Darlene Foster's Blog

Thankful for my Network

Posted on: February 27, 2012

“Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family. Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.” ~ Jane Howard, novelist

I was invited, as a guest author, to the Surrey Reads & Writes event at the amazing Surrey City Centre Library yesterday.  It was a well organized event that started with a panel discussion featuring five local writers who shared valuable advice on the art of writing.  Sylvia Taylor, an accomplished writer and public speaker said, “Every writer needs a network.” She went on to say, “Networking is to writers what location is to realtors.”

How true these words are.  It made me think about how lucky I am to have such an amazing network.  As I looked around the room, I saw many writers from my network, some who I had first met through social media.  Among them was Lorna Suzuki, who awarded my short story First Honourable Mention at the Cecilia Lamont Writing Contest in 2005, which encouraged me to keep writing. Also Lois Peterson and Gina McMurchy Barber who have been supportive mentors, and many more.

My biggest fan at Surrey Reads & Writes!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am so thankful for the many friends I have made, all over the world, through blogging.  I can’t express my appreciation enough for those of you who follow my blog and post comments.  You have no idea how excited I get every time I receive a message that some one has liked my blog or has commented on it.  I do a happy dance every time I get a new subscriber.  (My husband does not understand this behavior!)

I was recently tagged by Barbara at March Hare Books, a whimsical blog with nostalgic posts that you must check out.

One rule is to answer her questions, so here goes:

Do you use a bookmark or will any old bit of paper do?

I use a bookmark and usually a different one each time as I have a number of them.  Many of my bibliophile friends bring me bookmarks back from their travels so they are all special.

 What new books are you most excited to read this year?

I have a huge pile of books on my TBR list.  I like to read any new children’s books to keep on top of trends.  I have a couple of Doris Lessing books I can’t wait to read and I purchased Gina McMurchy Barber’s “Reading The Bones” novel at Surrey Reads & Writes yesterday.  I have a keen interest in archaeology so this will be a fun read for me. I might reread some old Trixie Beldan books too.

Favourite season?

Summer! I love the hot sun, walking on the beach and eating on the patio.  My dream is to eventually live somewhere where I don’t have to wear socks. My husband says I am solar powered.

If money were not an issue, what present would you give yourself?

A trip around the world.

Do you buy second-hand books, new books or both?

I buy books period, any where, anytime. At garage sales, second hand book stores, fund raisers, book stores, on line etc.  I can’t walk by any place that has books for sale. It is a disease.

Early bird or night owl?

I tend to be an early bird. I like to get a good start on the day.

Do you like to read a specific genre? If so, what genre is it?

My reading is quite eclectic.  I write for children so I read a lot of children and YA.  I also like historic fiction and stories set in other parts of the world.  I also enjoy the classics and contemporary women’s stories.

Who is your favourite literary character of all time?

That is so hard to pick.  I guess it would be Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice but Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables is a close second.

Physical books, E-books or audio books?

All books, in any format.  I love my Sony e-Reader for travelling.  Audio books are great for when I am driving my car.  

 If your life was made into a movie, who would you like to play you?

Sally Fields

Cat person or dog person?

We have two black cats, Pumpkin and Monkey so I guess that makes me a cat person.  But I do love dogs too and we have had one or two in the past.

The Tag rules;

1. You must post the rules!

2. Answer the questions and then create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged.

3. Tag eleven people and link to them.

4. Let them know you’ve tagged them.

Here are the people I have tagged.  Barbara’s questions are so great I am going to use the same ones.  Can’t wait to hear your answers.

http://newfoundlandtraveller.wordpress.com/

http://lauraabest.wordpress.com/

http://careann.wordpress.com/

http://dianetibert.com/

http://keligwyn.wordpress.com/

http://pattisjarrett.wordpress.com/

http://thiskidreviewsbooks.com/

http://www.sheilamacarthur.com/

http://pamchamberlain.com/

http://www.kidscandoit.com/blog/

http://jenniferneri.wordpress.com/

Please check out these great blogs.  What a  perfect way to expand your network, meet new people and learn new things.

Thanks so much for being part of my network. I couldn’t do it without you!

 

14 Responses to "Thankful for my Network"

I’m glad you had such a great time at the Surrey Reads & Writes event, Darlene. What a precious picture of you and your young pal.

I hear you on how fun it is to connect with our writing and blogging buddies in person and online. I have a wealth of wonderful friends, making me a rich person indeed.

Thanks for tagging me in your post. Those are great questions. I’ll be answering some of them on my blog over the next few weeks.

Thanks Keli. I know it takes time to create the answers and make a list of those you want to share the tag with. So take your time, I look forwrad to your answers.

Hello Darlene, I really enjoyed reading your replies and found myself nodding in agreement! I also buy books, anywhere, anytime; l love cats, dogs and the summer, and have lots of ‘special’ bookmarks given to me by friends – need I go on? Your cats have wonderful names – Pumpkin and Monkey – what fun!

I truly believe the universe connects us with people of similar interests. It is amazing we have so much in common. Our cats came with those names and, as they already had them for 5 years, we decided not change them. They do seem to suit.

I love the photo of you and your fan. What greater thing for a writer then to meet the people who read and enjoy the stories we write.

Thanks for the shout out, Darlene. Great questions, I loved your answers. 🙂

Thanks Laura. Glad you enjoyed the answers. I look forward to hearing yours, should you choose to answer them.

Thank you for “tagging” me : ) I liked reading about you. I like all sorts of different books too 🙂 I pretty much read anything anywhere 🙂
I liked your answers!

I look forward to your answers when you have time.

Love your photo and you’re so right–everyone needs a support network!
Love your blog and I’ll be back!

Thanks so much Sandra.

I’m glad I’m part of your clan too!

Nancy

You are very much part of my clan Nancy!

I was passing by and was intrigued by one of your sections, ” Amanda In Arabia”. Why ? Because I live in the authentic Arabia there is ( Oman) and have done so for the last twenty years.

Your stuff is a lovely read.

Shakti

Thank you for stopping by Shakti. My story takes place in the Untied Arab Emirates where I spend two weeks visiting friends. I did manage to spend a day in Oman and loved it. Wished I could have stayed longer. Please stop by anytime.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,145 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

