Darlene Foster's Blog

The End of an Era

Posted on: October 6, 2014

“The Times They Are A-Changin” Bob Dylan

On September 26 I said goodbye to a 45 year career. After working in retail management, recruitment, and employment counselling, I decided to retire to write full time – in Spain. Yes you heard correct. Hubby and I are selling our house, car, furniture etc. and moving to sunny Spain. We both desire one more great adventure and what better setting to relax in and write to my heart’s content. Thankfully, we have the full support of our family and friends.

SAM_0741

In sunny Spain last year

I have loved every job I’ve had. I’ve been fortunate to have great employers and amazing co-workers, many who remained friends over the years. It was not an easy decision to leave it all behind.  I was given a great send off by my current workplace with a pot luck get-together. One co-worker even made crepes for all of us! I was made to feel very special.

DSC05249

Farewell flowers

Farewell flowers

Kobo gift certificates. The perfect gift.

Kobo gift certificates. The perfect gift.

 

A co-worker making crepes for everyone

A co-worker making crepes for everyone

 

A boss and a co-worker with the perfect posters in the classroom.

A boss and a co-worker with the perfect posters in the classroom.

We have been talking about this huge change in our lives for awhile now. We have weighed the pros and cons and decided we need to do this now while we still can. If not now…when? I want to share this wonderful poem by the amazing  Christine Kloser.

 

If Not Now… When?
By Christine KloserStuck like a bird in a cage.
Infinite potential, wings of glory.
Beauty to bestow, blessings to bring.But a voice that says,
Conditions aren’t perfect… yet.
It’s not safe… yet.
It’s not time… yet.
I can’t fly… yet.

Believe that voice of fear?
Or believe the truth.

You’re ready when you CHOOSE to be.
Conditions will never be “perfect” (and that’s OK).
Support makes it SAFE.
It’s time when you SAY “It’s Time!”

Here’s to the voice of the TRUE you.
The ONE who has been called,
To liberate your message,
And fulfill your soul’s purpose.

Not someday.
Not when it’s convenient.
Not when it’s easy and no risk is involved.

Instead…
This day can be THE day.
The day you say YES.
To you.
To your message.
To your life.
To your soul.
To being who you were BORN to be.

Because…
If not now, when?
The choice is yours.

 

Christine Kloser, “The Transformation Catalyst” and award-winning author powerfully combines spiritual guidance and intuition, with nuts-and-bolts transformational writing, publishing and marketing expertise.  The result is a global movement of aspiring authors who unleash their authentic voice, share their message on the pages of a book and make their difference in the world.   Trusted and celebrated by aspiring authors and publishing industry leaders for her down to earth, authentic and inspiring approach, Christine has become the well-recognized leader of the transformational author movement having trained more than 55,000 authors in less than 4 years.   Get her free training at www.ChristineKloser.com.
La Zenia beach

La Zenia beach, Spain

 Watch this blog and follow us as we head into Darlene & Paul’s Next Great Adventure.

45 Responses to "The End of an Era"

How exciting, Darlene! I know it had to be a hard decision, but I’m so glad you are jumping out of the nest, ready to spread your wings. You give the rest of us hope for our dreams.

That’s me, dreamer of dreams. There are days when I question my decision but I’m going for it!

Oh Darlene, this is so exciting! It must have been a huge decision to make, but as the poem to rightly puts it…..”if not now….when?” It is obviously the right time for you.
I’m sure you have made the right decision and I wish you all the best in your new adventure through life!

I’d rather do it now than wish I had done it later. Thanks for the best wishes.

How fantastic Darlene, congratulations and well done! Terry and I have been (are) dilly dallying and delaying a big decision, we keep telling ourselves it’s not the right time – yet. The poem by Christine Kloser sounds as though it was written for us – maybe now is the time…
I look forward to reading about and being inspired by your adventure.

So true! When I’m in Spain I’ll be so much closer to the UK and plan to visit friends and family there. Perhaps we will have tea together soon.

Congratulations and best wishes for the future Darlene! I look forward to following your adventure in Spain!

Thanks. Once the work of relocating is finished it will be fun!

That’s a lovely poem, Darlene, and very true. I have always tried to take ‘calculated’ risks in my life, from deciding to come to study and later on live in England, to getting married and having a child. Life without risks is no life.

I hope you and your beloved will be very happy in Spain and that I will see you there in my travels. I definitely would like to retire in the south east of Spain (thinking about Alicante and Murcia), where I was born, but that won’t be for another 10 years or so. That will give you time to perfect your Spanish too!

Best of luck to you both. ❤ 🙂

The Alicante/Murcia area is where we are looking to settle. Do you still have family there? I’m sure we will connect when you come for a visit. So true, life is all about taking risks!

