Darlene Foster's Blog

A Good Start to the New Year

Posted on: January 20, 2012

I am pleased to report things are on track for the new year so far. I have added more subscribers to this blog, I have booked a trip to visit Mom in Alberta in March and I have written a chapter a week for Amanda in England-The Missing Novel. I have been motivated by Ruppert, the Maine Coon Cat my dear husband gave me for Christmas. He sits on a pile of boooks and encourages me to keep writing. I think he wants this story to be completed so people can read about him. (Yes, he is in the book!)

A short story I wrote about my Dad, called “Good Hands” has been chosen to be included in an anthology , Every Child is Entitled to Innocence and has been posted on Amrita Publishing’s FaceBook Page  if you would like to read it.  I am happy to share the story of my Dad with the world as I was so lucky to have him as a father.

A great review on my favourite book Pride and Prejudice was posted on Steven Gomez’s blog . It is always great to hear how a young person views a favourite classic.

It has been cold and snowy in many areas this week.  A perfect time to curl up in front of a fire with a good book. Better yet, if you can win the good book. My writer friend Linda Cassidy Lewis is giving away her wonderful book, The Brevity of Roses on her blog.  Drop over to her blog and make a comment in order to be eligible for the draw on January 26.  If you don’t win, consider purchasing the book.  It is a great read with memorable characters.

How has the start of your year been?  Any news to share?  Welcome all my new subscribers!

Keep warm.

 

22 Responses to "A Good Start to the New Year"

Congratulations, Darlene! What a lovely tribute to your dad.

And thank you for the promo, of course. 🙂

Thanks Linda! Hope you get lots of interest in your book. Glad you liked the story about my Dad. He was pretty special.

I still feel as if I can’t get caught up on anything. Any suggestions on writing and living life, too? 🙂

I didn’t say anything about living life (or doing housework)! I guess I just got myself into a routine and its working (for now at least) My hubby and I are going out for dinner for our anniversary on Saturday night though. So that will be a treat.

What a great Christmas present. I think I’m a little in love with Ruppert, the Maine Coon Cat!

Thanks Barbara. Yes, it was a very thoughtful gift. Ruppert (in the book) lives in a bookstore on the Isle of Wight. I hope everyone falls in love with him!

I’m so happy to read that you are on track… I tottered a bit last week but am back to my plans. Keep up the good work. 🙂

Thanks! We need to encourage each other.

“Amanda in England-The Missing Novel” sounds interesting! 😉 Good luck writing! I have a question – have you traveled to Arabia or England? I’m reading Amanda in Arbaia right now, your descriptions are great! 😉

Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I have been to the United Arab Emirates, Spain and England. I only write about the places I have visited myself. Amanda doesn’t get to go anywhere I haven’t been! Glad you are enjoying the descriptions in Amanda in Arabia.

Drat. I was disappointed to find that The Brevity of Roses was not a YA title! Need more running books for middle grade students!

Thanks for stopping by. Maybe I need to write a running book for middle graders. Check out my review on The Winter Pony (previous post) as it is a great YA title that you may enjoy. (no running but lots of walking in sub zero weather!)

Darlene I found you because of the lovely comment you left on my blog. I see that many of my blogging friends are followers/commenters on your blog and I shall return often to see what you are up to. Thanks 🙂

Thanks so much fro stopping by and commenting Judith. It is always amazing to see the same people show up on each others blogs. Hope to see you here again soon.

Hi Darlene – thanks for following my blog and leaving a comment earlier today.

I really enjoy a good read & your blog looks great – I’ll be back!
Sharon
.

Thanks for visiting Sharon. So nice we have connected.

I like how you’ve made progress on your goals.
Go girl! 🙂

Thanks! The encouragement from others helps.

I haven’t been keeping up with my friends’ blogs the way I should. I didn’t see the mention until now. 🙂 Thanks!

And good job on the novel. A chapter a week is impressive.

Happy to mention your post! Hope I can keep up the momentum.

Congratulations on having your piece chosen for the anthology, Darlene! What a wonderful way to start the year.

Thanks Keli, it is a great way to start the year. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,132 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

