Darlene Foster's Blog

Doing What I Love

Posted on: June 8, 2013

This week I did something I absolutely love to do. I gave a presentation to the grade 4 and 5 class at Tomsett Elementary School. The students read Amanda in Arabia – The Perfume Flask as part of their reading program this term.  The children were wonderful and asked great questions. They were genuinely interested in the story, the setting and my writing process.

 

DSC03289

 

I brought some items from The United Arab Emirates including the actual perfume flask featured in the story.  I also brought some of the pictures I took while visiting the UAE. I explained how looking at the pictures gave me ideas for the story when I started to write.  The students were invited to come up to the table and look at the items and pictures. They especially enjoyed the pictures of the goats in the trees and the stone huts.

DSC03288

After my presentation, the teacher made a draw for three Amanda in Spain-The Girl in the Painting books as a reward for good behaviour. The winners were very excited to have a copy of the next Amanda adventure. The students then presented a wonderful card they made just for me.

DSC03292

DSC03299

Inside the card was a picture of each student with a comment about the book.

DSC03301

This is a card I will treasure forever.

DSC03294

I was delighted to see that the students created colourful prayer mats as an art project.  There was also a description of what a prayer mat is and how it is used.  This was my intention when I wrote the book; to encourage children to learn about other cultures.

DSC03297

I’ve been invited by the teacher to return and see the storyboards the students have since created based on  Amanda in Arabia that line the hallway.

This is what writing is all about for me.

21 Responses to "Doing What I Love"

What a wonderful presentation. Your love shines through!

Thanks Ruth! I do love doing those presentations and being around young readers.

What a rewarding experience this must have been for you, and the students, too!

It looks as though you all had a wonderful time. The card is certainly something for you to treasure.

How exciting they included Amanda in Arabia in the reading program. They will remember the book through their lovely projects and having met you, an author. What an honor!

Oh Wow! What a lovely card, the students really appreciated your presentation. So wonderful for you.

This is fantastic Darlene. All those kudos for your hard work. Especially from the youngsters. Too sweet.
blessings ~ maxi

Congrats! I LOVE your card!

It is a great card.

What a lovely post! It’s fantastic that your book was part of their reading program, and a real encouragement to have such an enthusiastic and appreciative readership.

I couldn’t imagine anything more uplifting than receiving such an enthusiastic response to your book and your presentation. The joy on the faces of the children says it all! Thanks for the post. Such a treat.

Great stuff! Congratulations. How wonderful!

Like the kids, I can;’t wait for the next Amanda adventure! And this time I’ve been there! Thanks for the great post, Darlene.

Shea

That’s fantastic, Darlene. Congratulations! It’s what it’s all about for sure!

Pinned this and yes why we write. Kat

Date: Sat, 8 Jun 2013 04:09:45 +0000 To: emotfit@live.com

Thank you everyone for all the wonderful comments!

Wow, that was a really cool school visit. Love the prayer mats the kids made. I must read one of your books.

It was cool and the prayer mats were very creative.

What a wonderful thing to do! It’s so important to share experiences from other cultures with children to encourage them to be open-minded and accepting of human differences! Well done to you and the whole school! I love the idea of Amanda travelling all over the place.

Good luck with you move to la Costa Blanca (I was born there). Who knows, we might even meet there sometime when we retire too.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I am so happy to be able to cintribute in evena small way to opening up young minds to new cultures and places. It’s cool to meet someone who was born in la costa blanca! Happy travels. Amanda needs to go to France one day.

[…] a wonderful visit I made to Tomsett Elementary School in Richmond, BC.  You can read about it here. A few weeks later I was invited back to the school by the teacher to view the storyboards the […]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,936 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

