Darlene Foster's Blog

Guest at The Global Bookshelf

Posted on: October 30, 2013

Today I’m the guest blogger over at The Global Bookshelf, a wonderful site for travel related books.

Turning Travel Memories Into Books For Kids

by Gillian on October 29, 2013 in Author Interview

Our Travel Books For Kids series was the most popular monthly feature so far here on The Global Bookshelf. So when Darlene Foster approached me to tell the story of how her Amanda In… children’s book series came to be I was excited to hear about it. Here she tells how she weaves her own travels into the stories told from a 12 year old perspective.

 

Turning Travel Memories into Books for Kids

Since I was a very young girl, I’ve wanted to do two things, travel and write. My first time on an airplane was 37 years ago when I flew to England to marry my British husband. I was so excited. I didn’t mind that London was fogged in and we had to land in Scotland first. Read the rest….

http://theglobalbookshelf.com/turning-travel-memories-books-for-kids/

If you are looking for travel related books for any age reader check out Gillian’s website:

http://theglobalbookshelf.com/

4 Responses to "Guest at The Global Bookshelf"

Thanks so much Darlene. I loved that you let us in to how ‘Amanda’ came to be!

I really enjoyed your guest post Darlene and identified with you when you spoke about your trip to the United Arab Emirates. We did a very similar trip a few years back and the thrill of riding on a camel and spending a day at a Bedouin camp has never left me. Sand boarding (hurtling) down a sand dune with both feet strapped to a board and no idea how to steer is something that will haunt me for ever!

How brave of you to try sand boarding Barbara. I thought dune bashing was adventurous but you outdid me! Thanks for reading my guest post.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,828 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

