Darlene Foster's Blog

Book Gift Suggestions

Posted on: November 29, 2011

“A book is a gift you can open up over and over again”

 

The very best gifts are books and I would like to share some suggestions for the book lovers on your Christmas list. I am only including books I have read myself and enjoyed. They are in no particular order. Some I have blogged about this past year.

For children:

Silver Rain by Lois Peterson
Alexandria of Africa by Eric Walters
What Happened To Serenity by PJ Sarah Collins
A Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk by Jan L. Coates
Camel Rider by Prue Mason
Bitter, Sweet by Laura Best
Hunger Journeys by Maggie De Vries

For adults:

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
The White Queen by Philippa Gregory
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
The Green Library by Janice Kulyk Keefer
La’s Orchestra Saves the World by Alexander McCall Smith
The Mistress of Nothing by Kate Pullinger
The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
Madame Bovary’s Daughter by Linda Urbach

Personal Development:

Perseverance by Margaret J. Wheatley
The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

For Everyone: The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint Exupery

No one complains about Christmas shopping when they are buying books. You may want to treat yourself as well. Happy book shopping!

Do you have any books you would recommend for gifts?

11 Responses to "Book Gift Suggestions"

I agree, Darlene, books make the best bests. Of course we both may be a bit biased. Thanks for the shout out and including Bitter, Sweet on the list.. Of course I would add at least two more to the children’s list, There are these two Amanda books by author Darlene Foster. You don’t happen to know her do you?

That is so sweet of you Laura. Thanks!

Ditto, Darlene. Thanks! I’m feeling a little curmudgeonish (if that’s a word) so far this holiday season, so maybe spending some time in a bookstore will turn me around. Fortunately, most of the people I buy gifts for need absolutely nothing (else). I’ll be giving a few goats from Wadeng Wings of Hope, as well. Cheers!

A visit to a book store will put things right I am sure Jan. The goats are a great idea!

Thanks for the recommendations.

For the 9 to 12 age group I recommend Hatchet by Gary Paulson. For Young Adults,The Cay by Theodore Taylor. I think what makes a great children’s book is one that can be enjoyed by all age groups. The two books I recommend fit that bill. Happy reading.

Thanks for the suggestions Sheila. I will add them to my TBR list. I agree, a great book can be enjoyed by all ages.

great list especially with Christmas around the corner!

no specific books to recommend, but would show inasmuchaway on you & your relationship with the recipient knowing the person’s character, wants & needs 🙂

ps. dropped by from a google image search on Joy (love your pic & hope you don’t mind have cross-linked it from my blog as is a beautiful picture of fulfillment 🙂

Thanks for stopping by Stev. I am honoured that you are using the picture of Joy that I found on Google Images at one time. It works well with your post (which I enjoyed BTW)

“The Help” is great. Though I hate to compare, I still think “To Kill A Mockingbird” is better.

I agree, as much as I enjoyed “The Help”, I still liked “To Kill a Mockingbird” more. It is difficult to compare with classics though. Thanks for stopping by my blog Steven. Hope you are doing some writing these days.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,639 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

