good! Happy New Year to you as well!!

Congratulations on meeting your goals and being in Spain looks like a marvelous adventure! Happy New Year Darlene… 🙂

May New Year have bright new beginnings for you and safety.

Dear Darlene, I think you did incredibly well. I am in awe of all you achieved.
Very best wishes for 2015, Barbara.

I am in awe myself. Who would have thought! Happy New Year to you and yours Barbara.

Congrats! You did awesome! 😀

Amazing accomplishments. I am organized but no list. Each day brings on a new adventure. The surprise is what will happen. Never know until I start something new. I changed things up midway through 2014, so I am building on creating a completely new format for my days.

I am so impressed with everything on your list. Hope your enchantment with Spain grows and grows. 🙂 And congratulations on your writing.

Thanks so much for you encouraging comments. Not everyone needs a list. It is good to be spontaneous too. It will take awhile to get into the grove here but everyday is an adventure right now. Best of everything for 2015!!

Such a great list of resolutions! Seeing how well you did with with your goals is inspiring me to keep my yet-to-be-determined 2015 goals. “See” you in 2015! 🙂

Thanks Libby! All the best in 2015!!

What a year you had. Lovely post. Am interested in your PB. Enjoy welcoming the New Years ahead of most of us. Happy New Year and may 2015 be a wonderful adventure.

It has been quite a year. I´ll let you know more about my PB as it gets closer to publication. All the best in 2015 for you and yours Patricia.

Excellent job!

Thanks so much Lorna! Wishing you all the best for 2015.

I’m glad for you that you accomplished so much, Darlene. Sure wish I were as motivated. I’m hoping this year I can do better.
All the best to you in 2015!

[…] was inspired the other day by reading a post by fellow blogger, Darlene Foster, about building on the success of 2014. (You can read it by clicking on her […]

I love you positive vibes dong the same 2015.
Jolly good luck to you .
CHERRYX

Thanks for stopping by. All the best for 2015!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,621 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

