Darlene Foster's Blog

Daydream Believer at March House Books

Posted on: October 12, 2014

DSCN0021

It’s Thanksgiving weekend here in Canada and I for one have so much to be thankful for. A wonderful family, great friends and a fun adventure ahead. I am also incredibility thankful for all my blogging friends. Who would have thought when I started this blog 4 years ago, that I would meet so many awesome people.

One of those awesome people is Barbara at March House Books. This weekend I am a featured guest on this lovely blog where I talk about one of my favourite subjects; dreaming.

Daydream Believer, Darlene Foster

Hello readers of March House Books. I am delighted to be a guest author on one of my favourite blog sites!

For as long as I can remember, I have needed to be around people. They energize and inspire me. When there are no people around; I simply make some up. It all started when I was a young child living on a ranch in the Canadian prairies. Surrounded by never ending sunshine, a huge blue sky and tons of wide open spaces to wander around, I lacked someone to converse with. My parents were busy working hard, and who wants to talk to little brothers. I named my teddy bears, gave them personalities and created adventures for Ted, Teddy, Toostie and Elvis, in my head. It wasn’t long until I began to make up other imaginary characters and situations. My parents called me a daydreamer, and I guess I was.

My old friends, Elvis, Ted, Teddy andTootsie

My old friends, Elvis, Ted, Teddy and Tootsie

Read more of the article here and check out the picture of me in a cowboy hat at age twelve.

Happy Thanksgiving! Thanks so much for reading my blog posts and making comments from time to time.

I am now off to visit my family in Alberta.

 

15 Responses to "Daydream Believer at March House Books"

Dear Darlene, I was delighted when you agreed to write a guest post for my blog, but I had no idea how good it would be. Thank you and Happy Thanksgiving, Barbara.

Honoured to be on your blog Barbara!

Happy Thanksgiving to you! Of course we in the states celebrate near the end of November.

You post reminds me that my very first blog post in early 2013 was on the theme of gratitude. Thanks for the reminder and for those cute, cute teddy bears!

It is always good to remember to be grateful. Those teddy bears have been around a long time. Glad you liked them.

Happy Thanksgiving, Darlene. We’re going to have a houseful for Thanksgiving today. Must get to work. Have a good visit and a wonderful meal together. ❤ ❤

I’m sure you had a fabulous dinner! How many attended?

Twenty. I do fresh cranberries, vegetables and salads (plus squash and sweet potato) and my son-in-law does turkey, dressing, gravy, ham, mashed potatoes.I have to juggle because I run out of burners: only four. 😀 😀
Do tell about yours.How many attend and how is cooking organized?

I ate with mom at the care home she is in. It was the most awful meal I have ever had, no flavour whatsoever. Mom was happy I was there and that’s all that mattered. Things change over the years.

Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy your weekend with good food and company. Love your teddies. They look familiar. It’s Columbus Day weekend in the states.

I have a friend who is from the States but lives in Canada now with her husband. She celebrates 2 Thanksgivings! Those teddies have been around for a long time.

Happy Thanksgiving, Darlene. Safe travels to Alberta.

Thanks Georgette. Enjoy your weekend as well.

Happy belated Thanksgiving, Darlene. The weekend was crazy-busy for me, and there was much to be thankful for. I’m heading over to check out your blog post. 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful time in Alberta!

I had a wonderful time in Alberta. My mom is doing so much better and all settled into the care facility. My son and family are awesome as always. I know you had a busy and wonderful weekend full of family joy!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,132 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

