Darlene Foster's Blog

Finding Time to Read

Posted on: August 5, 2011

When I have a little money, I buy books; and if I have any left, I buy food and clothes. ~ Erasmus

I am a reader. I have been a reader for as long as I can remember, or at least as long as I have been able to read. My first trip to a library was like going to Disneyland. I was in awe of the worlds and possibilities before me. I am also a consummate bibliophile and collect books with a blind passion. There are books in every room in my house. My husband has commented that there would soon be no room for him. If given a choice of a piece of jewellery or a book, I will always pick the book.

pile of books

As a child, I was one of those who read under the covers with a flashlight after lights out. I would do my chores with a book in my hand, annoying my mother when I burnt the laundry as I read while ironing. I begged the teachers to let me read instead of playing sports. As a teenager, I ruined many dates by being more interested in my book than them. At house parties, I often get lost in the host’s library discovering new books. Don’t get me wrong, I am a very social person; but I find the best conversations are around books.

 

I am now a writer. I have a full time job as an Employment Counsellor and tutor ESL students some evenings and weekends. I am a wife, mother and grandmother who loves to spend time with her family and many friends. Any spare time I have, I am writing or marketing my work. My reading time is somewhat limited. I should add I am also a slow reader, as I love to savour the story. So this has been my dilemma, finding time to read?

Then I came up with a clever idea. Since last summer, I have a 45 – 60 minute commute to work 5 days a week. When the traffic is heavy, it can be very frustrating. I decided to try taking the bus. Eureka!! I now have almost 2 hours a day to read and I get to work feeling refreshed and eager instead of frazzled. I am also saving money on gas, and helping out the environment. I am so happy to be able to read all those books I have bought, borrowed and been given, that have been piling up waiting to be opened and devoured. Why didn’t I think of this sooner?

 

One day I was so involved in my novel I missed the stop and had to walk 10 blocks back to work. The exercise was good for me.

How do you manage to find time to read?

18 Responses to "Finding Time to Read"

I am glad you have found the time to read. It is the the hardest thing to do with the busy schedule I keep plus trying to write the next perfect short story. Keep up the good work.

http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

Thanks for finding time to read my blog Tim. I loved your story about your grandfather. I look forward to your next perfect short story and please find time to read.

I hope you had a nice day to walk that ten blocks, Darlene! Books have a way of taking over the living space, don’t they. I’d love to have one of those old houses with walls of built in bookcases, but I’m afraid I’d never see the light of day.

Thanks Patti. It was a pleasant walk but I was not wearing appropriate walking shoes! I love the thought of those wonderful old houses too.

I sorted out my reading pile, along with my writing room, and am happy to report that I am now looking forward to choosing the next book, and writing the next word! Great thoughts, Darlene. Happy summer.

Shea

So great to hear from you Shea. Happy to hear you are reading and writing!

It’s great that you are able to read on the bus. Unfortunately I find reading in a vehicle really difficult because the bumpy road makes my head dizzy. So as an alternative, I find time to read by sacrificing sleep and getting up early/staying up late.

Thanks for visiting my blog. I am lucky that I can read on the bus (I can’t read in a car) I used to suffer from insomnia and read a lot in the middle of the night. I have also been known to sacrifice sleep to read a good book. (whatever it takes!!)

Just like you: on the bus. 🙂

Another aspect of my reading is that my eyes are too big for my stomach. There are so many books I want to read RIGHT NOW. I’ve started an experiment with reading two books at once, by alternating the days on which I read them. One day for this, the next day for that, etc. It’s going okay so far.

Perfect phrase Steven. Many of us have eyes to big for our stomach when it comes to books!

Lately, I’ve been taking a book to work with me and reading over my lunch break.. It’s been slow since I only get 1/2 hour but at the moment it’s pretty much all I can manage.

That’s what I had been doing up until a month ago. It’s better than not reading at all!

I would be the one on the bus who missed the stop. I read everywhere and now with my Kindle, I can whip out that book and read and read. I read in the grocery line, I read while waiting for appointments, I read while waiting on the lift bridge or the pontoon bridge to close. I read while cooking, while on the phone (sorry friends) and in bed. I read while I wait for my dogs to eat. Did I skip anything? lol

Thanks for visiting my blog! Love having visitors! Donna
I have a primary blog at http://mylife-in-stories.blogspot.com

Thanks for stopping by Donna. A woman after my own heart I see. Darlene

My reading time has shortened lately due to book marketing, blog mingling, tutoring and other tasks. I loathe not reading. This post came at the perfect time!

(When it comes to jewellery and books, I always pick the latter, too …)

Thanks for stopping by my blog Claudine. No matter what we will always sneak in time for a bit of reading!

I don’t sleep. I wish I never had to. I could read instead of dream, but for some reason, I just can’t seem to do it. Kindles are incredibly drool-proof, BTW.

Thanks Heather. Sometimes I dream about the book I am reading, wake up and read for a couple of hours and then go back to dreamland. Drool-proof e-readers rock! (it should be part of thier marketing)

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,912 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

