Darlene Foster's Blog

Reviews Can Make Your Day!

Posted on: February 16, 2013

We all know that writing can be tough and we often feel discouraged. You might think that changes once you are published. I hate to break it to you, but it doesn’t. Writers are by nature, individuals riddled with self-doubt. Sometimes, when you really need it, someone writes a review that can change a bad day, or week, into a ray of sunshine! That’s what happened to me this week.

First, I got a lovely email from Scotland:
Dear Darlene

I have just finished reading “Amanda in England” – what a fast-paced,gripping yarn! My dad has read it too and he couldn’t put it down (he’s 83, so that just goes to show the wide appeal it has. He said it reminded him of the kind of adventure story he enjoyed reading in his youth).

I now want to read the other Amanda books, and look forward to more in the future. Are you working on one at the moment?
Thanks for the entertainment!
Best wishes, Lorna

Then I found I had been given a 5 Star review on Amazon:
A curious young girl, a pony, and a mysterious painting, February 14, 2013
By Christa Polkinhorn

Amanda Ross from Canada is invited by her British friend Leah and Leah’s parents on a trip through Spain. Amanda loves to travel. She is an enthusiastic, spunky, and curious young girl, always eager to learn and explore. And it is precisely her curiosity and her desire to figure things out that often get her into trouble. A painting in a museum of a beautiful, mysterious young girl, a modern real-life version of the girl, a stolen pony, and a few mean-looking men and the relaxing days at the beach Leah was looking forward to, turn into a turbulent and potentially dangerous detective story for the two friends.

AMANDA IN SPAIN is a book for the young and the young-at-heart. Vivid descriptions of the country and its customs, humorous details, and enough tension that keeps you turning the page, make this a very enjoyable reading. I look forward to Amanda’s next adventure!

What a wonderful Valentine’s Day gift!  Thanks so much  Lorna and Christa.

And today, to finish up this amazing week, I was sent a picture that warmed my heart:

IMG_3672

 

A very happy birthday girl who received Amanda in England from her Aunt.

All wonderful reminders of why I write. I am now much more motivated to work on Amanda’s next adventure.

What does it take to motivate you in your endeavours?

42 Responses to "Reviews Can Make Your Day!"

How lovely is that! I can see why you felt the way you did when you saw that photo! Wonderful.

Thanks Ruth. It was a very good feeling at the end of a long week!

Darlene, we all need days like this once in a while. And you certainly deserved the praise!

Well done! And good luck with it!

Thanks Niamh. I appreciate your support and encouragement.

Kudos, Darlene. This review had to make your day. All your hard labor is worth it when you read how much a fan loves you work.
Blessings

Thanks Maxi. Yes, all the hard work is worth it when you get this kind of feedback. Blessings back to you.

Everyone appreciates a pat-on-the-back. Kudos to your generous reader who took the time to tell you how much they love what you do.

I am so lucky to have such awesome readers, blog followers and friends like you!

Glad the letter/email and review and photo made your day extra happy (because it wasn’t a bad week, right?)! 😀

It was already a pretty good week and then it just got better. You have often made my week better with your great reviews and comments Erik!!

so great! I agree, though – it is hard sometimes to keep enthused and think positively, but those little snippets of sunshine sure help!

I think this is common for most writers. Thankfully we have these snippets of sushine as you so aptly called them.

I’m glad to hear your books are a big hit!

Congrats! That is so good to hear!

Thanks for stopping by my blog Khaula and for your positive comment!

Talk about wind in your sails. How wonderful to feel the full force of the wind and be sailing! Congratulations on your books’ reception!

What a lovely way to put it Georgette! Thanks.

How lovely, Darlene! So happy for you! I love hearing from my readers, too! And you are right, there is nothing like a great letter or review to make a writer happy. This means we do not write in vain.

Hugs,
Lada

What a wonderful experience for you. The connection, the validation, hurray for you!

Thanks so much for dropping by and for the positive comment!

Hi Darlene, I hope I told you how much I loved Amanda in England? When I read a story, I tend to forget how much work and effort went into writing it – especially if I am enjoying it. I just sort of get swept along, and that’s what happened when I read Amanda.

Thank you so much Barbara! I am so pleased you enjoyed Amanda’s adventures in England. Although much time and effort went into the story, I did have fun writing it as well.

Reviews and letters are always, always sweet. Your Amanda series are making its way around the world! Thanks for sharing these encouragements and that sunshiny picture of your fan with us.

Thanks so much Claudine! It does warm my heart to see that people all over the worls are reading my books. Who would have thought?

A good review is always up-lifting. How wonderful, Darlene! You must be thrilled. 🙂

Thanks Laura. I am thrilled to say the least.

How lovely for you. Reading this has boosted me too-I’m in the middle of waiting for a story to be published by a local publisher and I’m wondering whether it will ever happen and how much of myself can I afford to invest in the whole project. After reading your post I think I’m right to hang on in there and if it doesn’t work out, I’ll try to find another way.
Off to find out more about your Amanda books now!

Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Good luck with your book and what ever happens, don’t give up.

Isn’t that the truth. My first book goes on pre-order next month and I’ve been busy getting cover quotes and reviews. Nice comments just make me warm all over.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Good luck with the new book!

Thank you. I appreciate your good wishes.

What a great post Darlene 🙂 Yes, as much as we tell ourselves otherwise, reviews do have a big effect, and there’s nothing quite like a great review. To know that someone has considered reading your work a good use of their precious and limited time!

Thanks for sharing 🙂

Take care.

Rohan.

Thanks for visiting and commenting Rohan. Yes, A good review makes all the hard work worth it.

That’s a wonderful picture! I must add that my mum has since read the book too and she couldn’t put it down. When I asked her how she’d got on with it she said she really enjoyed it and thought you came up with a great storyline. All of us now want to read your other titles. Keep up the good work, you’ve got a growing list of fans all over the world! 🙂

Thanks so much Lorna. Bless your mum for reading and enjoying the book. It is so wonderful to know that people of all ages, all over the world are enjoying my writing. It is very motivating to be sure. Hugs to you and your assistants.

Congrats! Darlene. That is such good news! 🙂

I agree that our work is hard but with reviews like those above it makes it all worth while. 🙂

They sure do make it worthwhile and remind us why we started doing this in the first place.

Hi Darlene, pleased to make your acquaintance! I’m a friend of Lada Ray’s and she speaks highly of your work. I look forward to reading your whole series, have a blessed weekend! ♥

Thank you for following my blog. Any friend of Lada’s is a friend of mine! Hope you enjoy the series. Have a great weekend yourself!!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,132 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

