Darlene Foster's Blog

Tigh-Na-Mara

Posted on: February 23, 2012

I just spent a wonderful weekend with my daughter at the Tigh-Na-Mara Resort on Vancouver Island.  It was great to stay in a cosy room overlooking tall arbutus and cedar trees.  We sat in the hot tub and talked, relaxed in the sauna and talked, shared delicious appetizers while enjoying a cocktail and talked, sat up late in the night in front of the fire and, you guessed it, talked.  The room was so comfortable we didn’t want to leave it.  I was fortunate to have won an over night stay at this renowned resort at the BC Association of Travel Writers  symposium last year.

 

 

 

The next morning, as part of the package, we spent time in the beautiful Grotto Mineral Pool. Set in a natural stone looking grotto with a warm water pool infused with natural minerals and trace elements from Hungary, we detoxified our bodies and rejuvenated our spirits. There was also a two-story waterfall, an invigorating glacial plunge cascade and a non-mineralized whirlpool to enjoy.  We followed this with a visit to the relaxation lounge, only robes and pool sandals allowed, where we enjoyed fresh fruit and herb tea while sitting in big comfy chairs made of cedar logs.  Needless to say, we left without a care in the world.

grotto mineral pool

 

 

 

 

It is so wonderful to have a daughter I could share this experience with and who I can talk freely with and discuss all manner of things.  This weekend was just what I needed.  We both left detoxified and rejuvenated indeed!!  Ready to face the weeks ahead.

I wrote about my amazing potter daughter in an earlier post https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/the-mad-mudslinger/

Have you had any short get-aways with someone special lately that left you relaxed and happy?

27 Responses to "Tigh-Na-Mara"

It sounds wonderful, Darlene. I can’t think of a better way to spend time with a daughter. You are very fortunate. 🙂

I’m blessed with three now-adult children who I love spending time with. Most often it’s camping/RVing trips, or a summer holiday at our cabin, but my oldest daughter shared a couple Surrey Conference weekends with me (she’s also a writer), and that was very special. I can imagine how wonderful your Tigh-Na-Mara weekend would have been. Family friends held a wedding there several summers ago… such a beautiful place. 🙂

Any time with adult children is special. How wonderful that you and your daughter share the same love of writing and have attended SiWC together.

What a wonderful way to spend time with your daughter. It looks like a gorgeous place to stay.

It is gorgeous. We are fortunate to have some fabulous scenery here on the west coast of British Columbia.

Darlene, you had my attention instantly this morning. A few years ago I read a newspaper article about Tigh na Mara and fell in love with the name. It means house by the sea in Gaelic. So infatuated with the name, I used it in my the second novel in my fantasy series.

Everyone needs a get-away weekend like that once in a while. Perhaps when my daughter gets older we’ll take off for a weekend.

That pool looks absolutely enchanting.

The name is intriquing and I think it is so cool that you used it in your book! Spending time with an adult daughter is special. But I used to arrange little get aways just for the two of us when she was younger too and it was always fun.

What a wonderful place. I’m glad you and your daughter were able to share this experience, Darlene.

Thanks Keli. We both have busy lives and it is difficult to find time together so this was special.

Sounds fabulous!! You both are so lucky to have each other!!

We are lucky Jillian and these occassions remind us how fortunate we are. XO

what a fabulous looking place to relax & feel thoroughly pampered. It looks gorgeous. The name is very intriguing – it caught my attention straight away living as I do in Ireland. (I’m Irish by naturalisation but not by birth.) I wonder if they just liked the sound of it or if there is some connection. I could spend a weekend there in an instant!

I am not sure why the Gaelic version of ‘house by the sea’ was used originally. I should try to find out. I am sure there must be a connection of some kind. Perhaps some day you will spend a weekend at this gorgeous place. (or one like it)

Lovely, Darlene. I’d love to get away with my daughter for a little while. I’m so glad you were able to, and at such a beautiful place.

It doesn’t happen that often, but when it does it is special. I hope you and your daughter get a chance to get away soon.

What a cool pool!! Is Amanda going to go to Vancouver Island? 😉

What a great idea Erik! I thought she had to go to far off places but why not here on the beautiful west coast of Canada. Something to think about.

Just what the doctor ordered.

WOW, what a totally sublime experience–time away with someone you love in an enchanting setting. You must have made some wonderful “forever memories!”

Thanks Sandra. These are times we won’t forget. In our crazy busy lives we don’t do this often enough, but when we do it is special.

My husband and I took our boys (then aged 2) on our first family vacation to BC and rented cabins within walking distance of that resort! What a lovely area, and I was very intrigued by what I saw of Tigh-Na-Mara. It looked lovely!

Thanks for stopping by my blog Pam! What a great area to take your family. There is something so relaxing about Vancouver Island.

How nice to go and hang out. Each time I read one of these posts from you, it gives me a big smile as you are such a great encourager to me about enjoying time with my daughter. Whenever I mention seeing her, you’re one of the first in line to wish me well. I’m happy whenever I see you doing the same.

Thanks for such a nice comment. Daughters are a gift. We don’t always agree on things and we have had some rough patches, but we are always there for each other.

Lovely place, Tigh-Na-Mara. My husband comes from Nanaimo… and I love arbutus trees. I was amazed the first time I saw one.

I’m from the prairies and was also intrigued the first time I saw an arbutus tree. I didn’t realize your husband was from the west coast.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,912 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

