Darlene Foster's Blog

Christmas Memories 2012

Posted on: December 31, 2012

Although it was just my hubby and I on Christmas day this year, we had a pleasant, peaceful, relaxing time. I had an early Christmas with my family in Medicine Hat at the beginning of December. I was there for only a short time but got to see everyone I wanted to see.  It was especially wonderful to attend a Christmas dinner at the retirement centre my mom is living in. My great-aunt Barbara joined us as did my brother  from Calgary.

DSC02882

I am so blessed to have these two wonderful women in my life. Mom turned 84 on Christmas day and Great-Aunt Barbara turned 94 at the end of October.  Mom was happy that I could make it to her Christmas dinner which included carol singing and door prizes. Aunt Barbara is holding a Tim Horton’s gift card she won.

DSC02904

 It was also great to see the grandchildren! They were happy with their gifts.

Grandson #1.

Grandson #1.

Grandosn #2

Grandson #2

Of course any time I get to spend with my awesome son is always special.  He is responsible for those fabulous grandchildren, the best gift he ever gave me.

DSC02911

My daughter and I had our Christmas together on Boxing Day in Nanaimo. (see previous post)  I learned that Christmas isn’t just one day of the year. It can be celebrated at anytime, as long as you are with the ones you love.

I hope you all created some great Christmas memories this year as well.

21 Responses to "Christmas Memories 2012"

Beautiful family! Sounds like you had a lot of fun. Wishing you a wonderful rest of the holiday season and a very Happy New Year!

Thanks Christa. I do have a beautiful family and am so thankful for all of them. Happy New Year!

How can I tell if your son looks like you when he isn’t smiling!! Loved seeing the grandson’s – #2 is going to really be a lady’s man when he gets older – he’s really cute! Grandson #1 looks tall – quite goodlooking too!

Thanks for the family photos – I love seeing them!

Nancy

So pleased you enjoyed the photos Nancy. Happy New Year to you and yours.

Lovely photos Darlene – great that you got to spend the day with family. Family is everything. Your Great Aunt Barbara looks wonderful, as does your mum!
All the best for New Year!

My Mom and great-Aunt are treasures for sure, Happy New year Barb.

What a gorgeous family! Looks like a lovely time was had by all. Happy new year!

Happy New Year to you as well Niamh. I am proud of my family!

According to another Canadian I blog with, Tim Horton’s is the best. Something just told me your mother was to the left in the photo…could it be the smile?

Thank you for sharing these joyful photos. You have a beautiful family and your grands are such a blessing.

It is Christmas any time a family can get together. Thank goodness for birthdays sprinkled throughout the year.

Tim Horton’s is very popular here. I am blessed to have such a wonderful family and I love those grandkids to bits! Happy New Year Georgette!

Happy New Year, Darlene. looks like Christmas with your mom was special – as was mine with my mother who is 82. all the best, my dear.

Christmas with Mom was special and I am so glad I made the effort to visit her and the family. We need to cherish the times we have with them. All the best to you as well Louise,

What a wonderful family you have! Happy New Year Darlene!

Thanks. Happy New Year Meg and happy travels!

My Great-Grandfather is 94 and is living with my grandparents. I like talking to him. I am glad for that. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

How wonderful to still have your great-grandfather. You can learn so much from a 94 year old. Enjoy your visits with him. My 11 year-old grandson visits my mom (his great-grandmother) regularly and picks up her mail for her. Happy new year Erik!

I am glad your grandson likes talking to your Mom! 🙂 They are wonderful people. 🙂

Great family photos, Darlene. Looks like a wonderful time and fond memories.

Thanks Patti They are a pretty great bunch.

What lovely ‘photos. It looks as though you had a wonderful Christmas.

Like you, I enjoy spending time with my grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,017 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

