Darlene Foster's Blog

Ready for 2014

Posted on: January 2, 2014

Happy New Year to everyone who reads my blog. I truly appreciate the time it takes to read blogs and to make comments. I feel honoured that you choose to read mine.  Your kind words have meant so much to me over the past year.

Every January 1st for as long as I can remember, I have made a list of goals for the coming year. The habit of setting resolutions has gone out of favour but I tend to need to have goals to keep me anchored. It is always fun to revisit the past year’s goals and see how I did. Here  are my 2013 goals from last year’s blog.

1. Reduce the clutter. I will take a page from Lorna at Tea Room Delights where she has decided to get rid of one thing a day for the entire year, for a total of 365 things.  This may help me get this done! Today I got rid of the old calendars.

Check (somewhat): I did get rid of some clutter but not enough. I stopped counting so I don’t know if I got rid of 365 items or not. It was a good idea though.

2. Complete Amanda in Alberta-The Writing on the Stone and have it published before the end of the year.

Fail (somewhat): I did not finish Amanda in Alberta but have 13 chapters of a 20 chapter book completed. 

3. Take a trip to Alberta to do research for Amanda in Alberta with my eleven year old grandson.

Check: I had a great time doing research with GS 2 and came away with good ideas.

4.Ensure my foot returns to normal.

Check: I have looked after my foot well and, although there is still a bit of pain and I still can’t wear most of my heeled shoes, it is so much better.

5.Continue to look for more outlets for my writing.

Check: I have guest blogged for some great blog sites.

6. Write more travel articles.

Fail: I have not written many travel articles this past year.

7.Contact schools to do readings.

Check: I did a couple of readings at schools and a workshop at a Junior Author’s conference which was most enjoyable. Would love to do more.

8. Consider working part-time in order to spend more time on my writing.

Check: As of January 1, 2014, I have arranged with my employer to work 4 days a week, giving me one whole day to write. I’m so pleased this has worked out.

9. Take a nice holiday with Paul (without injuring myself)

Check: Paul and I had a fabulous holiday to Spain in May.  I returned with all body parts intact.

10. Practice kindness with everyone I meet, no matter how my day is going.

Check: I have been conscious of practising kindness in my daily life and recognizing that not everyone has a good day everyday. 

All in all I feel I did quite well with my 2013 goals.

Now for my 2014 goals:

1. Finish Amanda in Alberta -The Writing on the Stone for publication early spring by writing diligently and completing three chapters a month.

2. Get rid of unnecessary belongings, prepare the apartment for sale, sell the apartment.

3. Start new writing projects: a picture book, travel articles, another Amanda adventure.

4. Cut back working hours some more, possibly retiring.

5. Take an extended vacation to Spain or move to Spain by the end of the year.

6. Attend my grandson’s graduation in Alberta.

7. Spend quality time with friends and family.

8. Plan a few small holidays and/or getaways.

9. Continue going to yoga on a more regular basis.

10. Pay attention to the signs the universe is sending.

 

One of my Christmas gifts from my wonderful daughter was a 30 minute Tarot card reading and consultation. The cards indicated changes in the horizon and a warning to slow down. The three cards I chose at the end of my session were so amazing:

Break Free: Try different ventures and experiences as a way to grow and earn.

Simplify Your Life: Eliminate clutter from your home and work life to balance the flow of activities.

Divine Magic: Extra magical energy surrounds your situation right now. Expect miracles!

Wow, now I feel so ready for the coming year!

“Without leaps of imagination, or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all, is a form of planning.”

-Gloria Steinem

Whether you set goals or not, I wish you all the best that the new year has to offer.  

45 Responses to "Ready for 2014"

Good work on your last year’s goals, Darlene! Wishing you all the best as you head forward into 2014!

Thanks Beth. You inspire me with your monthly review.Sendig good wishes back to you.

Happy New Year!

Thank you sisters for all your inspiration! Happy New Year to you as well.

Wishing you great success on your goals for 2014. Is one of your getaways include down under….:)
I was just reading the last few posts you made on your blog for Christmas. Bought tears to my eyes remembering my grandmother and the wonderful memories she left me. What wonderful posts, thank you for sharing, Darlene.
Looking forward to our continued contact in 2014.

I think we were commenting on each other’s blog at the same time! How cool is that. Oh I so wish a trip down under was in the near future. You never know but I don’t think it will happen this year. The move to Spain will take up most of our time and resources I’m afraid. I’m sure we will meet one day!

Hi Darlene,
You continue to inspire me in my writing and just generally on how to get things done! Your big cheery smile and kindness, show in everything you do. I cannot wait for Amanda in Alberta, and always read with pleasure, your blog and other contributions on social media.

Very best wishes as you undertake an ambitious 2014 to do list!

Thank you so much Shea! Wishing you all the best for 2014!!

Kudos for your accountability. You accomplished a lot last year. Congratulations on working down to four days a week. I can imagine one day extra will be something to look forward to as things incubate each week.
Throwing out one thing a day sounds manageable. I could throw out, place things in a donation bag or give away. We have reduced so much, but still shudder to think how much we still have to fit in a smaller house out in the country.
All best in 2014!

Thanks so much Georgette. At first I thought I hadn’t accomplished much but when I wrote it all down, I realized I had. It is my nature to want to have done much more. The extra day off should help. We do tend to collect a lot of stuff over the years, don’t we. Relocating is a good motivation to cull. The Thrift shop will do well by me this year.

Darlene, congratulations on all your accomplishments; you have done very well! I think it would benefit me to get back into the habit of writing down my goals the way I did with my resolutions when I used to make them. Perhaps that would help motivate me.

