Darlene Foster's Blog

Flat Ruthie Enjoys Tea and Downton Abbey

Posted on: January 21, 2013

Today Flat Ruthie went out for tea with us to a new place in town called The Wood n Frog

DSC02973

DSC02981

It was warm and cozy inside and the tea was served in a delightful teapot. I judge the quality of a place by the teapots they use. Tea made in a cup does not warrant a return trip. I chose a Rooibos tea which was very nice. Hubby had a cafe latte and a blueberry sconce which he quickly gobbled up.  Between mouthfuls, he said it was excellent.

DSC02980

DSC02979

We will certainly return to this spot. The wonderful thing is that it is in walking distance from our house.  Now we have seven coffee shops near our home. We could walk to a different one every day of the week if we were so inclined.  We save going out for tea and/or coffee for the weekends though.

Flat Ruthie enjoys going for tea so much I showed her my special camel teapot given to me as a gift from a dear friend when I launched my first book, Amanda in Arabia – the Perfume Flask

DSC02985

Flat Ruthie has been looking over my shoulder as I read a book  called Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey. She has become quite a fan of Downton Abbey and watches it with us every Sunday evening. We can’t wait to see what happens tonight.

DSC02986

Do you have a favourite coffee/tea shop or a special teapot?  Do you enjoy watching Downton Abbey?

36 Responses to "Flat Ruthie Enjoys Tea and Downton Abbey"

I love your camel teapot! I also think the teapot you got in the Wood n Frog is very impressive for a coffee shop. One of my favourite tearooms is closed over the winter, and by this time every year I’m longing for April when it reopens.

I just knew you would like the teapots Lorna! I hope the time goes quickly so you can enjoy your favourite tearoom again.

Love good, properly made, quality tea and Downton Abbey also. Guess I must be English!

You must be English, like my hubby who enjoys a good cup of tea and Downton Abbey as well!

I wonder does Ruthie resent being called, “Flat.” You know how sensitive women are about their appearance. Especially since she obviously has excellent taste: tea and Downton Abbey! It doesn’t get any better than that.

She doesn’t mind being called flat but she does worry about being blown away at times! Tea and Downton Abbey are two of the finer things in life for sure. What would be even better is having tea with you.

What a lovely camel teapot your friend gifted you. Not only the camel but the top denotes a perfume flask top — perfect souvenir of your first book.

Thanks. It was very thoughtful of her. I am blessed with wonderful friends.

I’m not a huge fan of tea (I only like one, but it is more of a “get well” tea), but I love scones! 😀

My husband says you would have loved these sconces as they melted in his mouth. I didn’t like tea when I was younger either.

Downton Abbey and a nice cup of tea – my idea of heaven. The Wood n frog looks delightful.

Yes, this is my idea of heaven too. The Wood N Frog might make a good name for a coffee/teashop in a book wouldn’t it.

I only drink herbal tea and no coffee. But, I do love Downton Abbey!

I usually drink herbal tea as well, which is why I ordered the Rooibos tea. A red bush tea from Africa which is completely natural and is very good for you. It is great that so many of my readers also love Downton Abbey.

Seven coffee shops! You have a big selection, one for every day. Wow.

Downton Abbey is all the rage here. I don’t get to see it much. It’s up against a show I have watched for a long time.

Blessings ~ Maxi

Thanks Maxi! We are indeed lucky to have so many to chose from.

I love the tea-pot! I also love a cup of strong tea (in the morning) in my special cup, but I haven’t seen Downton Abbey. Sounds like I should!

Every one needs a special cup! I’m sure you would enjoy Downton Anbbey.

How lovely! Heaven it is!
Lucky lucky Flat Ruthie. Wish I were there, too!
Thanks for posting. I will reblog to cardboardmetravels.com now.
Thanks Darlene.

Wish you could join us for a cup of tea. Perhaps one day!

[…] Darlene Foster has outdone herself hosting Flat Ruthie […]

I just discovered Downton Abbey and have watched Season 1 the first 5 episodes (in 2 days) havent gotten much else done though. It’s great.
Ice tea for me in the summer, not fond of hot tea so much.
Loved your post and pictures.

Thanks for stopping by. Downton Abbey is easy to get hooked on.

Big fan of tea (ear grey) and Downton here! And I love your teapot.

Thanks Joanna.I like Earl Grey too,especially if I am feeling under the weather,I have it with lemon and honey. I have just recently discovered Lady Grey which is quite nice as well.

I love Flat Ruthie! What fun photos. I’m a tea junkie, and my favorites are custom mixes that are new to my palate!

I love trying new teas too, and there are so many right now. I just had a coconut green tea. It was so yummy!

Your coffee shop looks like a warm, inviting place. No, I don’t have a favorite, and I’ve not watched Downton Abbey.

We are lucky to have a few favourite places but then any place is great if I am with my sweetie!

Ruthie is such good company! I’m a big fan of Downton Abbey and look forward to it every week… 🙂

It is so good isn’t it. We are in the middle of season three right now.

I have been catching up with your Flat Ruthie posts. 🙂 When our kids were in school, they had a Flat Stanley school project that they sent out into the wilds (Well, to Seattle one time and to Australia the second time). It was such a great way to help them learn beginning geography.
Yes, I am really enjoying this season of Downton Abbey. A bit worried about what kind of shocker the writers will throw at us next week in the season finale… there has already been so much drama and sadness.

Flat Rithie’s visit has been a lot of fun. I can see how Flat Stanley would have been a fun way to learn geography for the kids. I am also wondering what will be next in the Downton Abbey Series. I will be sad to see the end of season 3 as I look forwrad to it all week. (it is the only show I watch on TV right now)

I love exploring new coffee shops! Not into the Downtown Abbey craze yet, but maybe I’ll give it a whirl.

Thanks for visiting my blog Denise. I am so lucky to live in a small community with a variety of coffee shops nearby. Once you start watching Downton Abbey, you will be hooked. Just warning you.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,249 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

