Darlene Foster's Blog

St. Patrick’s Day

Posted on: March 18, 2013

free-vintage-st-patricks-day-greeting-clip-art

In honour of all my Irish friends, and those who would like to be Irish, I thought I would write this post. I just happened to have finished reading a delightful book, lent to me by a good friend at work, called  McGillicuddy McGotham by Leonard  Wibberley  According to a review on Goodreadsit is a delightful tale of the first leprechaun to visit the United States. A quick, quaint read about a time when the world was a truly foreign place and local lore and legends were not universally understood.

I enjoyed this book immensely. It was written in the 1950’s but the wit of the author and ideas presented are timeless. A great book to read at the end of a long tough day. It will definitely make you laugh out loud. (notice I wrote that out in full!)

Niamh Clune has written a poignant story Children of Lir on her blog that is well worth reading 

http://ontheplumtree.wordpress.com/2013/03/16/for-st-patricks-day-the-children-of-lir-by-niamh-clune/

There are some great Irish quotes on The Secret Keeper’s site http://thesecretkeeper.net/2013/03/17/celebration-of-the-green

This is one of them.

Shamrock Background

I hope you are all enjoying this special day whether you are Irish or not!

19 Responses to "St. Patrick’s Day"

many thanks for the share, Darlene.

Happy St. Patty’s Day to you too, Darlene. I’m about 1/2 of 1/4 Irish but I pretend to be 100% today. 🙂

Everyone is Irish today! (That was in the book) XO

Nice to see you out and about!

Good thoughts, not only for St. Patrick’s Day but for every day.

To be sure my friend!

I LOVE the quote! 😀

You would enjoy McGillicuddy McGotham. There is a young man about your age in it who befriends the leprechaun. See if they have a copy in your local library.

Beautiful! Happy St Patrick’s Day Darlene!

Thanks! Hope you had a great day!

Happy St Patrick’s Day, Darlene! I like the line “May a rainbow be certain to follow each rain”. Nice sentiment.

Its a lovely sentiment. Thanks!

I love the quote and the pretty illustration at the start of the post. Thanks for sharing

Thanks Babara. Hope all is well in yoru corner.

Thanks for the greeting, Darlene. Love the part of coins in the purse.
blessings ~ maxi

Back at you Maxi and may your purse always hold a few coins!

Lovely post — sorry I’m a day late. I have a lot of Irish blood in me and we celebrated yesterday.

Glad to hear you celebrated and wish you the luck of the Irish.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,698 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

