Darlene Foster's Blog

Never Too Late to Become a Writer

Posted on: January 31, 2013

I was invited to guest blog on Donna Martin’s On The Write Track site. Every Wednesday her theme is Writerly Wisdom. Today I wrote about not giving up on your dream to be a published writer. I hope you enjoy it.

Never Too Late To Become A Writer
Darlene Foster

A goal without a plan is just a dream.

Many of us dream of being a writer. After all we have tons of ideas. We spend years talking about it, fantasize signing our books, and envision people saying, “I read your book and loved it.” But there is always an excuse. We are too busy working, raising kids, keeping a house, volunteering, looking after grandchildren or aging parents; the list goes on. Then one day there is a bit more time and we say, “Now I’m too old to write a book. If only I had started years ago. It’s too late.” I have heard this many times.

I was one of those people. I had so many excuses for not sitting down and writing a book. I took writing courses and attended seminars, wrote a few short stories and submitted to the occasional contest, but the idea of writing a book was too daunting and I often felt I left it too late.

Read more………

http://donasdays.blogspot.ca/2013/01/writerly-wisdom_30.html

 

You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” – C. S. Lewis

 

16 Responses to "Never Too Late to Become a Writer"

Loved your post on Donna’s blog. Very inspiring. Thanks Darlene!

Great advice, Darlene. Being a writer I still need to be reminded some days how important it is to write a little bit everyday to eventually reach my goal.

Great post and inspirational too!

Good luck to all the would-be writers. They may not pen the next great Canadian novel but they will have fun trying.

That is so true Sheila. It does not need to be a masterpiece. It goes back to setting realistic goals.

Fantastic Darlene, thank you!

This is a true story.

A woman was told not to submit her book to a certain publishing company because they were not accepting material at the time.

She submitted her manuscript anyway. The publishing company not only accepted her work, they gave her a contract for a trilogy.

The writer was 82 … this was her first book.

Blessings Darlene ~ Maxi

What an amazing story Maxi. Thanks for sharing it as it drives the point home.

Thank you for telling your story – it’s very inspiring!

Thank you for sharing. You are an inspiration and I admire what you have accomplished. Thank you always for your encouraging comments on whatever I write…they keep me on this writing path…destination not known yet, but I’m glad to be writing.

It is nice to hear that I have inspired you. I enjoy your posts as well. Keep writing.

Thank you everyone for your wonderful comments on this post and Donna’s. I have the best followers ever!

Thanks, Darlene, for being part of my WRITERLY WISDOM series. Your post garnered the most comments so far…57 comments! That certainly shows your post hit home for many writers. I also wanted to thank you for being so generous and donating one of your books to my free book giveaway at this year’s Children’s Festival of Reading…I know they will love it!

Donna L Martin

It was my pleasure Donna to be part of your series. The comments were wonderful. Send me your address and I will send a book for the Children’s Festival. Thanks again for including me.

[…] Darlene is the author of a pre-teen book series featuring a 12-year-old girl named Amanda.  I’ve bought and read them all and really enjoyed them.  Darlene explores local cultures with twists and turns to keep her readers interested, yet without being racy or profane as so many books are these days.  I was impressed with Darlene at how she spends two hours a night writing and marketing herself.  I thought I can do that, but have not yet followed up on it!  She has a recent interview on how she got herself started writing. […]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,698 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