I have a cousin in Albacete, but most of my father’s side of the family (the Rosales) are in Andalucia, mainly in Beas de Segura, Jaen, but some in Baena (Cordoba) too.
Most of my siblings are in La Coruña (Galicia in north west Spain), where I grew up. I hope some day you’ll go to Galicia, as it’s really green and very different from the rest of Spain. 🙂

Commented on your FB page cause my phone was not cooperating at that point but now—Congrats to you and to your new adventure!! This is so exciting!

Thanks Beth Ann. It is scary and exciting at the same time. You and I are both in the midst of changing locations. It keeps life interesting!

I can imagine it is but what a great decision!!!

Oh wow – how cool! I think that sounds like a great next adventure for you & the hubby. Congratulations!!!! That is such good news. And yes, now is the time to do it while you can.

Nancy

Thanks Nancy! It is a big step but it will be fun.

Amanda’s Mama is going on a huge adventure. Congratulations! I am so happy you have the support of your family and friends. And, that you have family and friends in England. Wow — I am speechless and excited for you!

I know. I am often speechless as well will I think of it. It is something we have talked about for some time now so we finally made the big decision. I do believe Amanda will have many more adventures in Europe.

Wishing you and Paul the most fabulous adventure as you settle into your new ‘normal’ in Spain. You are going from one of my favorite cities in the world to one of my favorite countries in the world! Enjoy the ride!

Thanks Cathy. It is a wonderful country and so diverse. I am looking forward to immersing myself in the culture and history.

How exciting! After living in Wolfville for 30 years, I’m ready for a change, too, but Don isn’t – yet… Guess you won’t be in BC when I finally make it out there for TD Book Week in May, 2015? And I suppose you’re brushing up on your Spanish in your spare time:) This all sounds fantastic!

Congratulations on being chosen for TD Book Week. I don’t think I’ll be in BC at that time but you never know. I will be returning to see family and tie up some things. If I’m here I will for sure meet up with you Jan. My Spanish is limited but I feel I will pick it up as I go along. I’m sure I’ll embarrass myself sometimes but that’s OK.

Darlene you and I have led lives that has never taken the easy path but have always taken the road less traveled. Nothing has changed. In your next adventure remember to leave no stone un-turned.

You have inspired me to turn over stones Sheila. It will be fun to keep track of each other as we embark on new trails and adventures!

Darlene I am thrilled for you and admire your quest for adventure. Looking forward to hearing more!

Thanks Sue. It’s people like you folks that inspire me to venture out of my comfort circle.

While I’ll miss you terribly, I am very happy for you and what you’ve decided. You’re for sure making the right choice : )

I’ll miss you and all my peeps here but I won’t be far away with social media. And I’ll be back for visits.

Oh WOW Darlene!! That is amazing news. Of course, I will look forward to your continuing adventures as I trust you’ll remain around the social network.

I will for sure be around the social network boring people silly with my antics.

You brave couple, you! I hope you and your husband have many, many good adventures in Spain, which I hear is also a beautiful country.

Thanks Claudine. Not sure if we are brave or crazy but we’re doing it all the same. Spain is beautiful.

Yay! WOO!!! Now you can hold a Writer’s Retreat there, right? 😉

That would be so much fun. You never know.

Very exciting! Best of luck with the big move and look forward to hearing how you get on.

Thanks Lucy. I’ll keep everyone posted.

Wow! What an adventure. I wish you all the best and look forward to hearing about your new life. I remember how excited we were when we made the decision to move North after our last child left home, but also how sad I was leaving my family, friends and career. Affordable air flights make it bearable. No regrets, but I still miss my old life at times, especially with the holidays approaching. Remember, fifties are the new twenties!

Thanks Andi. I did think of you and others who have made major the changes in their mid-life. I am excited but I know I will miss my friends, family, job and life here on the west coast of Canada. Thankfully social media will help with keeping in touch. Bring on the new twenties!!!

What an exciting adventure you’ve chosen, Darlene. I wish you every joy and success. When we retired from teaching for 30 years, friends warned us that we would be bored. No such thing! In fact, there are many days when we wish things would slow down a bit. I now teach adult writing workshops and classes, and Jim and I hike with our dog, travel wherever the wind blows us, and we also spend wonderful quality time with our friends and family every month.
I look forward to reading the posts of your adventure!

Thank you Marylin! It sounds like you and your hubby have made the most of your retirement. We hope to do the same although it is a bit scary right now.

Always a Dylan fan – the prophet of my youth.

Me too. I did see him perform once in Calgary, Alberta. He has stood the test of time too.

Its really the right thing to do 🙂
I dont know you, but I have been to Spain so many times and I really love it. Barcelona, Ibiza, Torrevieja… There are so much to see and experience in Spain, and best of all, the weather is wonderful!

We meet a brittish couple this summer, the had left britain a couple of years ago, mainly because of the weather but also for the experience. They were both 65 and since they moved to Spain they seen alot of places that you dont see as a tourist.

Enjoy life and life to the fullest! 🙂

Thanks for commenting. We are enjoying our move very much and seeing so much more than a regular tourist-

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,936 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

