Darlene Foster's Blog

Every Child is Entitled to Innocence

Posted on: April 13, 2012

This is a re-post of a previous blog.  There has been a change to the publisher’s website and  the book is being offered FREE for the next couple of days to get the word out.  So I decided to share it again with all of my wonderful followers.  You might want to check it out and please share with your friends; Every Child is Entitled to Innocence

I am proud to have my story, Good Hands, included in this inspiring publication, along with other amazing stories by talented writers.

Every Child is Entitled to Innocence was the first publication of the newly- formed Plum Tree Books.  Profits from the sales of this e-book are being donated to Child Helpline International.

This is part of the forward to the book:

In 2010 more than 14.5 million children, or adults on behalf of children, contacted child helplines around the world. Experiences collated from different child helplines reveal that children calling for assistance are often in need of shelter, medical, emotional support or guidance, are in need of support during a family crisis, during abuse (physical/emotional/sexual), in need of repatriation, or in need of support for school related problems.

On behalf of all of the child helpline counsellors across the globe who are there for children in need at all hours of the day and night, I would like to thank Dr Niamh Clune & Orangeberry Books for bringing this collection of stories about childhood together. These stories help remind us of the power of sharing our experiences, happy and sad alike. Every child who contacts a child helpline is reaching out, making sure their voices are heard, and that their problems do not go unnoticed and untreated. These stories do the same.

Nenita La Rose, Executive Director.

www.childhelplineinternational.org

Says initiator of the project, Dr. Niamh Clune, “I met many writers through the Internet that experienced difficult childhoods yet have overcome their brutal beginnings. I wanted to make the first Plum Tree publication a celebration of creative imagination. This powerful friend of damaged children plays an essential role in an abused child’s recovery. Gathering this series of stories was a joy. Plun Tree Books has developed special, vibrant relationships with contributors and has forged many lasting friendships.

We encouraged happy stories that reflected the innocence of childhood when infants feel wrapped in the warmth of loving arms. We wanted to contrast these with the sad ones, making them stand out in relief against a bright backdrop. We felt this comparison would demonstrate, without explanation, what happens when innocence is stolen. In this book, the reader will find many wonderful, heart-warming stories; whilst the sad ones demonstrate the magnificence of the human spirit as it triumphs against all the odds.”

The e-book can be ordered from   Amazon.com

Visit http://www.wix.com/niamhclune/everychild for more information

Thank you Niamh for putting this project together and for including the story about my wonderful father who provided an innocent and memorable childhood for me.

 

18 Responses to "Every Child is Entitled to Innocence"

Sounds amazing, Darlene. Unfortunately, this book isn’t available in my region (Asia & Pacific). Please let us know if it gets distributed farther ok? (I’ll be very happy to purchase a copy.)

Thanks for your interest Claudine. Niamh is working on making the book available in your region.

I ordered it – thanks for letting us know!

Thanks so much Nancy!

Sounds like a great project, Darlene. Thanks for the info.

It is a great project and I am so happy to be part of it. Thanks Patti!

Thank You for posting this Darlene. It is wonderful to get the information ‘out there’ I must see what I can do to make it available further afield for Claudine. Also, I would love to make your readers aware of the Every Child page…http://www.wix.com/niamhclune/everychild Please drop by and say hello.

A very thought provoking post Darlene and what a great cause. It is very sad to think that some children don’t have the love and support so many of us take for granted. Unfortunately I don’t have a kindle as that is a fabulous offer.

You are so right, for a long time I assumed eveyone had a happy childhood like I did. I have since thanked my parents many times over.

I ordered the book and I liked and tagged the Amazon page. Thanks so much!

Thanks so much Sandra for the support.

Indeed! Sincere thanks for your support, Sandra.

Thank you for the information, it sounds like a really worthwhile project.

as a survivor of childhood abuse, I appreciate this book being written, and your part in promoting it.

Every Child is Entitled to Innocence … the title alone pulls one in. Blessings – Maxi

Reblogged this on the secret keeper and commented:
The subject of the first book published by Plum Press holds a special place in my heart, having experienced a traumatic childhood, but have found many loving people along the way who have helped me grow out of the pain with love and lots of hugs and continued encouragement along the way in my healing. I am familiar with the writing of Dr. Niamh Clune, whose creative book “Orange Petals In the Storm” led me to first hear about the book “Every Child Is Entitled to Innocence,” After I reblog this uplifting post I intend to visit Amazon.com to purchase “Every Child Is Entitled to Innocence.” That is the hardest thing to recover from, the lost of innocence. Once stolen can never be recovered. It is like opening Pandora’s Box, once the evils are released into te world, they constantly needed to be confronted and destroyed whenever possible. ~jen kiley~

I had to gather these stories and add my own, of course. Some of the most inspirational and effective people I have met in my work and travels have been those who have come from dysfunctional childhoods. Personal experience served only to deepen compassion and Humanity. Best, Niamh

Welcome to my blog Jen and thanks for reblogging. I hope you enjoy my story and all the other wonderful stories in the anthology. Thanks so much for your support. XO

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,913 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

