Darlene Foster's Blog

Alexandria of Africa by Eric Walters

Posted on: May 3, 2011

I write books for young people so I read books for children and young adults. When I come across one I am impresed with, I like to tell everyome about it. Here is my review on one I recently read.

Alexandria, the heroine of Alexandria of Africa by Eric Walters, is a teenager who has everything she wants but downplays her intelligence and resourcefulness in favour of make-up, designer clothes and material processions, until she gets caught shoplifting and is sent to Kenya to help build a school. As Alexandria learns to live without cell phone reception or hot water, encounters Maasai warriors, a herd of elephants, and a mud hut village; she discovers an inner strength and resilience. Her adventures, woven together with descriptions of the Kenyan landscape and people, make this a compelling read. Every privileged teenager should spend time in a developing country but most won’t. This book is the next best thing!

6 Responses to "Alexandria of Africa by Eric Walters"

Thanks for the review. Perhaps I’ll purchase it for my granddaughter. Blessings to you…

Thanks Carol. I do think she would like it.

Sounds like a good read, Darlene. I haven’t heard of this book. I’ll look for it.

What all writers need to read in the genre that we right. I read lots of kids books too, not to say I don’t also read adult books as well.

Thanks Laura. I tend to read one children’s book to every two adult books. It is good to have a variety. I also like to alternate contemporary and classic. But as I always say – “So many books, so little time!” I sneak in reading whenever I can though.

I’ve been reading YA extensively over the last few years. You need to see how others place their feet if you want to follow down that road. There are an awful lot of really good YA books out there – and I’ll have to keep an eye out for this one.

Thanks Steve! I don’t think you will be disappointed. You are so right, we do need to read other writers to hone our skills and to see what the kids are reading.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,143 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

