Darlene Foster's Blog

Amazing Kids

Posted on: November 11, 2013

I am a huge fan of kids in general. I think they are totally amazing and I am constantly inspired by them.  Here are some great examples of how young people  make a difference.

I recently wrote about eight-year-old Teagan  Read who wrote a book called Kya’s Treasure to raise money to help build a well and clean water system in Uganda. She managed to raise over $1700.00 for this project. Way to go Teagan! Here is the article in the local paper: http://www.delta-optimist.com/community/young-author-helps-kids-in-africa-1.672535 

teagan

Teagan Read presents her donation to Steve and Linda Kovacs. photo by Gord Goble See more at:  http://www.delta-optimist.com/community/young-author-helps-kids-in-africa-1.672535#sthash.KLICKQYu.dpuf

I have also blogged about eleven-year- old Erik Weibel from This Kid Reviews Books  His book, The Adventures of Tomato and Pea has recently been published. Erik is a superkid as I mentioned in my blog post about him https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2013/09/16/introducing-a-superkid/  Recently his friend Renn had to undergo a serious operation and Erik came up with a great idea to raise money to help out Renn and his family. Erik is an avid reader who gets points for reading at his school. So he decided to create a Reading for Renn challenge for the month of October and had people sponser him. His goal was to make 150 points in October. By the end of October, Erik made a whopping 165 points. This young man never ceases to amaze me. Read more about Renn and the Reading for Renn challenge here: http://thiskidreviewsbooks.com/2013/10/07/reading-for-renn/ "Truly wonderful, the mind of a child is."  - Master Yoda

Picture of Renn from The Brian of a Jedi

In honour of local soldiers who have lost their lives in a war, the Grade 12 students from the local high school, South Delta Senior Secondary, erected 41 crosses in a field at the entrance to our town. It is very moving. A fine tribute by the young people in our community.

You can see why I am so impressed by kids. They are the future and the future will be OK.

May we always remember those who have lost their lives to make this world a better place. Many of them were young people.

15 Responses to "Amazing Kids"

What a special little girl!

These are great news stories. I wish this is what the news report; it would inspire, not depress. Thanks for sharing.

PS: Love the Superman sticker on Renn!

There is so much good in the world, it is a shame that most of what is reported is negative. Our local paper is very good at finding positive stories. I love that superman sticker too. He is a very brave little boy.

These kids are beyond wonderful, Darlene … the crosses fill my heart and my eyes.
blessings ~ maxi

I must admit I teared up when I drove into town and saw those crosses.

And this is why I enjoy blogging. I would rather read this than other stories that miss the mark. I would say these young people totally get it.

I agree, I would rather read about young people doing good, and so many do, than all the negative reports.

Great post! I am always watching for stories like this because I think there is a new wave of young and very compassionate kids like Teagan and Erik who are concerned about the world and doing amazing things to help. I could add to your list. I am hopeful for the future.

I knew you would enjoy reading about these wonderful young people. I too am hopeful for the future.

Thanks for the shout-out! 😀

They are amazing, thanks for sharing them with us.

I want everyone to know about them.

What a delightfully-uplifting post, Darlene! It brought to mind some of the wonderful young people I met when I was teaching. Hope your week is off to a wonderful start.

Thanks for stopping by my blog Tricia. Kids can be quite wonderful.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,936 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

