Darlene Foster's Blog

La Sagrada Familia

Posted on: May 7, 2013

A  rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it,  bearing within him the image of a cathedral.  Antoine de  Saint-Exupery

I am off to Spain in a few of days and most likely will not be posting on my blog for a couple of weeks. So I thought I would share a few pictures of one of the most amazing sights in Barcelona. It is Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia. I was in awe when I came upon this cathedral. My husband did a wonderful job of capturing the many features of this work in progress, started in 1882 and estimated to be completed in 2030.  As you walk around the building you can see the style of construction appears somewhat different between the new and old parts.102_2530

102_2537

102_2545

102_2562

102_2563

102_2572

102_2554

I can’t imagine I will ever see a sight more incredible than this cathedral.

Hasta pronto!

26 Responses to "La Sagrada Familia"

Gorgeous pictures! Have a wonderful trip, Darlene. I envy you! Don’t forget to have a meal at the famous family restaurant Siete Puertas in Barcelona. I was there as a child and it still exists and I hope it is still as good as back then!

Thanks for the good wishes. I wil check out the restaurant the next time I’m in Barcelona. (probbaly won’t make it there this time)

Pea green with envy. Enjoy your trip, stay strong and I look forward to your shares when you return. Thank you for these.

So glad you enjoyed the pictures.

BTW, since you are a Spain aficionada, have you read the books by the Spanish author Carlos Ruiz Zafon (The Shadow of the Wind, etc.)?

I haven’t but will keep an eye out for them.Love getting book recommendations.

I was just going to mention The Shadow of the Wind to you but I see someone else already did. Picked up a copy lying around somewhere just after we left Barcelona. It’s a good read. I see that he started out writing award-winning novels for youths: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carlos_Ruiz_Zaf%C3%B3n

Amazing photographs! Have a great trip, will look forward to seeing more pics on your return.

Thanks Barbara. There will be more pictures for sure!

Amazing! Have never seen anything like this. Enjoy your trip, Darlene.
blessings ~ maxi

It is indeed amazing Maxi!

Beautiful pictures – I can’t wait to see it! Have a great trip Darlene 🙂

You will love it! Your pictures will be amazing.

Gaudi has long been one of my favourite architects. He defies gravity!

He had an incredible mind. The world was lucky to have him for a time.

My students always choose his work on which to do their presentations! Safe travels!

Thanks Georgette. Gaudi would be fun to do a presentation on.

Have a safe and great time, make lots of wonderful memories.. Love you bunches.

Thanks so much. I will do my best to keep safe. Love you too

Beautiful photos, Darlene. You look so happy! No wonder.. 🙂

Amazing. It takes a long time to build one of those!

Beautiful, beautiful Spain! Welcome back, Darlene!
I think it’s superfluous to ask if you had a great trip. I’m sure you had a fab one! 😉

I know you just came back, but your author feature is next in line on my blog. If you still want me to post your author feature, I have a spot this Monday, or Tuesday. (Monday’s better as I’ll have your post in prime time longer). I’ll make it really simple: I can grab your book covers from your blog or amazon + your pic and book blurbs. You can just email me your bio and if you’d like me to post a short excerpt, please email me that as well. Also, please email me the links.

Cheers and thanks!

Lada 🙂

I had a great time! Will post more later. Monday would be great. I sent you all my info and excerpt before I left . Perhaps I can find it and resend.

Oh, so very sorry. I don’t think I’ve seen that email. If you could just resend excerpt and brief bio, it would be fab. I can grab the rest from your site.

All the very best 🙂

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,143 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

