Darlene Foster's Blog

Goal Setting Works!

Posted on: October 10, 2014

“Reach high, for stars lie in your soul. Dream deep, for every dream precedes the goal.” Pamela Vaull, 20th Century American Author/Poet

goals

As many of you know, up until very recently I have been facilitating workshops for job seekers for the past thirteen years. I loved my job and enjoyed all the workshops I created and delivered, but my most favourite was my goal setting workshops. The participants enjoyed the sessions and said it gave them renewed hope. I have attended a few goal setting workshops myself over the years. As I was cleaning out my desk at work, I came across a workbook from an excellent session I attended nearly four years ago. I almost fell over when I read my notes.

1. At the beginning we were asked to write down a dream. This is what I wrote:

To be an internationally known children’s author living on the coast of Spain.

2. We were then asked to close our eyes and picture ourselves having achieved this dream, then describe the environment around us. My response:

In book stores and schools doing readings and presentations, surrounded by fans of my work and going home to my villa in Spain.

3. After a couple of other exercises establishing  capabilities and values, we were to write down who we had become once we achieved our dream.

I am a writer of children’s fiction expanding my horizons and meeting new and interesting people while adapting to a new culture and environment.

4. Finally we were asked to write our dream again with enhancements that came from some explorations and reflections. Here was my enhanced dream:

An internationality known and well loved author of children’s stories, interviewed on TV, with lots of fans and owning property in Spain where I can go to relax and write after my travels and book tours.

There was much more to the workshop, but what I realized when reading what I wrote, was that goal setting does work. Writing down your goal or dream and visualizing it,  is powerful.

Since taking this workshop four years ago, I have written and published three more books, read from my books at schools and book stores and am about to move to Spain! I haven’t been interviewed on TV but I have been interviewed on blogs and that is even better.

“If you can dream it, you can do it.” Walt Disney 

 

972198_504297402972885_1308520670_n

 

You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream. -C. S. Lewis

35 Responses to "Goal Setting Works!"

You are living proof that goal setting works Darlene, we are all so proud of you…..your new and exciting life awaits you!

Thanks Barb. It’s exciting and a bit scary.

I agree! Goal setting works and you are an excellent example of it.

Thanks so much and thanks for following my blob!

Oops. It should say blog. I hit post too quickly.

Love this post and happy to hear you’ve achieved your goals! Writing down and visualizing what you want is so important and can really set a path in motion. Where about in Spain will you be? Excited for you 🙂

Thanks Alison. We plan to settle near Alicante but haven’t a definite destination yet.

You really are an inspiration Darleen. I must try to follow your example and write down all the things that are swirling around inside my head. We all need direction in life, thank you for the reminder.
Your lovely post has gone on my blog today. I couldn’t be happier with it. Barbara x

I find every time I write down my goals, eventually they become reality. Thanks for posting my article on your blog!

Image this from Mike Tyson: I’m a dreamer. I have to dream and reach for the stars, and if I miss a star then I grab a handful of clouds.

You inspire me to keep reaching and reaching . . . .

I believe all successful people (and success comes in all shapes and sizes) are dreamers and reach for the stars. So glad I can inspire others.

Will watch for you on La Uno! Congrats.

We will stay in touch and perhaps meet up in Spain one day.

Well done on achieving your dream. Like the song went: “you’ve got to have a dream; if you don’t have a dream, how can you make a dream come true? 🙂

Perfect song, thanks Fatima.

So pleased that your dream is coming true! It’s good to have goals that keep us stretching and growing. 🙂

I can’t bear to become stagnant or complacent. Although the amount of work this involves is making me wonder if I took on too much at times. Will you be at SiWC this year?

No, I can’t afford it this year. I usually manage every second year but attended in both 2012 and 2013. I’m hoping for next year. 🙂

It is expensive and I can’t attend every year either. I will have a table at the author book signing on Saturday evening from 5:30 – 7:00 which is open to everyone not just attendees.

I find you so inspiring! Good luck with your new adventure Darlene!

Thanks! We will need all the luck we can get.

We all need to know it is possible, and you have demonstrated that in the most wonderful way.

Thanks Shea. I didn’t do it alone though and I am thankful for you and everyone else who helped me along the way!

Loved reading about your dreams becoming reality!! Henrietta Klausner (?) has several books on writing your dreams down to make them happen (not at home so can’t be more specific).

Thanks for sharing!!

Nancy

I have read a few books on this matter but until I actually read my comments in the worksheets from the course, I wasn’t totally convinced. It was an eye opener! Hope you are having a good time with your daughter.

We’re having a great time! Food is good, leaves are changing colors and we are very much enjoying our time together. Thanks for asking!

You have made your dreams come true Darlene! So happy for you.

Thanks Sue! Hope you are home safe and sound.

Yes we arrived home last might and talking about the next adventure. 🙂

Well, it’s not TV, but I know of a vlog… 😉 Good luck with your travels! 😀

I will be following the vlog wherever I live!

So happy for you. I have started using my blog to provide a free on line 101 Emotional Fitness Training Course. Several sessions will be devoted to Missions and Goals the subject of one of my books, but a vital part of staying emotionally fit. Would like to use this as and will of course give you credit. The course is in its second week, but starts here. Intro http://wp.me/pC72X-48a. Goals werok and SMART goals work best.

By all means, please do use this as part of your training course Katherine. I love your SMART goals poster!

Encouraging post. I too am a goal setter but I think I will take it to a new level and follow the questions you used in the workshop.

Thanks for commenting on my blog. From one goal setter to another I’m glad this was useful for you.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,313 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

