Darlene Foster's Blog

How to Write a Powerful Ending

Posted on: February 27, 2014

I don’t know about you, but I always struggle with the ending whether I’m writing a letter, an article, a short story or a book. Here is some great information from Write For Kids that will help.

How to Write a Powerful Ending (via http://writeforkids.org)

  The first few lines of any story are the most important — and often most difficult — words you’ll write. The next most challenging piece of writing is the ending. Once you draw your readers in and take them through your story, you need to leave…

Read more http://writeforkids.org/2014/01/how-to-write-a-powerful-ending/

May you have satisfying (If not always happy) endings!

22 Responses to "How to Write a Powerful Ending"

Oh, yes, I struggle with an ending right now! Thanks, Darlene, for sharing.

This was timely as I am nearing an end as well.

Oh the ending for my last novel alluded me for days!

Sometimes it can take me weeks to create an ending I feel is right and satisfying.

This is so true, Darlene. Once a reader has invested the time to read our book; we want them to be glad they did.
blessings ~ maxi

Isn’t it disappointing when the end of a book lets you down. Thanks for commenting. Hope you are feeling better.

Endings seem to come to me more often than not, beginnings on the other hand are pure torture for me to find. 🙂

Its funny how its different for everyone. Perhaps some can come up with beginnings and endings easily but have trouble with the content. I just have trouble wrapping it all up nicely.

I have filed this for later. Thanks for the share. 🙂

Glad you liked it. It is a good resource.

The beginning, middle and ending are all hard as far as I’m concerned!
When our son was small, he loved a book that had several different endings. I think it was called ‘choose your own adventure’, there may have been others in the series. He read it over and over again, and never got tired of choosing a different ending.

What a clever idea to provide different endings to a story for a child to pick from. On the other hand I have enough trouble coming up with one, not sure if I could manage a number of endings.

Thanks for sharing, Darlene.

You’re so welcome Patti!

Hello! Feel free to watch my new photo album. I greet and wish you a beautiful weekend!
http://marciento.wordpress.com/2014/02/23/ducks-and-pigeons-kaczki-i-golebie/

Thank you for stopping by. Your photos are wonderful.

I agree with you, I find endings very difficult. The temptation is to keep rambling on to avoid having to tie things up, and then stopping without having addressed things properly. I’m always impressed when I read a book that leaves me feeling very satisfied at the end, it’s a hard trick to pull off.

Exactly my feelings!

Nice to know none of us are alone. 🙂

I think many of us feel this way. How much to say? When to say, finished? It’s OK to leave some questions unanswered but not too many. I recently read a book where the ending is mentioned throughout the book. I liked that as I was curious to see how the story came to that end. I was satisfied which is the goal.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,813 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

