Darlene Foster's Blog

The Mad Mudslinger

Posted on: June 7, 2011

 

mudadapottery

My daughter Marcelle is an accomplished potter living on a small Gulf Island on the West Coast of BC. I am very proud of her as she is an excellent example of someone living out her dreams. It has not always been easy, but she has never lost sight of her passion to create from clay. She calls herself the Madmudslinger. Here is part of an article from the Gabriola Sounder which says much about her and her values.

 

Spotlight on Marcelle Glock
Kathy McIntyre
Gabriola Arts Council
Monday, June 6 2011

The Madmudslinger’s kiln stands like a sentinel, watching over this life-long potter’s house and studio on Mudge Island. Graham Sheehan, who she apprenticed with for 10 years, helped her build it in 2006 and with great relief, Marcelle has finally fired up her kiln after taking a long year away from her passion to finish building her home. With her workshop dismantled and packed away she found herself stacking rocks on the beach just to be artistic! And now, happily surrounding her kiln are many fantastic, one of kind wood-fired creations; each wildly different from the next and each with its own special inspiration, technique and charm.

Her goal from the beginning was ultimate self-sufficiency. Because she is a grand recycler and likes to leave a small footprint on the earth, she digs up her own local clay or gets scraps from other potters. She pulverizes clay that has become too hard to use, makes a giant clay soup and uses plaster molds to remove the excess moisture to renew clay. She says “I used to see the fact that I use found, recycled and free materials as a limitation, but now I embrace it.” She believes we need limitations to be creative and because Marcelle works with that sense of resourcefulness at her core, each of her pieces is unique and very special.

www.soundernews.com/fullstory/EFpZFZVkkEiCFNvkVX.shtml

JOY

Marcelle will be part of the Gabriola Studio Tour from October 8 – 10 this year.

http://www.gabriolaartscouncil.org

30 Responses to "The Mad Mudslinger"

No wonder you’re so proud of your daughter’s work. It’s beautiful. Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

Marcelle is a prime example of how perseverance works. If you don’t give up you will succeed. This is a quote from Elizabeth George about writing. It, however, works for all endeavors.

Thanks Sheila. That is a great quote! You have watched with your own eyes how Marcelle has progressed through life, as you have been an important part of it.

Darlene,

Your daughter’s work is moving. I would love to know how she finds her inspirations. Perhaps it is living peacefully. Thank you so much for sharing.

Shea

Thanks Shea. She says she gets her inspiration from nature. She does have a peaceful life in many ways but it is a hard life. I admire her determination and tenacity. We can learn so much from our children!

Enjoyed this post, Darlene. I’m glad your daughter is able to follow her heart’s desire, she does nice work…and recycles, too!

Glad you enjoyed reading about my daughter. I am of course very proud of her, and she is the Queen of Recycling! (she met the man of her dreams at the recycle store)

Lovely…I am an amateur potter, and I would love to become better at it some day and have a studio at home. We are going to Gabriola this summer for a wedding, and really looking forward to it. (Is your daughter’s studio open to the public?)

Gabriola is such a special place. Marcelle shows her work at Sunstone Potteries which is well know on Gabriola. The owner/potter of Sunstone is Graham Sheehan. He is a very nice man and a great potter himself. if you have a chance you should drop in.

She is living her dreams. What more could a mother ask for? You must be very proud. I have three sons and their successes are my successes. I’m very happy for them when they accomplish their goals.

As mothers we tend to be as happy, or even more so, with our children’s successes as we are with our own. To me success is measured by happiness and contentment. Your sons are fortunate to have you cheering for them.

Her work is just incredible! I hope she does suceed with this.

She makes a modest living at it and yes, I am very proud of her for following her dream. Glad you like her work.

[…] to brag a bit about my children.  Today I want to share a few things about my daughter who I have blogged about here before. https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/the-mad-mudslinger/  She has been […]

Darlene, your daughter does wonderful work. I admire potters. And I love drinking my tea from their mugs. I’ve got two, one from Newfoundland and one from Prince Edward Island. Now, when I go on vacation, I look for a studio where I can buy more, one per trip, to remind me of my trip…and to have a cup of tea.

[…] may have read about my daughter the potter on previous posts and how proud I am of […]

of course like your web-site but you have to test
the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are
rife with spelling problems and I to find it very troublesome to tell the
reality on the other hand I’ll certainly come back again.

Thanks for visiting my blogsite. Sorry about the errors but it is a vision thing for the most part. That is the good thing about editors for writers. Hope you visit again. Happy New years!!

[…] may have read about my daughter the potter on previous posts and how proud I am of […]

[…] have written about my wonderful potter daughter here before. She doesn’t live very far from me but since her home is on a small gulf island, it […]

[…] in my younger days.  As many of you know my own daughter is a talented potter. I wrote about her here  She has recently created a website which I think is amazing, proving she has many talents. Please […]

Unique and divine pieces. Lots to be proud of for both of you. ❤ ❤

Thanks. She has worked very hard to become the accomplished potter she is today. I couldn’t be prouder.

Wonderful pieces in the screen show.

Darlene, what a talent Marcelle has! Aside from these distinctive designs, I respect that she incorporates sustainable practices into what she does. Have you also tried your hand at pottery?

Thanks Tricia. I will pass the comments on to my daughter.No I haven’t tried pottery. My son is a musician, my daughter is a potter and I am a writer. Our creative interests don’t overlap for some reason.

[…] my talented daughter when I was back in Canada last fall. I´ve written about her and her pottery here and here. She is doing well and has recently had her pottery on display at numerous galleries in […]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,828 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

