Darlene Foster's Blog

Summer Reading

Posted on: August 6, 2012

One of my favourite things about summer is the chance to do more reading; at the beach, in the backyard, at a coffee shop or on a holiday.  A number of friends have asked me for a reading list this summer. So I thought, why not share some books I enjoyed reading recently with my blogging buddies. Here is a list from me to you (in no particular order):

The Dove Keepers by Alice Hoffman

Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

The Bookseller of Kabul by Asne Seierstad

The Winter Vault by Anne Michaels

Madmae Bovary’s Daughter by Linda Urbach

Martha Quest by Doris Lessing

The Brevity of Roses by Linda Cassidy Lewis

Half Blood Blues by  Esi Edugyan

Shadows in the Stone by Diane Lynn McGyver

The Hambledown Dream by Dean Mayes

Making Bombs For Hitler by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch

Hunger Journeys by Maggie De Vries

Note:  the last two are written for children but are excellent stories about World War II from the eyes of a child.

What am I reading right now?

Secret Daughter by Shili Somaya Gowda and loving it!

Sometimes I read at the beach, and sometimes I read on our patio.

What have you been reading this summer and where?

 

 

 

 

31 Responses to "Summer Reading"

Wool Omnibus right now. It’s well written.

I will check that one out. Thanks for visiting.

Not everyone’s cuppa, but I hold my freak flag high.

Just finished Why Men Lie by linden MacIntyre: loved it! One of my favorites in some time!

These days my reading pretty much gets done at the end of the day in bed.

Your list is entirely new for me but for Brevity of Roses–always love a new reading list 🙂

Thanks Jennifer. I will add Why Men Lie onto my list. Reading in bed is always wonderful.

In my grandparents’ basement, reading with skunks on my camping trip, down by my grandparents’ pond, and I have read so many books I have lost count.;)

Reading with skunks!! I love it. You have introduced me to so many wonderful books. Thanks.

The Paris Wife, The Arrivals, Everything – on the front porch swing with a fan on HIGH! lol

I have wanted to read The Paris Wife for some time now. Must put it on my ever growing list. A porch swing sounds heavenly.

I am reading – The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. I have Madame Bovary’s Daughter on my list. Having read about the tragic life of her mother, I want to see if the daughter fares any better.

I have The Forgotten Garden waiting to be read. But then we have always had similar tastes in books. Have you read Secret Daughter yet? I think you would like it and I know Jill would as well.

a wonderful crime/mystery called The Wake-Up by Robert Ferrigno – by the way how is the Hydrangia plant doing – did you find it a spot on your patio – hope so. Hugs to you

Thanks for stopping by mu blog Linda. The hydrangia is doing well on the patio. Hope all is well and you are enjoying your grandchild. Hugs back.

The last book I read for “pleasure” was Micki Peluso’s book “And The Whippoorwill Sang” and I read it our patio with our dogs. Thanks for the reading list!

Thanks Sandra. I will check out the book you mentioned. Sometimes our cat likes to snuggle up with me when I read on the patio. Pets are great reading companions.

Wow – looks like a great list. I wish I had more time for reading, especially during the day. It is such a relaxing pastime. I also enjoy having a special place like yours to read. Your flowers are lovely – is the bright blue on the bottom right a hydrangea? It’s an incredibly vivid colour.

There is never enough time for reading during the day! (I manage to read on the bus during my commute to work) The blue flower is a hydrangea. The plant didn’t produce as many flowers this year as usual but that one is very pretty.

Thanks for sharing your reading list…I’ve been wanting to check out a few on there. This summer I’ve been reading a nonfiction release entitled Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. Definitely a good read, especially if you have introverted people in your life or are yourself. I used to like reading at the beach, but now I watch my two little boys when we’re there so mostly I read in the evening after they are asleep!

I have heard of “Quiet” and understand it is quite good. When my children were young I couldn’t read at the beach either as you have to keep an eye on them. Hope you are having a good summer, now that it is finally here on the west coast!

The Brevity of Roses sounds interesting, Darlene. I’ll add it to my reading list. I’m sort of in-between books at the moment; I recently read Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell, a lyrically written twist on one of the many Arthurian legends. I’ve just started chipping away at the Fellowship of the Ring. You might find me reading on the patio or, if the bugs are scarce, sitting in the garden amongst the tiger lilies!

I think you will enjoy The Brevity of Roses. It is Ms. Cassidy Lewis’s first novel and quite good. I love anything connected to the Authurian legends so I will check out Song of The Sparrows. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

I’m reading “Last Call: The Rise And Fall of Prohibition” by Daniel Okrent. Pretty good, and I’ll probably write a review of it when I’m finished. I’m also reading a LOT of comic books and I plan to give quick reviews of them too!

I look forward to your review of Last Call. Thanks for visiting. Hope all is well.

Summer is the worst time for reading for me. I haven’t read anything since I finished MacLean in June. Once things slow down outside and the kids return to a regular schedule because of school, I can read again. I read in the barn while my daughter is taking riding lessons; I read at the pool when my son is taking swimming lessons; I read while I’m waiting for my other son to get out of track.

I remember well the days when my kids were still at home and I didn’t get much chance to read. Seems like you manage to sneak reading time in whenever you can!

I wish I had more time for reading too. I sneak it in when I can. Lunch breaks, waiting rooms at the dentist/doctor. I love having the kindle app on my phone. I’m currently reading Sugar’s Dance by Katie Mettner, and I’m loving it.

Thanks Dana. It seems readers always mamange to find time here and there to sneak in reading time. I will check out Sugar’s Dance

Thank you for the mention, Darlene. Sorry I’m so late seeing this. I’m also sorry I don’t have time for reading this summer. Too much writing.

I wanted you to know that my nine-year-old granddaughter got a Kindle Fire for her birthday and her father bought both your Amanda books for her. She’s reading the first one now and said to tell you it’s good. 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to visit Linda. You are on a roll right now with your writing and that’s great! So pleased your granddaughter is enjoying Amanda’s travels.

I like lists, especially when books are involved. Thanks for sharing.
I’m reading Kongamato by Roger Lawrence, not my usual thing at all it’s definitely not Y/A more blood and horror, but I’m enjoying it. I really didn’t expect to so that’s a bonus.

I am a list maker from way back so it made sense to share a list of books I have enjoyed recently. I also love it when books are recommended to me. List makers unite!!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,143 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

