Darlene Foster's Blog

A Week in Taos, New Mexico

Posted on: May 11, 2014

I can’t believe my luck. I have had so many fabulous get-aways this year and now I just returned from a week in Taos, New Mexico.

This trip was extra special as I spent it with someone very dear to me.  I was not granted a sister, instead I was blessed with an aunt my age. We were born in the same hospital two months apart. We did everything together as kids. She moved to Arizona many years ago and we don’t get the opportunity to see each other often. When we do it is usually at a family reunion, special birthday, wedding or funeral with many others around. This was perfect as we were able to spend the entire week together, just the two of us like we did when we were children. We have so many common interests like visiting museums, art galleries, historic houses, shopping, chocolate and eating great food. Taos was the perfect spot to meet and we had a splendid time.

Here are a few pictures of our holiday in this  amazing part of the world.  I will write more details about some of the places later.

Cashmere and Chocolate, the old jail in Taos

Chocolate and Cashmere in the old jail

Artist from the Taos Peublo

Artist from the Taos Peublo

San Francisco De Asis Church

San Francisco De Asis Church

Me at Hacienda do los Martinez

At Hacienda do los Martinez

Mable Dodge Luhan House

Mable Dodge Luhan House

Taos Pueblo

Taos Pueblo

Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs

Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs

Awesome scenery

Awesome scenery

La Fonda Hotel across from the Taos Plaza

La Fonda Hotel across from the Taos Plaza

With my travelling companion

With my wonderful travelling companion

More pictures and stories to follow.

 

Happy Mother’s Day!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

46 Responses to "A Week in Taos, New Mexico"

Lucky you, for sure! Happy Mother’s Day.
I love visiting the SW for its art, the architecture, the desert, the mountains. D1 went to Arizona State.

It is an amzing part of North America. History is so well preserved and the arts and culture encouraged. I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day. I’m off to see a play with my daughter.

Wonderful pictures. It looks like a place I’d like to visit.

What a fabulous trip!!! That is one place I would love to go. We really have not explored that area yet and it is on my bucket list. Can’t wait to see more pics and read more stories!!!! thanks for sharing!

This is a place you would enjoy Beth Ann. I thought of you when I visited all the unique shops and galleries. I’m sure you would find a perfect teapot there.

I am sure you are right !!! I love that you thought of me!

Thank you for taking us along on your trip to New Mexico and with your “twin” – stories are the best souvenirs of any travels.

Yes, she is my twin! And we have many stories we’ve created over the years. I’m pleased you enjoyed our trip.

Have always loved Taos!

I can see why. It took me a long time to get there but I’m so glad I did.

Hello Darlene, this sounds like the perfect trip and how nice to have someone to share your interests with. It looks as though you both had the best time. I loved all your ‘photos and am looking forward to seeing more.
Happy Sunday and Happy Mother’s Day. xx.

I am fortunate to have such a wonderful travelling companion. Happy Mother’s Day (although I know it is a different day in the UK)

The place gives off the feeling of peace and tranquility. Maybe it’s because of the subdued color. 🙂
Nice to have a good traveling companion. Nice to get away together. 🙂

I found it very peaceful and far away from the stress of everyday life in the city. It was just what I needed. I’m so pleased we were both able to get away and spend time here together.

This has me thinking about planning some weekend excursions. 🙂

How wonderful for you, Darlene.
Happy Mother’s Day.

Happy Mother’s Day back to you as well Lynn.

Happy Mother’s Day, Darlene. Looks like a great place and a great time. The old jail seems a bit small!

Apparently it was a holding cell before the criminals were sent on to Santa Fe for trial. I do think a chocolate and cashmere shop is a much better use of the building! Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s day as well Patti.

New Mexico is a wonderful place. We went there for a vacation last year. It was awesome. We went to the Albuquerque International Hot-Air Balloon Festival, also awesome. 🙂

It is an amazing place. I would love to attend the hot air balloon festival in Albuquerque!

Looks amazing Darlene! Looking forward to hearing more!

Thanks for stopping by and commenting. There will be more…….

I spent a night in Taos on a southwest road trip last year and thought it was a fascinating place, so much art and culture!

It is fascinating. We spent a week and felt it wasn’t enough. I’m sure you will want to return one day and explore more of it.

Wow, it looks like you had amazing trip! Some of those buildings are so beautiful.
It’s so neat that you and your aunt are the same age. My uncle and HIS uncle are around the same age as well. 🙂

It happens in some families. My brother and my son are only one and a half years apart. They are also very close. The buildings are very beautiful in Taos. Thanks for stopping by Libby.

You have made some interesting trips this year. Have always wanted to visit Taos, NM, so I enjoyed your photos. Glad you had such a terrific time with your aunt/friend.

I’ve just returned from two weeks at Siesta Key, so I haven’t been around much.

Nice to hear you got away as well. It is so good to spend time in another place. I do hope you get to Taos as it is unique and special.

Chocolate and Cashmere in the old jail – that’s so Taos Darlene. I love this part of the country, and unfortunately, haven’t visited in years. I particularly enjoyed the Taos Pueblo, and would love to see it again. I’m not sure that I fully appreciated it at the time. We try to split our travel between international and domestic, and when I see a post like this, I’m reminded of all the wonderful places to visit here in the good ol’ USA. ~James

I know, so many places to see and so little time! I’ve been to Dubai but have yet to visit Prince Edward Island. I’m glad I got to visit Taos though, it is very unique.

Wonderful post, Darlene! Taos is our favorite New Mexico destination, even more than Santa Fe. So much of the authentic old traditions remain in Taos. We love the chocolates in the old jail, and no visit is complete without seeing San Francisco De Asis Church.

Thanks for your comment Marylin. I wondered why it took me so long to finally visit this amazing place. We had planned a day in Santa Fe but decided to stay in Taos as it had so much to offer.

Reblogged this on Darlene Foster's Blog and commented:

One year ago I spent an amazing week with my BFF who is also my aunt, in Taos, New Mexico. We are busy moving into our own place in Spain so I thought I would reblog what I was doing last year. Hope you enjoy it the second time around. Great memories for me.

You make the generations blur in a most fanciful way and with photos and memories to illustrate it!

Thanks Marian. The generations do blur in our family. My Mom has an uncle her age and my son and youngest brother are only a little more than a year apart. It gets confusing for some but we have it all worked out!

Just as enjoyable the second time around. Thanks for sharing again. ❤

How lovely for you to meet up with a very special aunt . You look as if you have loads in common …who needs sisters .
Cherryx

We have so much in common, more than most sisters!

This looks like a wonderful visit Darlene. I love you in the sombrero!

It was amazing! I like the sombrero picture too. Fun times.

I think I’d be in absolute heaven visiting a place like this.

It was a bit like heaven. You would love it Carl!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,912 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

