Darlene Foster's Blog

The Heat is On!

Posted on: June 14, 2011

Things are heating up. And I don’t mean the weather because it’s doubtful that’s going to happen this year. What is happening, is my second book, Amanda in Spain-The Girl in the Painting, has been released in print and the book launch is scheduled for June 25 at Albany Books. Albany Books is a wonderful, cozy, well stocked bookstore here in my home town of Tsawwassen, BC. I appreciate how Ruth and her staff are so supportive of local authors. http://www.albanybooks.com/

Albany Books

In my spare time I have been busy marketing and promoting the event. This includes hanging posters, wonderfully created by my talented publisher, Michelle from ireadiwrite Publishing, (who is also responsible for the smashing cover), sending out press releases, emails and postings on various sites. The marketing, as writers are aware, is a lot of work, but also fun. My grade three teacher may even attend. How wonderful would that be? She is someone who encouraged me to follow my dreams at a young age.

The outfit has been purchased, nail polish picked out, chapter to be read chosen and I feel so ready. The problem is – I still can’t believe that this little girl from the farm, actually has two books published! I often feel I may wake up and find this was all a dream.

To celebrate the print publication of my second book, I am giving away a copy of Amanda in Spain. To enter, just add a brief comment to this posting, and your email address (if I don’t already have it, so I can let you know if you win) and on June 25, the day of the launch, I will have my husband Paul draw the lucky winner. Pass this blog onto your friends so they can have a chance at winning.

The heat is on to have a successful launch and some good sales. This kind of heat I can handle – now if only we could do something about this unseasonably cool weather!

12 Responses to "The Heat is On!"

Darlene! It’s not a dream and there is no problem. You have started a wonderful series of journeys for the young and young at heart to share with Amanda. She is a great girl and her adventures must be told. Keep doing what you are doing … you are doing good!

lisa dot peirce at gmail dot com

Thanks Lisa for those kind words and thanks for subscribing to my blog!

You certainly must be thrilled, Darlene. I’m So excited for you. I’m sure your launch will be just as successful as the first.. 🙂

Thanks Laura, I know you will be here in spirit. I appreciate all the support my cyber friiends have given me.

Hello from another Darlene in Canada! I’m in MB. Sounds like a fun series! Please enter me in the giveaway. My email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

Three cheers for all the Darlenes in Canada and the world! Consider yourself entered in the draw.

Congratulations on your new book! 🙂 Your teacher must be so proud of you – I doubt many of her former students became published authors.

Congratulations on your new book, I have added them both to my wish list 🙂 I think its really cool that your 3rd grade teacher is coming for you that is so awesome. I wish you much success and remember everything happens for a reason, this was meant to happen to you 🙂 Stand tall, be proud 🙂 and thank you for writing your books. 🙂
Natalie

Thanks Natalie for such positive comments. Things do happen for a reason, we just have to keep remembering that.

Congratulations! I want a copy! Donna

dkmtheriot@yahoo.com

I’m a new subscriber!

http://mylife-in-stories.blogspot.com

Welcome Donna. Glad to have you on board!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,813 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

