Darlene Foster's Blog

Summer Reading

Posted on: July 5, 2011

Silver Rain

One of the many things I love about summer is that I get to do more reading. When I read a good book I just have to share it with everyone. Silver Rain by Lois Peterson is one of those books. It would be a great addition to your summer reading list.

The Depression of the 1930s was tough on everyone, and it hit Elsie’s family hard. After they lost their house and her Dad went missing, and then when her mom and uncle left her alone with her grandmother; she couldn’t imagine things could get any worse. But as her Nan often said, “Desperate times sometimes call for desperate measures,” and Elsie will stop at nothing to get her family back together again.

This is a wonderful book that takes you back to another time with vivid descriptions of shantytowns, hobos and degrading dance marathons. Lois Peterson has skillfully painted a perfect picture of the resiliency and determination of youth in the character of eleven year old Elsie. I highly recommend this book for young people, not just as a peek into the past but as encouragement to deal with the inevitable tough times in life. It is also a fun read with colourful characters, great use of language of the period and lots of action. Adults will love it too.

Silver Rain is available at most bookstores and on Amazon

Have you read anything worthy of sharing? If so please comment. Happy summer reading!

12 Responses to "Summer Reading"

Sounds like another one for my TBR list. I really enjoy your reviews.

Thanks Barbara. You won’t be dissappointed.

Have you read “Moon Over Manifest” by Clare Vanderpool? The book you reviewed here sounds similar to it. I liked Moon over Manifest a lot and I am going to add Silver Rain to my “to read” list.

Thanks for the suggestion. I will add it to my TBR list.

I tried to put this on on my Kindle wish list. It wasn’t there. I went onto my computer to the actual Amazon site and it is there. It’s not available in Kindle form.

Sounds like a great read for today. I’ve wondered how many parallels there are between our circumstance today and the Great Depression. I would like to read this book, so I may consider a paper printed book again, so that I can read this one. I really appreciate my e-reader.

Thank you for a great review. Blessings to you…

Thanks Carol. I love my Sony e-reader my husband gave me for my birthday but I still buy print books too. You will like this book, I know. Happy reading!

The two books I read this year (middle grade) that stood out for me were “So B. It” (Sarah Weeks) and “Watching Jimmy” (Nancy Hartry) – they’re both the kind of books that take you straight into the main character’s world, which I love! Happy summer!

Thanks Jan. I will check out both books. I also love getting straight into the character’s world.

Summer is a great time to read. I know I have kicked my reading up–a notch or two!!

Some of your followers might like my latest book review!
http://booksatthebeach.blogspot.com/2011/07/book-review-warriors-heart-revealed.html

-Steve
http://about.me/booksatthebeach

Thanks Steve! The book review looks good. I liked you on Facebook and am following your blog and on Twitter. It is great to share books we enjoy ourselves. Have a great week.
Darlene

Millions of new books are published each year world wise, but I am an old boy so the 20th fascinates me. Upton Sinclair novels are now again beside my bed. Jungle Oil etc
Thanks for your rec,

Thanks so much for visiting my blogsite. I tend to enjoy the books set in the 20’s, 30′ and 40’s a lot. I find young people like to read about that era as well. My time was the 60’s & 70’s and I find it strange to hear youngsters refer to that time as the old days but I guess they are! We are all part of history.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,912 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

