Darlene Foster's Blog

Boxing Day Visit to Nanaimo

Posted on: December 28, 2012

We had a quiet restful Christmas Day at our house, which was itself a welcome gift. On Boxing Day I travelled by ferry to Vancouver Island to meet my daughter in Nanaimo.  We had a wonderful time relaxing in a cozy coffee shop, visiting and exchanging gifts. 

DSC02952

I brought Flat Ruthie along as she had never been to Nanaimo. She had heard about the famous Nanaimo bars though. Marcelle and Ruthie became fast friends, as I knew they would. Ruthie was taken with Marcelle’s Painted Pony Handbag.

DSC02945

She was also intrigued with the Matcha Latte Marcelle ordered.  I had a vanilla almond latte which was also very good

DSC02947

You may have read about my daughter the potter on previous posts and how proud I am of her: 

https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/alice-in-wonderland/

https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/the-mad-mudslinger/

I love all the pottery she has given me over the years but the urn she gave me this Christmas is totally amazing. As you can see, Flat Ruthie likes it too.

DSC02956

Nanaimo has many wonderful bookstores so we dropped in at a used bookstore near the coffee shop. Marcelle bought three books on Feng Shui and I found one I couldn’t resist. Flat Ruthie and I had fun looking through it on the ferry ride home.

DSC02957

 Nanaimo Bar Recipe

Bottom Layer
½ cup unsalted butter (European style cultured)
¼ cup sugar
5 tbsp. cocoa
1 egg beaten
1 ¼ cups graham wafer crumbs
½ c. finely chopped almonds
1 cup coconut

Melt first 3 ingredients in top of double boiler. Add egg and stir to cook and thicken. Remove from heat. Stir in crumbs, coconut, and nuts. Press firmly into an ungreased 8″ x 8″ pan.

Second Layer
½ cup unsalted butter
2 Tbsp. and 2 Tsp. cream
2 Tbsp. vanilla custard powder
2 cups icing sugar

Cream butter, cream, custard powder, and icing sugar together well. Beat until light. Spread over bottom layer.

Third Layer
4 squares semi-sweet chocolate (1 oz. each)
2 Tbsp. unsalted butter

Melt chocolate and butter over low heat. Cool. Once cool, but still liquid, pour over second layer and chill in refrigerator. Enjoy!

Taken from the City of Nanaimo’s website

Capture6-12-2006-9_28_13%20AM%20(Small)

I hope you all had a wonderful Boxing Day as well!

 

30 Responses to "Boxing Day Visit to Nanaimo"

aye, that Flat Ruthie has good taste! Happy New Year to you all!

Thanks Shea! Wishing you all the best for Happy New Year as well.

Those sound wonderful! Your daughter does nice work. She looks a lot like her mother. 🙂 It looks like Flat Ruthie is experiencing many new things. You’ll have to take me next time!

I would so love to take you next time Patti. Saying my daughter looks like me is a huge compiment. Thanks!!

You reminded me of why I wish life had granted us a daughter. Lucky you and a lovely post.

I am very lucky to have a wonderful daughter. Thanks Katherine.

That looks delicious. YUM!

Have a very HAPPY NEW YEAR in 2013. Hopefully, we will all find our dreams and wishes listened to and become a reality in the GOOD sense of the word. Love Peace Joy and Bliss I wish to you. jk the secret keeper Jennifer Kiley

Oh! & also, I Nominate You for the “Shine On Award.” All You Have to Do is To Enjoy the Award and if you choose you can Post it on You Own Blog.

Come to my blog at “the secret keeper (dot) net” and go down the right column to under the Beautiful Panther’s Image and Save the Award to photos. And if you would like, read what I wrote on the post Shine On Award and anything else you would like to do. Just enjoy yourself. Peace, Jennifer

Thank you so much Jennifer for those sweet words and for the Shine On Award. How very thoughtful of you. All the best in the new year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR Darlene. Shine On. jk u r welcome…

Glad you could see your daughter! 🙂

No matter how old your children are, you always enjoy seeing them.

What lovely photos Flat Ruthie took, especially the one of you and your daughter! (wink) Your daughter is very creative–such a beautiful urn and the painted pony purse she carries is lovely. “Queen Victoria’s Children” sounds irresistible. i think it would have called out to me, too, as does this cookie bar recipe. Thank you for sharing.

Flat Ruthie is very handy with the camera! I am so proud of my very creative daughter, for sure. Hope you try out the Nanaimo bars, warning – they are addictive! Have a Happy New Year Georgette.

They remind me of Neiman Marcus bars in TX. Very addictive.

Sounds like a wonderful Boxing Day, Darlene. Flat Ruthie seems like the perfect friend to take on a ferry ride, always smiling and never talking back. Your daughter resembles you quite a bit, nice pic!

Thanks Lisa. Happy New Year!!

What a great way to end the year! All the best to you and Flat Ruthie in 2013.
Susan

Thanks Susan, it was a good way to end the year. Wishing you a very happy and succesful New Year!

Your daughter looks just like you when she smiles!

I love that urn – she does great work.

Nancy

Thanks Nancy! We do have some things in common such as our smiles. I thought you would like the urn. Happy New year!!

Nanaimo bars are the best. thanks for the recipe

Yum, yum, love this bar! 🙂

They are soooo god. I’m pretty sure that is why my husband immigrated to Canada from the UK so he could have Nanaimo Bars when ever he wanted (or maybe it was to be with me, not sure!)

Happy New Year, Darlene! Wishing you and your family much success and happiness in 2013!

As you may know, my new YA Crossover fantasy/thriller, THE EARTH SHIFTER, is coming out tomorrow, 12/31/12. It’s very international and contains elements of history (which you may like).
I was wondering whether you’d be interested in becoming one of THE EARTH SHIFTER’s first reviewers? I’d be honored… I am presently looking for speedy reviews to complement the release.
This is the latest post with details/synopsis/characters/setting, as well as exceprts galore for your information: http://ladaray.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/the-earth-shifter-epic-journey-begins-on-123112/.
If you are interested, please email me @ jade.snow at yahoo and I’ll send you a free Smashwords coupon, which allows downloads in any format of your choice.
By the way, I’ll also have a mega-giveaway with some very valuable prizes, which you may like.

Cheers and all the best!

Lada Ray 🙂

Matcha latte? That’s a new one on me. That cake looks wonderful, and what a great way to spend Boxing Day, in a coffee shop and bookshops with your lovely daughter. Happy New Year Darlene!

It was indeed the ideal way to spend Boxing Day! Happy New Year to you and yours as well Lorna.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,913 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

