Darlene Foster's Blog

Spending Time in Bookstores

Posted on: April 1, 2012

“The Bookshop has a thousand books,

All colors, hues, and tinges,

And every cover is a door

That turns on magic hinges.”   

―      Nancy Byrd Turner

This may or may not surprise you but I love spending time in bookstores! So in spite of having a tough week at work learning a new computer system amoung other stressful things, I had an enjoyable Saturday chatting with book lovers and signing my books at Black Bond Books at Guildford Mall in Surrey, BC

It was fun to be surrounded by books and treated well by the wonderful staff. One high school girl who aspires to be an author herself one day, dropped by and had many questions.  I wished her well and told her to hold on to her dream.  I brought Ali Baba the camel and Pedro the pony with me.  The kids love them.   I still can’t believe I can spend a day in a bookstore and people will come to see me and buy my books.  If this is a dream, please don’t wake me up.

Don’t I have just the most adorable fans!

 

A bookstore is one of the only pieces of evidence we have that people are still thinking. Jerry Seinfeld

26 Responses to "Spending Time in Bookstores"

KUDUS and love the Seinfeld quote.

Yes, you do have the most adorable fans! I can think of nothing better than spending a day in a bookstore.

Your face tells it all! You are not dreaming. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

You look like an ole’ pro, Darlene. How fun this looks to be for you. 🙂
Bookstores are some of the best places on earth, in my opinion.

Thanks for posting that Seinfeld quote; it’s a great one. I may have to use that one myself. 🙂

I always enjoy hanging out at the book store as a reader. It always feels like an adventure trying to find a book — even when I don’t know what I’m looking for. Congrats on having a signing.

Great post! I agree 🙂 Timothy Davis sent me this quote and I like it – “Where is human nature so weak as in the bookstore?”
― Henry Ward Beecher
I agree with that too!

Thanks Erik for another great quote. It is so true too.

Hi Darlene,

It is such a gift to be doing what you love and be so successful at it! Congrats! And, is that a heart shaped table?

Thanks Shea. It is not a heart shaped table but does look like it with my Spanish shawl on it. The staff at the store love how I decorate the table.

It is such a gift to be doing what you love and be so successful at it! Congrats! And, is that a heart shaped table?

I too love to be surrounded by books. Whether it be in a book store or in my own home. Bring on the books!

That’s why there are books in every room in my house! “A room without books is like a house without windows” (Can’t remember who said that but it was a wise person for sure)

How wonderful to wake up to all these amazing comments. Thank you so much everyone!

I was admiring all the colorful cookbooks in the kitchen of a baby shower hostess yesterday. 🙂 Books…we’re drawn to them wherever we find them.

Love your photos and love your adorable fans!

Posts on bookstores are always lovely, especially so with your adorable fans and the quotes. I love that Jerry Seinfield quote!

Glad to hear you had such a wonderful time, Darlene..

Learning a new computer system, ugh! Signing books for precious fans, yeah!

Congratulations and many blessings – Maxi

So true Maxi! Thanks for the good thoughts.

Wow isn’t this fabulous – what a great way to spend a Saturday (and with such cute fans too!) I also love the Seinfeld quote – its an absolute classic!

It was fun and I love the Seinfeld quote too. Thanks so much for stopping by.

Wow isn’t this fabulous. What a great way to spend a Saturday and with such cute fans too. I also love your Seinfeld quote – its an absolute classic!

I love book stores, too, and can easily lose and hour or three browsing the shelves. It’s like I want to see every cover.

The signs “I think there’s a book here for you” and “Eat, Sleep, Read Local” are excellent.

Thanks Diane! The signs in this bookstore are great which is why I wanted to share that picture. We really need to support our local bookstores as I can’t imagine a world without them.

I love bookstores — and this one looks extra special. Thanks for sharing your wonderful booksigning experience!

I love browsing for books. Anywhere I go, I want to look. How cool though when they come to see you 🙂

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,017 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

