Darlene Foster's Blog

Tulip Thyme

Posted on: May 3, 2012

As my mom gets older and less and less mobile, I find myself reflecting on some of the wonderful times we have had together.  Mom lives in another province so we only see each other once or twice a year.  Four years ago, a year after we lost Dad, I invited her to come for a visit in April, specifically so I could take her to the tulip festival in La Conner,Washington.    I knew how much she loved tulips and felt this would be a great place for us to visit together.

 

Although we woke up early to take the two hour journey south from my home in British Columbia, we still had to wait a long time to get through the border.  It was a sunny west coast day and no doubt many people wanted to take in the festival. It was certainly worth the wait.

 

 

Following signs, we drove along the road heading west where we noticed spots of intense colour in the distance. The closer we got, the more evident it became that these splashes of pinks, purples, reds and yellows were actually acres of tulip fields.

 

 

What an amazing sight. Mom was visibly delighted. We parked the car and wandered amongst the tulips. Not only were the colours amazing, but the variety of shapes and sizes were astounding.  A photographer’s dream; even for an amateur such as myself.

 

 

 

A little girl, all dressed up, posed for her picture between the rows of flowers.  Her parents gave us permission to photograph her. What a sweetie.

Stopping at a number of tulip farms, there seemed to be no end to them, we could not believe the selection of tulips.  We had never seen anything like it! We arrived back home later that evening, tired but happy. Mom never did get to Holland to see the tulip fields, but she was very pleased to have been to the La Conner tulip festival.  I am so glad we had the opportunity to do this together when we could.  What great memories. She still talks about it.  If you ever find youself in the Pacific Northwest in April, I suggest you make a point of visiting the Tulip Festival.

 

Is there something special you have done with a loved one that remains in your fond memory?

37 Responses to "Tulip Thyme"

What a beautiful time together with your mother and the tulips!

Thanks Ruth. It was indedd beautiful!

Wow! Darlene! These are really beautiful photos. And what a sweet memory to share with your lovely mom.

Thanks! She is lovely and I am lucky to still have her.

Great pics, Darlene. I’ve always wanted to do that – maybe now I will! I just have to wait for a nice day.

You must do this, it is unbelieveable! It is abit late now but due to a cool spring they will probably still be lots of tulips. If not, put it on your calendar for next year.

Our memories of our mothers are ongoing gifts. Enjoy yours.

They are precious gifts. Thanks Sheila.

What gorgeous photos and what a beautiful relationship you and your mom have–you are so blessed to have each other!

Thanks Sandra! I do treasure the wonderful relationship I have with my mom.

What a lovely place and what wonderful memories Darlene. My Mom has been gone for 12 years now but she still lives on in my heart! Days like this you keep forever.

I’m also here to tell you that my little sunbeam is shining on you this week. Hope you enjoy it!

Sharon xx

I realize how fortunate I am to still have my mother and to have these great memories. Thanks so much for the sunbeam!!

what a lovely memory of you and your mom together. Very nice. and the pics are gorgeous

Keep meaning to go back to this astonishing place at tulip time. You’ve encouraged me to do so… THx!

You must mark it on your calendar to return. Thanks for stopping by.

I’m glad you shared this wonderful memory and lovely photos! I enjoyed both.

Nancy

You can’t go wrong with tulip pictures. Glad you enjoyed the post.

These are beautiful! I can’t imagine so many in one area. Thanks for sharing your photos.
My fond memory was having the opportunity to take my mom across the state of Virginia to visit a lifelong friend of hers who had moved from their hometown to live with her sister in the mountains here. It was a great road trip, spending a night at a motel on the way. Thanks for asking. 🙂

To see fields upon fields of these amazing flowers is a sight you will never forget. Thanks for sharing your memory. Sounds like fun.

Your photos are fantastic, Darlene, yet it is the one of you and your mom that touches my heart.

You’re a good daughter; your mom must feel so loved.

Blessings – Maxi

Thanks Maxi. Mom has always been very good to us so it is fitting that we show her much love. I do love that picture of us together. XO

Thanks for following my blog!

Hi, I’m visiting from Sharon’s. Congratulations on the Sunbeam award. The tulip fields are gorgeous! I have been to La Conner, but it was not at tulip time of year. I see you are in BC. I lived there for a few years when I was a child.

Thanks so much for visiting. I am not sure how WordPress missed sending me this comment but better late than never. Your site is lovely! I’m sure you have some happy memories of living in BC.

thank you for your lovely remarks on my site. These tulips and your family are both cheerful and beautiful.

Thanks for those kind words. Beauty is everywhere if you look for it.

I was very moved while reading your post. My mum had never been to Scotland and had never flown so before she died, we took her on a trip to Edinburgh. The captain and flight crew made such a fuss of her, and even allowed her to visit the flight deck. We have some wonderful memories of those few days away. Congratulations on receiving Sharon’s Little Sunbeam award.

Sounds like a great trip you had with your mum. Aren’t glad we made the effort. Thanks Barbara.

Flowers always are beautiful.

All flowers are beautiful but I especially love tulips for some reason. Thanks for following my blog.

How nice to enjoy your time with your mom! What lovely photos!

Thanks! It was a very nice time. Glad you enjoyed the photos.

Pls send me your address or give me your website. You have my email address, I think.

I have sent you my address to your yahoo eamil address. Let me know if you get it OK. Thanks.

I love tulips! Thank you!

So glad you enjoyed the photos and story. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,017 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

