Darlene Foster's Blog

Enchanted by Pottery

Posted on: September 1, 2014

I have always loved pottery and enjoyed creating displays of pottery in the gift shop and Museum and Art Gallery I worked at in my younger days.  As many of you know my own daughter is a talented potter. I wrote about her here  She has recently created a website which I think is amazing, proving she has many talents. Please check out her website 

If you see something you like be sure to place an order. Her items are one of a kind and if she sells a piece, there will never be another one like it.

http://www.madmudslinger.com/

Whenever I travel, I like to check out pottery studios and on my recent trip to New Mexico, I found many. It was on a drive through the Taos Canyon, that we came upon a unique wood-fired pottery and sculpture studio that enticed us to stop in.  Enchanted Circle Pottery was indeed enchanting. The couple, JoAnne and Kevin DeKeuster, who own the studio and create all the work, were away at the time. We were instead greeted by wonderful house sitting potters who gave us the grand tour. We spent quite some time looking at the various works of art and discussing pottery as well as other creative endeavours. Writing did come up as did an opportunity to brag about my potter daughter.

Here are some pictures I took of some of their work:

DSC04724DSC04726DSC04725

DSC04731

From their website: The glazes are created from the wood firing, an ancient Japanese process which produces unique iridescent colours. As the wood burns in the kiln, the ash lands on the ceramic work. The kiln reaches such intensely high temperatures (2400 degrees), that the ash is melted into a glaze. The flames surging across the pots also add interesting marks and colour.

DSC04735

The studio is in such a perfect setting as you can see from the front window. I am sure the potters are inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding them.

DSC04732

There was pottery everywhere, even in the yard.

DSC04743

We had an opportunity to step into the huge wood fired kiln. As you noticed, some of the pieces are very large so an oversized kiln is required.

DSC04718

And much wood is needed to fire this kiln.

DSC04720

I couldn’t leave without a purchase.  I chose a salt cellar which I gave to a friend who I know appreciates pottery. Aren’t the colours amazing!

DSC04843

Should you find yourself in New Mexico, on Highway 64, between Taos and Angel Fire, you must stop in to Enchanted Circle Pottery. It is worth the visit!

 

30 Responses to "Enchanted by Pottery"

I had to look up salt cellar. Who knew? I didn’t!
Stunning pieces and I have never been drawn in by pottery and decorative pieces for the home. I’ve seen some pottery once or twice but it didn’t especially move me. This is LIKE and I wandered over to your daughter’s site, once again, I’m delighted to see such artful pieces. Truly stunning and NOW I can say I appreciate pottery. 🙂 🙂

I’m so pleased I have converted you! I will let my daughter know you liked her work. I guess I should have explained salt cellar. Thanks for your thoughtful comments as always.

Always something new to learn and enjoy. Thank YOU for sharing, Darlene.

Well I’m going to have to look up salt cellar too!
I love pottery. My dad was a great potter and I have some wonderful pieces of his. Will check out your daughter’s site!
And yes, that view!

How nice to have some of your dad’s pottery in your house. That means he is always with you. I guess I should not have assumed everyone knew what a salt cellar was. The piece can be used for other things as well. Imagine waking up to that view every day.

The pottery photos you feature here look like museum quality, very polished. I am surrounded by more rough-hewn pieces all done by either my husband or son in college or graduate school: Looking around I see a bust of a student and a vase for my infuser in the family room, in the kitchen a container as catch-all for reminder cards, in the art-music studio 3 fused vertical vases holding paint-brushes.

Yes, I too am enchanted by pottery and want to check out your daughter’s website as soon as post this. Thanks for the fascinating tour.

To be surrounded by pottery made by loved ones is very comforting. I have many pieces of my daughters at various stages of her career. I love them all. She has worked so hard to hone her craft.

I bought a base about 10 years ago during a visit to Albuquerque for the same reason. The pottery is incredible there! There are talented artists everywhere, but New Mexico has a special draw.

Nancy

P.S. Thanks for sharing the photos. I loved seeing the pieces and the studio / kiln! You did a great story with this post.

Thanks. Glad you liked the post. There is something about New Mexico and pottery isn’t there.

Few people are aware of Picasso’s pottery and painted ceramic tiles.

I love Picasso’s pottery and tiles. It my favourite of all his work. Apparently he was happiest when he created pottery. You’re right, many people are not aware of that side of this amazing man.

What a beautiful display of pottery. I love some of the contemporary pieces. The glazes are beautiful. Have always admired such talent. Lovely photo essay.

I just loved the glazes and the fact that it was the heat and ashes that created them. It was an amazing display with such a variety from functional to display pieces.

What beautiful work, Darlene. It’s simply magnificent. Thanks for sharing.

It was too wonderful not to share.

Darlene what beautiful pieces! The one you are standing beside is absolutely gorgeous. Thank you for taking me there.

They were stunning. Glad you enjoyed the visit.

If you like pottery you would definitely like the Greek island of Sifnos, famous for its pots and designs!

I have heard about the pottery from Sifnos. I must get there one day and check it out. Thanks for stopping by Andrew.

I loved this post. The immensity of that enormous, yet simple jar just calls to me…as it did you standing by it. Your daughter’s work is lovely. The purse with long strap, the weaving of a string of leather along the rim of a bowl, the whimsical cat, the iridescent blue vase. Thank you for sharing all these pieces. Encore please. PS My favorite? the brown opaque bowl with the shiny interior.

I will pass on your kind comments to my daughter. So pleased you enjoyed the post.

The colors grabbed my eye immediately, what a lovely collection. Thanks for sharing, now I’m off to see your highly-talented daughter’s website.

The colours are exquisite and te efact that they are created by the wood firing makes it even more special.

Lovely pieces. I would love that big floor vase you were standing by.

I’m sorry I couldn’t fit it in my bags to bring back for you. Perhaps you could swing by on your way to Mexico and pick it up. It would look great in your Mexican home.

Oh! Mad Mudslinger is an excellent name!
It’s remarkable that for a process that’s so hot and dirty, such lovely pieces result!.(Like writing, perhaps, like all art, perhaps…) 😀
Paige

I thought she was very clever coming up with that name. Yes, most creative efforts can be messy, but we do it anyway, hoping for a lovely end result! Thanks for stopping by.

What a beautiful place! I adore the two horses and would be very happy to give them house room. I also like the large floor vase you are standing by but would not have room for it in my little house. Thank you for sharing.

The horses were exceptional I agree. Other things would have to go if we purchased the large floor vase. Always nice to look at though.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,828 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