You are moving to Spain??

It helps me to keep focused. Otherwise I go off in all directions and get nothing done. It has been in the plans for awhile to move to Spain and it just might happen this coming year. Scary but exciting at the same time. Time will tell but now that I wrote it down, it just might happen!

OOHHH well done, Darlene – you have achieved so much!

Thank you Marianne and thanks for following my blog. Happy New year!

Hello Darlene, just reading your goals has left me feeling inspired. I may have to go away and set myself some now. Happy New Year. All the best to you and yours in the coming months. Barbara

This is why I like January 1 so much. It is a new slate and a time to set new goals or revisit old ones. Wishing you and your family everything wonderful in 2014.

I love the “get rid of one thing a day” goal. I think that goes along with my “simplify” goal…….You have done fabulously this year and I know that you will continue on that road. Good for you!!!! Happy New Year!

I love the ‘get rid of one thing a day’ idea and will continue to try to do just that. (Although I do believe I have to get rid of more than 365 things this year) Simplify is such a great goal. Happy New year to you and yours

Congratulations on fulfilling so many of your resolutions! I really should try the “get rid of one thing a day” resolution…I would benefit greatly from that. Your goals for this year are admirable (number 10 actually took me aback for a moment, but I think I’ll add that to my list, too!), and I wish you the best for 2014! Happy New Year! 🙂

Thanks Libby. I so loved your goal list as well. The universe does send us messages, I just don’t always take the time to listen.All the best to you and yours for a happy and healthy 2014!

That’s an exemplary record on your year just done. Inspirational. And your goals for this year look exciting. Hadn’t realized you were about ready to move off to Spain or something. Hope we see you out at the “Free at 55” Meetup early this year – trying to do more in Tsawwassen, like the one this month. Decluttering is on our list for this year – just picked up a free eBook copy of “Married with Luggage” book: http://www.amazon.ca/Getting-Rid-Step—step-Eliminating-ebook/dp/B0068EMZ5K/ (It’s now back to $5.) Happy 2014!

Thanks so much Paul for the book recommendation and the encouragement over the years. Wishing you and Cheryl a fabulous 2014. See you soon.

I wrote a comment from my iphone but I guess it disappeared. So, Happy New Year, Darlene! I like your goals and I certainly am with you on the decluttering and the writing 🙂

Happy New Year Lisa! All the best to you and your goals for the coming year.

Well done on last years goals – I love the idea of getting rid of one item a day to cut down on clutter, so much more manageable than having a huge clearout (I usually start those full of enthusiasm and lose it all partway through!).

Thanks Lucy. I tend to lose my enthusiasm very quickly when I start a huge clear out as well. I may have to do it if we move though. Have a fabulous year ahead!

That’s great! Good luck! And, if you move to Spain, then you can host a Writer’s Fest for writer’s of all ages in the summer so I can attend and a) see Spain b) learn more about writing and c) meet up with you and other blogging buddies who come and get lots of autographs! 😀

What a great idea Erik! Something to consider. That’s why I hang with young people, they have such great ideas.

I, too, am a believer in writing down intentions. I find the act of writing them down allows your mind to drift towards their completion.

Well said Sheila. There is something about the pen being attached to the mind. It is also a commitment you make to yourself.

I like your goals! The moving to Spain part sounds very interesting!!

We’ve been talking about it for awhile and it just might happen. Thanks for stopping by.

I’m with you Darlene, I enjoy setting goals. I’m delighted that you managed a bit of decluttering last year, I hope I can also keep going with it this year although I’m not going to count things like I did last year. No.5 on your list is a biggie – possibly moving to Spain? Wow! I love the sound of the new Amanda book and wish you very well with that. Reducing your work hours sounds like a great move towards spending more time on your writing. A very happy new year to you, and I look forward to following your progress in 2014!

Thanks so much Lorna. Once we are in Spain, there will be more visits to the UK so just maybe we can meet up at one of those wonderful tearooms you write about. Thanks for your support.

That would be lovely! 🙂 Thank you for your support too, you were one of my top commenters last year. 🙂

If you are successful in fulfilling all your goals, you will indeed have a great year. Good luck.

I am so looking forward to this coming year. Wishing you all the best as well Karen.

Happy New Year to you too, Darlene! And good luck with your goals: they are very good ones. We are also decluttering our house and we also intend to retire in southern Spain, but not yet. May we meet there one day…

I’m sure we will meet in Spain one day. Good luck with the decluttering. Enjoy 2014!

These are awesome goals. And you’re moving to Spain? How exciting.

Decluttering can be daunting. I started that throw one thing away a day last year, and I’m still doing it. Sometime when I’m desperate, I’ll grab a coupon or an old fridge magnet and throw it away before the day ends. lol. Other times I spend a few hours sorting things to either throw away, giveaway or sell. I plan to move to a much smaller house when the last kid graduates high school, so I believe if I start now, by the time the moving van arrives, I’ll have just the necessities. It took me 16 years to gather this stuff, and it’ll take me eight years to get rid of what I don’t really want or need.

Good luck with your goals. And happy new year.

It is wise to start the decluttering early. Now I wish i had started a couple of years ago. It does feels good to get rid of things you don’t really need. All the best for 2014!

You did a great job of keeping track of your goals and accomplishing a lot. A move to another country in 2014? That’s a huge goal, but one I know you’d love to check off next year.

Thanks Patti. It is a huge goal but one we have had in mind for a while now. It would be so great to check it off next year.

[…] My 2014 goals and the results: […]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,621 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

